Customer Reviews for

The Lace Reader: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(64)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Not What You Expect

The author set the stage perfectly in this amazing book, ¿My name is Towner Whitney. No, that¿s not exactly true. My real name is Sophya. Never believe me. I lie all the time.¿ Towner Whitney had a rough life, at seventeen her twin sister died leaving Towner hospitalize...
The author set the stage perfectly in this amazing book, ¿My name is Towner Whitney. No, that¿s not exactly true. My real name is Sophya. Never believe me. I lie all the time.¿ Towner Whitney had a rough life, at seventeen her twin sister died leaving Towner hospitalized to undergo shock therapy. Soon afterward, Towner leaves Salem and moves cross-country to California. When she receives news of the death of her Great Aunt Eva, Towner makes the dreaded trip back home after a fifteen-year absence. Her return sparks lots of emotions and gossip and the story begins to unfold. The telling of a family history of the women in the Whitney family, who live life quite differently from everyone else and have a unique magical ability to read lace. Interwoven into the story is the background of Towner and her twin sister. Adding to the story is the random disappearance of a young woman tied to the family by strings unknown. The author manages to captivate the audience with her potent descriptions of Salem and its history. Layering and adding multiple stories, giving select information and perceptions to the reader, and throwing twists and turns around every corner, the final chapters explode into perfection. The Lace Reader is quirky and unique in its own way, but the style the author uses makes it a must read for anyone looking for something just off center. High praises for The Lace Reader and Brunonia Barry. Valerie Jones

posted by Anonymous on August 30, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Ok, not great

Based upon the summary and other reviews I was looking forward to reading the book. The idea of reading lace was intriguing and the setting sounded mysterious. I was all set for a weekend of escapist reading but was disappointed and ended up annoyed. The book started ...
Based upon the summary and other reviews I was looking forward to reading the book. The idea of reading lace was intriguing and the setting sounded mysterious. I was all set for a weekend of escapist reading but was disappointed and ended up annoyed. The book started out interesting, the plot went nowhere. The concept of lace reading was original but other than that it was filled with stereotypical characters (can anyone say recovering alcoholic Irish cop?, among others) Although the descriptions of people and places were well written, the plot was not. It was cluttered with non-essentials. By the end of the book, I really didn't care what happened to any of the characters. There are several reasons why I can't recommend the book, but it would spoil it for someone else who might not share my opinions. I was glad I checked it out of the library rather than purchasing.

posted by 611084 on March 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 188 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2008

    Intriguing

    What a fantastic book! The perfect amount of description with a great unsuspected twist at the end. Kept me reading all night long!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a terrific paranormal police procedural

    Feeling like she is suffering from Battle Fatigue Syndrome, the emotionally shook up Towner Whitney has survived several recent traumas. To regain her equilibrium and mentally heal, she returns to her hometown of Salem, Massachusetts where generations of ancestors have told fortunes.-------------- However, Towner is almost immediately stunned when her beloved great-Aunt Eva, the renowned lace reader, vanishes in what some believes is an unfortunate accident, but Towner suspects foul play. The police ignore her concerns as she has a history of hallucinatory visions although cop John Rafferty leads the inquiry to insure a murder did not occur as is done with all questionable disappearances if workload allows it. Although he thinks Towner is a nut case he also is attracted to her so as she grieves her loss, he begins to uncover facts about the weird Whitney brood past and present as well as starting to think that Eva was murdered.--------------------- THE LACE READER is a terrific paranormal police procedural in which fans will appreciate the rotating various perspectives as unreliable sources provide unreliable accounts of the same incident. The story line is fast-paced, but it is the changing viewpoints in which John and the audience wonder who if anyone got it right especially the three generations of Whitneys who agree on almost nothing. Brunonia Barry provides an enjoyable mystery in which relativity is not an exact science and a fact requires extrapolation from the sources who agree on little. This is a winner.-------------- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Fun read

    If you've ever visited Salem you can visualize the re enactments. Having a bit of Pagan beliefs, I thoroughly enjoyed the book but not well enough to re read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    Interesting mystery

    This is an intriguing puzzler that could be annoying to some readers, because it isn't always easy to tell what's real, what's a premonition and what's a hallucination. But that's the world the protagonist, Towner, lives in. If you are willing to take the "trip" with her in whatever form it comes, you're in for an interesting and ultimately satisfying ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Psychological Thriller

    Definitely for intillectuals. I loved the characters as well as the mysteries and puzzles the reader has to put together about the characters and plot while reading. Its not a light and quick read only because it makes you think and question. You may even want to reread just to make sure you caught it all the first time or if you're like me, you want to find mistakes in the logic of the plot or psychology. ; )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Sluts and man sluts come here wait they already are here

    Bllllllllaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Abree

    Lace result 4;)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Cassidy

    Its fine.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    Dont bother

    Cliche, drags, no real story and the writing is juevenile. I lways finish books and was so irritated by this I tossed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Boo

    Boo Hoo Hoo

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Don't waste your money

    I read this book for book club and half of us wouldn't recommend it. The characters were confusing even when notes were taken. After awhile I didn't care about any of them. There are way too many good books to read so why would you want to read something below average. Don't waste your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Twists

    Page turner... magic.... more than it seems!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    Tragic but good story...loved it! Good quick read for an aftern

    Tragic but good story...loved it! Good quick read for an afternoon. I have passed it on two a few friends and all came away with the same feeling. A touch of drama, just enough mystery and an end i did not see coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    couldn't wait for it to end!

    This book was messily put together. There was no order to the book. In many places it was just boring. My book group read this, so I felt I had to finish it. The plot was hard to follow. There were too many unanswered questions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Not A Fan

    This book was nothing like I thought it would be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Lace reading

    Very interesting. The topic was a new tradition that I had never heard before. Highly recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Surprising

    Enthralling. Kept me guessing till the end. Terrific read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great book club pick

    Loved how this tale unraveled...excited to discuss it in Book Club!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    Like a book with a good twist

    It is a good book. I picked it up a few months ago and couldn't get into it but this time when I started I found myself getting involved with the characters. The book as a whole comes together at the end and wow. Great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Wouldn't recommend this book

    It was a good read but the ending didn't tie up any lose ends. I finished and realized that I have no idea what happened in the end. The author left a lot of things hanging and I didn't really understand what happen. Do not read if you like the answers to your questions and don't like to make up your own endings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 188 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10