Customer Reviews for

Ladder of Years

Average Rating 3.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Thank you, Anne Tyler

As a 45 year old man, I found Delia to be expressing my emotions perfectly. And since she has, now I don't need to leave my wife of 23 years. I admire Tyler's courage and skill in portraying the nagging unfulfillment and downright rejection we feel in our marriages and ...
As a 45 year old man, I found Delia to be expressing my emotions perfectly. And since she has, now I don't need to leave my wife of 23 years. I admire Tyler's courage and skill in portraying the nagging unfulfillment and downright rejection we feel in our marriages and families, while still believing in the power of marriage and family to connect and support each other.

posted by Anonymous on November 30, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Eah.

This book was too slow paced and predictable. I reccomend it for adults, because they would most likely understand married life better, but it is good for young adults and teens too. There is some intimate kissing, but no sex,if that's what your worried about. I didnt t...
This book was too slow paced and predictable. I reccomend it for adults, because they would most likely understand married life better, but it is good for young adults and teens too. There is some intimate kissing, but no sex,if that's what your worried about. I didnt think it was worth the money, but you might disagree. Try it and see. You might enjoy it.

posted by 9281053 on April 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2003

    Thank you, Anne Tyler

    As a 45 year old man, I found Delia to be expressing my emotions perfectly. And since she has, now I don't need to leave my wife of 23 years. I admire Tyler's courage and skill in portraying the nagging unfulfillment and downright rejection we feel in our marriages and families, while still believing in the power of marriage and family to connect and support each other.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    Often, we feel like taking a vaction from our whole lives. We ca

    Often, we feel like taking a vaction from our whole lives. We can live that vacation with this book. Brilliant!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Love this story

    I read this story many years ago and loved it. Although I was much younger I identified with the lack of identity suffered by the main character. Selfish her actions may have been but who has not at least dreamed of reinventing themselves?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    love it

    love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Writer Matures

    It's been a number of years since I last read Anne Tyler. She's a Baltimorean and for all intents and purposes I am as well.

    Some years ago I got a little tired of her characters. However when I returned to her books with Ladder of Years, I found that not only had Tyler's writing matured, but so had her characters. Truth be told, we have all matured in the past 20+ years or since I first read a book by Tyler (probably Accidental Tourist).

    Her characters still exhibit a muted or--flat--affect, even. But I think this makes more sense now than it did with some of the younger characters in her earlier books. Their lack of intensity in spite of great upheavals in their lives either suits these particular characters better or suits older, more middle-aged characters better.

    Funny, but there is a Thanksgiving dinner scene in Ladder as there is in Accidental Tourist -- how's that for consistency over the years?!?

    I read Ladder because the scenes and main character appealed to me. The story takes place in Ocean City and Roland Park -- places I know well. As it happens, I finished reading Ladder during a brief trip 'down the ocean! There couldn't have been anything better than to have been curled up near the beach and reading about the very place!

    The main character, Delia, is one I could relate to -- albeit only somewhat. What busy and somewhat foraken mother hasn't wanted to escape it all, if only briefly, at some point?

    I encourage you to read Ladder of Years!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2004

    My absolute favorite Anne Tyler!

    The story of Delia and her family (actual one and the one she creates for herself) is my absolute favorite Anne Tyler book. Is there anyone on the planet who hasn't daydreamed about just walking away and leaving it all behind? I don't know why this book spoke to me in such an eloquent way...but it did and I am forever glad. Thank you Anne Tyler.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2004

    Ladder of Years a lesson in Life...

    Anne Tyler's novel is really about the 'rebirth' of the main character as she reacts to the changes in her life and the death of her father. Although not realistic with regards to her 'walking away' from her life...she gives the readers a chance to slip into her shoes and see how much we are needed and need those in our life. It is also about taking a good look around your own life to sort out what is important and what is not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2003

    A Story of Self Worth

    The story of Delia made me think about the people in my own life. Her story was sad, really, in that she was so taken-for-granted by her family. In Ladder of Years, she was able to find herself, build a sense of self worth, and show that she could survive quite well on her own. Ever since reading this, I've made much more of an effort to appreciate those in my own family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2003

    touching and real

    The simple life Delia leads, the confused and confusing mix of emotions she feels...these are what make this book great. The blurred lines--what should Delia do? what does she deserve?--these blurred lines are what people are made of. I was happy to see it in writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2001

    hard to put down

    I found that once i got into the story i hardly put it down. the characters are so believable that i myself wishing that i could just walk away like delia. the story is not hard to follow and descriptions make the imagination run wild.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1