Customer Reviews for

Ladies and Gentlemen, the Bronx Is Burning: 1977, Baseball, Politics, and the Battle for the Soul of a City

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    The good ol' days?

    I grew up in the nyc of the '70s, and it was a gritty, rough and tumble and yes a dangerous place. By comparison the city of today has more of a disney world feel.
    My wife thought I embellished my memories, but this wonderful book valdates them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

     

     

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Very Entertaining!

    As someone born years after '77 whom, until now, never reads outside of the fiction genre, I was pleasantly surprised by how much i enjoyed this book. I was afraid that it would be written like text books where each chapter is an overview of each event. Instead it is a retelling of these events...like being told a story from your elders who lived it. Truly enjoyable from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    Great Snapshot of NYC 1977

    This is a great read! Anyone who was in NYC at that time will really be brought back to a City that does not exist today. Baseball - will there ever be another match-up of team owner, manager and hot-headed superstar like the one with Steinbrenner, Martin and Reggie? Politics - Beame, Abzug, Sutton, Koch - what a politicial arena. The '77 blackout - the looting and the fallout that followed. The Son of Sam and the terror he wrought on the City. All of these events are woven into a great story. Seriously, the book was hard to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2008

    Awesome!!!!

    Captures the spirit of New york 1977 like nothing else ever has. Beautifully written and carefully researched. You can smell the streets, see the riots and hear the crowd 'Reggie, Reggie!' Absolutely great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2007

    Can't Wait for the ESPN Novela

    This is such a great book! Should be on everyone¿s summer reading list or as a gift for a New Yorker living outside of the state. In 2005 having recently returned from the Peace Corps I decided to enter graduate school @ Milano The New School for Management and Urban Policy. Even though I¿m a native New Yorker I was still very unfamiliar of the City¿s past. Long story short the book definitely helped me better understand New York City¿s fiscal crisis of the 70s and the struggling Bronx Bombers. Also, sections on the Son of Sam made the book even more fascinating. The BN summer special is such a deal being that I paid almost full price. Can¿t wait for the 8 part ESPN novella airing in July. Happy Reading!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2006

    A keeper!

    Loved it! Captures the feel of the city at the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2006

    well worth the read!

    easy to read and full of fascinating information relating to New York in the 70's. Recommended to baseball fans, political fans or those in need of a trip back in time to a New York some are too young to remember.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2005

    The Best Book I have Ever Read

    This book will bring back crazy memories of the summer of 1977. Anybody who grew up in the boros and born during the late sixties will love this book. This book summed up all the 'conversations' that my parents were having in 1970's Staten Island. Events that took place during that time has directly affected my ability to make a living and stay in this area

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1