Customer Reviews for

The Ladies of Covington Send Their Love: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 7 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Adventurous women over 65!

I love this book. The characters are full of life and show that just because you are in your golden years doesn't mean life is over. It can have much more in store.

posted by 3971495 on September 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Who needs an editor?

I enjoyed this book, although I was frustrated enough to toss it several times. WHERE WAS THE EDITOR? When you pay $25 for a hardback book, you expect the author to know: that Tom and Jerry are cartoon characters, Ben and Jerry make ice cream (really, see for yourself a...
I enjoyed this book, although I was frustrated enough to toss it several times. WHERE WAS THE EDITOR? When you pay $25 for a hardback book, you expect the author to know: that Tom and Jerry are cartoon characters, Ben and Jerry make ice cream (really, see for yourself at the end of chapter 7), the difference between role and roll when talking about film (she uses role)... I could go on and on. I hope these mistakes will be fixed before the paperback because they really take attention away from an otherwise good book. It's about three women in their 'senior' years who, united at a less-than-pleasant boarding house, take an opportunity to renovate and move into a home in Covington, North Carolina. Together, they face demons that have been following them. One is afraid to face her fears and learns to have confidence in herself. One believes herself to be plain and simple and finds love, and one finds passion in the simple things, like growing fruits and vegetables. It's an inspiring story about three women at an age when they're expected to knit and 'grow old gracefully' learning new lessons about life and themselves.

posted by Anonymous on February 28, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    Adventurous women over 65!

    I love this book. The characters are full of life and show that just because you are in your golden years doesn't mean life is over. It can have much more in store.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2001

    Who needs an editor?

    I enjoyed this book, although I was frustrated enough to toss it several times. WHERE WAS THE EDITOR? When you pay $25 for a hardback book, you expect the author to know: that Tom and Jerry are cartoon characters, Ben and Jerry make ice cream (really, see for yourself at the end of chapter 7), the difference between role and roll when talking about film (she uses role)... I could go on and on. I hope these mistakes will be fixed before the paperback because they really take attention away from an otherwise good book. It's about three women in their 'senior' years who, united at a less-than-pleasant boarding house, take an opportunity to renovate and move into a home in Covington, North Carolina. Together, they face demons that have been following them. One is afraid to face her fears and learns to have confidence in herself. One believes herself to be plain and simple and finds love, and one finds passion in the simple things, like growing fruits and vegetables. It's an inspiring story about three women at an age when they're expected to knit and 'grow old gracefully' learning new lessons about life and themselves.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Great summer read

    Nice to read about upper middle aged women and how they cope with life and choices. Now I am hoooked on the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book - easy read.

    This book was a monthly read for our church book club. The entire group enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2001

    Wonderfully Warm

    I loved this book,it was heartwarming, humorus,and moving. I recommend this 100%! thank you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2001

    You'll love these Ladies!

    This is one of the best books I've read this year! For those of you who are looking for a story of relationships involving 'mature' woman, this is not to miss. The characters are richly crafted. This is a book that is hard to put down for long. The author has given us a true present! Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2001

    This was SO good!

    This is the touching story of three women who meet in a Pennsylvania boarding establishment for women of 'a certain age' run by a meddlesome landlady, Olive Pruitt. There they were guaranteed three meals a day and were expected to sit out their lives with nothing to look forward to except daily boredom and a sagging bed. These women, Grace Singleton, Amelia Declose, and Hannah Parrish come from very different backgrounds. However, they soon become fast friends and make the brave decision to take off together on a little trip. Needless to say, their grown children are not happy with this sudden spurt of independence, but each of these women soon learn that they have skills, talents, and a depth of spirit that they never believed was possible. Later, what started out as a bit of adventure became a turning point for each of them. They made the decision to put the boarding house behind them and begin new lives together in a sadly rundown farmhouse near Asheville, North Carolina. <BR><BR> The reader follows these ladies as they build on each other's talents and transform the farmhouse into the house of their dreams. It was here that these three women reclaimed their productive lives and wove themselves into a new community. I found myself overjoyed at each of their successes and profoundly sad at their difficulties. This book was a joy to read and I became totally absorbed in the daily lives of these three women as they found self-acceptance and the courage to do the unexpected. In so doing, they found that it was their love and friendship for each other that was the most important ingredient in their lives. <BR><BR> ***** This book was <I>SO</I> good! I fully intend to locate other books by this amazing author. It touched me on several different levels and left me begging for more! *****

