Customer Reviews for

The Labyrinth

Average Rating 3.5
( 666 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(136)

4 Star

(159)

3 Star

(194)

2 Star

(98)

1 Star

(79)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

53 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

One of the better stories for free Nookbooks

When I first saw the title "The Labyrinth" my psycho inner fangirl screamed. Mostly because I thought it was the book version of the David Bowie 80s children's movie. (Anyone else have the same reaction?)
Alas, it was not literary form of my obsession, but I downloade...
When I first saw the title "The Labyrinth" my psycho inner fangirl screamed. Mostly because I thought it was the book version of the David Bowie 80s children's movie. (Anyone else have the same reaction?)
Alas, it was not literary form of my obsession, but I downloaded it anyway.

Kenneth McDonald's "Labyrinth" was pretty good. The beginning and middle of the tale is full of imagery and the descriptions of magic and magical schools are original enough to enjoy. The characters have their own different personalities, so there is variety and the reader can relate. The pacing of the story is not bad, and I was drawn in by the thrilling events of the Labyrinth. I really enjoyed reading it. It was a fast, quick read, but one I definitely couldn't put down.

I have to agree with other reviewers that the ending seemed a bit premature. I know that this is supposed to be a novella, but even a novella must have a developed ending. It was a bit cliche and a little too quick for my tastes, and a poor ending to what could have been a wonderful book.

Still, this is DEFINITELY one of the better stories for a free B&N nookbook. Most freebies on here are sad little snippets or smut, so if you're looking for something with a beginning, middle, and end that's not about sexual exploits, this is for you. I recommend it to most viewers, except kids (as there are plenty of graphic and frightening images in the Labyrinth). Teens and adults will enjoy.

Give it a try! I'm sure you'll like it.

posted by Wuzupshamu on February 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

It's OK. Try Something New.

In my opinion this novella was an okay read. I would not recommend it, but since it is free why not try something new? It sort of reminded me of 'Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire'. It was a bit mundane until the exiled blood mage disrupts the annual competition at th...
In my opinion this novella was an okay read. I would not recommend it, but since it is free why not try something new? It sort of reminded me of 'Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire'. It was a bit mundane until the exiled blood mage disrupts the annual competition at the University in Sacreth, and the story takes on a whole new and powerful interest. I liked the danger and extreme lose that Keric and the other competitors face in the labyrinth. It was rightly paced and a fun read. To the potential readers, existing fans of Kenneth McDonald and to some of the reviewers I would like to say that this is a prequel to a full length novel 'Of Spells and Demons', so please keep that in mind when frustrated by the incredible short length and sudden ending. You will learn more about Keric and the University in 'Of Spells and Demons'. Overall, this is one of the better free NOOKbooks offered by Barnes & Noble.

posted by brjunkie on April 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    One of the better stories for free Nookbooks

    When I first saw the title "The Labyrinth" my psycho inner fangirl screamed. Mostly because I thought it was the book version of the David Bowie 80s children's movie. (Anyone else have the same reaction?)
    Alas, it was not literary form of my obsession, but I downloaded it anyway.

    Kenneth McDonald's "Labyrinth" was pretty good. The beginning and middle of the tale is full of imagery and the descriptions of magic and magical schools are original enough to enjoy. The characters have their own different personalities, so there is variety and the reader can relate. The pacing of the story is not bad, and I was drawn in by the thrilling events of the Labyrinth. I really enjoyed reading it. It was a fast, quick read, but one I definitely couldn't put down.

    I have to agree with other reviewers that the ending seemed a bit premature. I know that this is supposed to be a novella, but even a novella must have a developed ending. It was a bit cliche and a little too quick for my tastes, and a poor ending to what could have been a wonderful book.

    Still, this is DEFINITELY one of the better stories for a free B&N nookbook. Most freebies on here are sad little snippets or smut, so if you're looking for something with a beginning, middle, and end that's not about sexual exploits, this is for you. I recommend it to most viewers, except kids (as there are plenty of graphic and frightening images in the Labyrinth). Teens and adults will enjoy.

    Give it a try! I'm sure you'll like it.

    53 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Good

    Good

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Great short story

    Great short story

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Easy read but captivating

    This was an easy read, but I quite enjoyed it. In the beginning it is remeniscent of Harry Potter but quickly changes directions. Events happened quickly, but the author kept a flow so that I never felt lost or jolted, which is great for such a short story. Without giving anything away, there were moments of mild shock/unexpectedness.

    In short, I am not usually a fan of short stories but this one kept my attention throughout and I felt I knew the characters well enough to understand their actions. If you're in the mood for some light reading, I recommend "The Labrynth".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Pretty good

    I liked this short story. It could have gone in on awhile, but it is nice that it didn't get into great detail. Good storyline. Characters aren't very strong, but again, short story. The main character was enjoyable. I liked the ending. Didn't explain everything outright. Made you think for a minute.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Good read

    Slow to get into, but by the end I wanted more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    Great story

    I loved the book. Very quick and easy story to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Very enjoyable!

    Thank you for a good read! I'm ordering all your books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Mad Man Mordo

    AMAZING! This book contains a spectacular plot, unique magical characters, and an original setting that captures the imagination. If I could change anything, I would add some character development, an introductory explanation of the setting, and some overall length to the actual story. I would definitely reccomend this book. I am trying to decide wehter or not to purchse the next book because of the darker conotation of the title.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Very harry potterish but a good read

    This book was a little harry potterish but a good read none the less. I hope the book that this prequals is just as good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    This book was good

    I enjoyed the book a lot and even though it's a pretty quick read I found myself invested in the characters of the book. Very well written (a few errors here and there but nothing that would annoy me enough to make me stop reading) I didn't put it down until it was over

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Really good

    This book was a good short read. I just wish there was more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    It's a prequel

    I think this was a good little novella. A lot of people complain about the length and ending. I think it was a nice setup to learn who the characters are and although it did end quickly, it wasn't bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    I enjoyed this

    This was a short but good story. It really hooks the reader and keeps you interested. I wish it were longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    I liked it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    The movie?

    Is this like the movie?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    I

    Is this book good for twelve year olds

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Sucks

    Gjfg

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Good Story...Look forward to longer novel!

    This was a good read, just wish it had been a little longer and had extended beyond the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Quick fantasy read

    Give it a try

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8