Customer Reviews for

Lady Amelia's Mess and a Half

Average Rating 3.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great book. This was really good, will be looking for more books

Great book. This was really good, will be looking for more books by this author.

posted by SarahDalton on June 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Poorly researched and poorly read. At first I kept reading to f

Poorly researched and poorly read. At first I kept reading to find out if it got any better and then I kept reading to see just how bad it was going to get. Don't get me wrong, I love romance novels, including light, humorous, just for fun ones. But this was just too...
Poorly researched and poorly read. At first I kept reading to find out if it got any better and then I kept reading to see just how bad it was going to get. Don't get me wrong, I love romance novels, including light, humorous, just for fun ones. But this was just too bad to be enjoyed. I can't believe it has such high review.
Ok, down the the details. The backstory was poorly developed. The novel starts abruptly and background details about the characters are dripped out. You never actually find out how her husband dies, just that there was an accident and his body was burned. In addition, the author continually references things that have supposedly happened in the past that she didn't tell us about and doesn't really describe when she mentions them. I didn't even realize that the male lead was the youngest son until severl pages in. Again, no back story.
Regarding the poor research, one of the most glaring is the fact that everyone in the family is involved in trade yet they're members of british aristocracy and everyone thinks it's great. This would never have happened at the time. There are other examples, but I'll just move on with the review.
The most glaring problem is the writing itself. It is abrupt and a bit hard to read. The character development is, well, almost non-existent and the characters are pretty ridiculous. They're all extremes, with no explanation as to why they are that way. The author seemed to be unable to edit herself. She seemed to be trying to include every cliched story line in this book and it made for choppy, disjointed reading. This author just isn't talented and I have no motivation to read anything else written by this person. It felt like the author was a fan of romance novels and wanted to write her own, but just didn't have the talent. Not good. I actually can't believe this even made it into publishing. I would have been less surprised to find out this was a self-published Kindle book rather than that a publishing house actually tried to sell this piece of junk.
In my opinion, stick with better writers like Eloisa James, Julia Quinn, Stephanie Laurens and others like them. They're successful because they're good.

posted by 17633257 on July 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book. This was really good, will be looking for more books

    Great book. This was really good, will be looking for more books by this author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    WOW! What a treasure this book is. I couldn't put it down unti

    WOW! What a treasure this book is. I couldn't put it down until I finished it. Jake and Amelia have been in love for years but have been thwarted and kept apart through the interference of others. Their love simply rises from the page in waves. All of the characters are well-developed and the emotions are strong. Lose yourself in this beautiful story while I shop for more books by this author!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Poorly researched and poorly read. At first I kept reading to f

    Poorly researched and poorly read. At first I kept reading to find out if it got any better and then I kept reading to see just how bad it was going to get. Don't get me wrong, I love romance novels, including light, humorous, just for fun ones. But this was just too bad to be enjoyed. I can't believe it has such high review.
    Ok, down the the details. The backstory was poorly developed. The novel starts abruptly and background details about the characters are dripped out. You never actually find out how her husband dies, just that there was an accident and his body was burned. In addition, the author continually references things that have supposedly happened in the past that she didn't tell us about and doesn't really describe when she mentions them. I didn't even realize that the male lead was the youngest son until severl pages in. Again, no back story.
    Regarding the poor research, one of the most glaring is the fact that everyone in the family is involved in trade yet they're members of british aristocracy and everyone thinks it's great. This would never have happened at the time. There are other examples, but I'll just move on with the review.
    The most glaring problem is the writing itself. It is abrupt and a bit hard to read. The character development is, well, almost non-existent and the characters are pretty ridiculous. They're all extremes, with no explanation as to why they are that way. The author seemed to be unable to edit herself. She seemed to be trying to include every cliched story line in this book and it made for choppy, disjointed reading. This author just isn't talented and I have no motivation to read anything else written by this person. It felt like the author was a fan of romance novels and wanted to write her own, but just didn't have the talent. Not good. I actually can't believe this even made it into publishing. I would have been less surprised to find out this was a self-published Kindle book rather than that a publishing house actually tried to sell this piece of junk.
    In my opinion, stick with better writers like Eloisa James, Julia Quinn, Stephanie Laurens and others like them. They're successful because they're good.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Loved this story! Had a quite a few good laughs added to the mix

    Loved this story! Had a quite a few good laughs added to the mix. I like how the characters from the previous
    book (Miss Hillary Schools a Scoundrel) are incorporated into this book as well. The one thing I would have liked 
    to see is an epilogue to wrap up the story and sub plots. Enjoying this series. Hope there will be more. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Loved it

    Love this series! Alot! Must buy!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Emma

    This is the counseling center. The cabin is res 32.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    Kiekeh

    Ok

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    This was a cute little romance, which I really enjoyed. At times

    This was a cute little romance, which I really enjoyed. At times I thought Jake was being an over reacting jerk that wouldn't listen, and I really dislike Jake's father for all the unnecessary heart ache he caused. I'm not certain i totally like Daniel, Jakes brother, but I did like the story line. I was surprised at how long it was. The book could have easily ended at the halfway point but the author made the story much more interesting. I enjoyed this author and I look forward to reading some more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Forget it. Unreadable tripe

    If an author of Regencies can't be bothered to understand even such simple things as "Rotten Row" is not an avenue for carriages. Or to give some idea of how a young widowed noblewoman might live (under whose roof, using what funds). Then I suppose expecting her to understand how to craft a story is asking way too much. Thank goodness this was a cheap buy one get one. I didn't bother to finish it. I'm sure the hero and heroine will make it to each other. But Ms. Grace gives us no reason to care how. Her craft is unequal to the task at hand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    I did not intend to buy this book.

    I wish I could get rid of it and not be charged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    LADY AMELIA’S MESS AND A HALF by Samantha Grace is an exci

    LADY AMELIA’S MESS AND A HALF by Samantha Grace is an exciting Regency historical romance. It is book #2 in “Beau Monde Bachelor” Series,but can be read as a stand alone. See,”Miss Hillary Schools a Scoundrel”. Follow Jake and Amelia from the ballrooms of England across the ocean to New Orleans in America. As they search for the truth,is Amelia’s husband really dead or faking his death and gone to New Orleans. With witty banter,lust,passion,desire,and love they finally find true happiness after years of unhappiness for Amelia with another,Jake’s best friend. A tale of lost love,betrayal by a best friend,a secret or two,the rekindling of love and a love that can last forever. Ms.Grace has written a story with an interesting plot and characters who are not only engaging but who will capture your heart and hold it. A fast paced story with twists and turns. The blooming love between two of the secondary characters is a wonderful side line. A wonderful,delectable historical full of promises of love,the magic of finding said love and passion. A must read! Another hit for Ms. Grace. I can hardly wait for what comes next in these engaging characters. Received for an honest review from the publisher and Net Galley. Details can be found at the author’s website,Sourcebooks Casablanca, and My Book Addiction and More.

    RATING: 4.5

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1