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2001

    Fabulous!

    I went to college at Mars Hill...the journey of these ladies made me homesick for the mountains! I could picture in my mind their adventures and trials as they made their new home in NC. The book made me laugh out loud, and cry too!! I sure hope someone will approach the author about a movie!I have a few years left until retirement, but will be calling on some old college buddies to join forces one day for a wonderful NC retirement!! I can't wait for Ms. Medlicott's next book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2001

    worth reading again!

    I read this book this summer as I was preparing a huge life change of my own...by myself. a widow, I left minnesota and moved to florida, permanently! These ladies helped me to do it. I would love to meet the author that has such feeling and insight into older women. I loaned the book to a friend, she lost it. I have reordered it...to re-enjoy it....I have recommended it to every other widow I know . p.s. I am visiting NC in April, maybe I will save the re-reading until then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2001

    Comfort Book

    Nice character development and a refreshing new touch for women in after-retirement years. Truly a comfort book to be read on a rainy day in front of a warm fire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2000

    You Go Girls!!

    Those who reviewed this and thought it unrealistic have not yet reached 50 or menopause. It is what we women talk about at 50 --that when we find ourselves without our mates that we intend to form a support community where we use our combined resources... Someone has land, another more money, etc. so that we can continue our lives independently with the joy sharing with others brings I will say again..you go girls...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2000

    If only it were true!!

    I loved this book in spite of all the typo errors and grammar mistakes..It was pure and simple reading...No violence and sex..A few true to life and family situations..3 Older ladies taking on the challange of their lives. Accomplishing things they never allowed themselves to think they were capable of....Learning to deal with each other and their own problems at the same time encourageing each other....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2000

    A Charming Story

    I was ready for a 'nice read' and that's what this book was. However, it certainly could have used a great deal more editing. I was certainly put off by all the typos--where were the proofreaders? And in the early chapters the use of manufacturers' names seemed totally out of place--Capezio,SAS and New Balance shoes and the Tom and Jerry's ice cream was a real chuckle. Tom and Jerry was a holiday drink when I was in my youth. But the friendship of the three women was delightful, the acceptance of gays and sex without marriage was appreciated and the descriptions of the countryside very welcome. Certainly not a great book, but a pleasant light read that required little concentration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2000

    Editor? What editor?

    I enjoyed this book, although I was frustrated enough to toss it several times. WHERE WAS THE EDITOR? When you pay $25 for a hardback book, you expect the author to know: that Tom and Jerry are cartoon characters, Ben and Jerry make ice cream (really, see for yourself at the end of chapter 7), the difference between role and roll when talking about film (she uses role)... I could go on and on. I hope these mistakes will be fixed before the paperback because they really take attention away from an otherwise good book. It's about three women in their 'senior' years who, united at a less-than-pleasant boarding house, take an opportunity to renovate and move into a home in Covington, North Carolina. Together, they face demons that have been following them. One is afraid to face her fears and learns to have confidence in herself. One believes herself to be plain and simple and finds love, and one finds passion in the simple things, like growing fruits and vegetables. It's an inspiring story about three women at an age when they're expected to knit and 'grow old gracefully' learning new lessons about life and themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2000

    over the hill and going strong!

    A must read for any middle aged single women who thinks life may be passing her by. A very inspiring story, that makes you want to be proud that you are over the hill and going strong.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2