Customer Reviews for

Lacuna

Average Rating 3
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic beginning to a great series, in fact I have already ac

Fantastic beginning to a great series, in fact I have already acquired and read the 2nd and 3rd in the series and am breathlessly awaiting the 4th installment. Excellent characterizations, some clever, if not maybe unique sci fi paradigms in this one. Very believable,...
Fantastic beginning to a great series, in fact I have already acquired and read the 2nd and 3rd in the series and am breathlessly awaiting the 4th installment. Excellent characterizations, some clever, if not maybe unique sci fi paradigms in this one. Very believable, lovable, hateable (is that a word?) characters. My recommendation? Read these books!

posted by Chisaiyama-zeki on July 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I get it already

America bad and evil capitalist empire. Capitalism bad. Chinese communism good. Unreadable.

posted by Frogg4269 on August 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    I get it already

    America bad and evil capitalist empire. Capitalism bad. Chinese communism good. Unreadable.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Fantastic beginning to a great series, in fact I have already ac

    Fantastic beginning to a great series, in fact I have already acquired and read the 2nd and 3rd in the series and am breathlessly awaiting the 4th installment. Excellent characterizations, some clever, if not maybe unique sci fi paradigms in this one. Very believable, lovable, hateable (is that a word?) characters. My recommendation? Read these books!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    Meh.

    From the beginning I felt like it was written by a teenager. By the middle, I was convinced.
    The plot was.... meh. The characters were. ..less than meh. What is that? Oh yeah. Bad. No developed. Well no. I can't so NO development. I know that they were ALL having sex with each other. ALL the time. And even THAT wasn't developed. Like I said, by the middle, I was convinced a teenager wrote this. Because the author kept falling back on sex like THAT is what kept this story going.
    The only thing that kept me going was the hopeful ending that humanity would be annihilated. ... along with this author. .. so the world ...well, universe, would be spared more childish, starved for sex, "story telling" by this author.
    Sadly, it's fiction and we're still here and some of you will continue to succumb to the incessant ramblings of a hormonal kid and his/her obsession with space sex.
    Save yourself. Save humanity.
    Don't read this.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Worthy reading

    New ideas and enjoyable to read.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Annoying main charaacter

    Captain Melissa Laio terribly annoying. E.g ongoing thing about refering to the ship as he and correcting everyone when they say she. Stopped reading on page 42 when the ship is launched and Laio says "steady as she goes".

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Great story...

    It was disappointing to turn the last page. Thanks for the last line... I just knew it was so from mid-book. LOL.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Really nice book

    Really nice book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Wortjless

    This story must have been written by a drunk 16 yo. The author obviously has ZERO knowledge in military discipline or professional behavior. His characters are 2 dimensional at best and tacky cartoon people usually. The way they talk and behave would never be tolerated in a real navy ship! Childish drivel. And dont even get me started on the the rancid fart this book has for a plot!?!? I want my wasted time back.....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Interesting story

    The story and world are very interesting. However the telling of the story is a bit fractured.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Unlikely Premise

    The basic premise of the book seems unlikely but after accepting that I did read it in its entirety. I found the use of underlining and odd characters for emphasis irritating as well. I won't read any more in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    Decent story line, character development is a little weak. You d

    Decent story line, character development is a little weak. You do have to suspend logic for some parts, but all in all, it was enjoyable. I have read the second, and will be reading the third. Not stellar sci-fi, but really decent over all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2014

    I wonder who this man's editor is. The dialog is terrible. The u

    I wonder who this man's editor is. The dialog is terrible. The underlining of words in a quote to stress the word is annoying. The premise that an advanced society will destroy several major cities as a "warning" with no communication is lame

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    Thoroughly enjoyed the book! Can't wait to read the rest of the

    Thoroughly enjoyed the book! Can't wait to read the rest of the series. Only quibble was the poor proofreading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Impausible, not believable in politics or science. United States

    Impausible, not believable in politics or science. United States still using Nimitz class supercarriers as its lead 25 years in the future? Maybe the writer is unaware that the new carriers are already under construction. All tech coming out of Iran, China, EU? Not likely in 25 years. Just a few of the unrealistic world views the reader has to accept

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    A great page turner

    A good story with lots of interesting plot points. Left me wanting to read the sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2014

    AWESOMe

    a very good book. I can't say enough about it, except you have to read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    Waste of time

    Writing stiff, lacks develpment. DNF.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    OK

    Not bad for more mature YA readers. Entertaining until you start to analyze the characters and plot, then the wheels start to come off. I will buy the next book though, mostly out of perverse curiosity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Excellent

    Well written, fast paced, great characters. Self contained story in the continuing saga -- no stupid cliff hanger.

    Definitely want to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Amazing read. Looking forward to the rest of the series!

    This book leads you through a rollercoaster of events and emotions,starting with the initial attack on Earth till the final space battle. I really enjoyed the diversity of the Toralii, showing compassion and honor, as well as a blood thirsty ruthlessness. This book is worth checking out if you like science fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2