Customer Reviews for

Lady Be Good

Average Rating 4
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Loved Emma and Kenny. SEP is the best!

Lady Be Good is loosely related to Fancy Pants, another book by the illustrious Susan Elizabeth Phillips, AKA SEP. Kenny Traveler is a professional golfer who has been suspended from playing in tournaments for bad behavior. He is determined to clean up his act and lay l...
Lady Be Good is loosely related to Fancy Pants, another book by the illustrious Susan Elizabeth Phillips, AKA SEP. Kenny Traveler is a professional golfer who has been suspended from playing in tournaments for bad behavior. He is determined to clean up his act and lay low for a while to get back in the good graces of the golf commissioner. He has been asked to chauffeur Lady Emma Wells-Finch around Texas as she does research for a paper. She is the head mistress of a private institution for young ladies in England. She has never been attached to any scandal and is looking to ruin her reputation. Her motivations are complicated. Put Emma and Kenny together and they are fire and ice.

God, I love SEP! Her books entertain me endlessly. Right off the bat, Kenny and Emma both mistake the other. Emma thinks Kenny is just a hot body with no brains and Kenny is struck by Emma's beauty but once she opens her mouth her bossy demeanor has got to go! Kenny loves toying with Emma's serious, straight-laced personality and shaking up her world. Boy does he ever! But don't let Emma fool you, she shakes up Kenny's world and surprises him at every turn. He thinks she is going to react one way, but she never fails to turn the tables.

I really enjoyed this story. Kenny and Emma's characters are great. Kenny is a super, spoiled rich kid with whom nobody has ever really gotten to know. Emma is practically an orphan who has never had a family to call her own. These two manage to find and balance each other out. Emma is the first person to really see Kenny. I love that the major focus of this book is these two characters and their relationship is front and center. Susan Elizabeth Phillips is a master story teller and this is a wonderful read. Fortunately, for those of you who haven't ever had the pleasure of reading her can start with this one. Even though it is loosely connected to Fancy Pants you don't have to have read that one to enjoy Lady Be Good.

posted by Romance_rookie on January 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

not her best book

I have read all of S Phillips' books & can't say this was one of her best ones. The characters were funny,but,the story was way drawn out,unlike her other fast paced books. Still a good read though

posted by kokkie on December 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    Loved Emma and Kenny. SEP is the best!

    Lady Be Good is loosely related to Fancy Pants, another book by the illustrious Susan Elizabeth Phillips, AKA SEP. Kenny Traveler is a professional golfer who has been suspended from playing in tournaments for bad behavior. He is determined to clean up his act and lay low for a while to get back in the good graces of the golf commissioner. He has been asked to chauffeur Lady Emma Wells-Finch around Texas as she does research for a paper. She is the head mistress of a private institution for young ladies in England. She has never been attached to any scandal and is looking to ruin her reputation. Her motivations are complicated. Put Emma and Kenny together and they are fire and ice.

    God, I love SEP! Her books entertain me endlessly. Right off the bat, Kenny and Emma both mistake the other. Emma thinks Kenny is just a hot body with no brains and Kenny is struck by Emma's beauty but once she opens her mouth her bossy demeanor has got to go! Kenny loves toying with Emma's serious, straight-laced personality and shaking up her world. Boy does he ever! But don't let Emma fool you, she shakes up Kenny's world and surprises him at every turn. He thinks she is going to react one way, but she never fails to turn the tables.

    I really enjoyed this story. Kenny and Emma's characters are great. Kenny is a super, spoiled rich kid with whom nobody has ever really gotten to know. Emma is practically an orphan who has never had a family to call her own. These two manage to find and balance each other out. Emma is the first person to really see Kenny. I love that the major focus of this book is these two characters and their relationship is front and center. Susan Elizabeth Phillips is a master story teller and this is a wonderful read. Fortunately, for those of you who haven't ever had the pleasure of reading her can start with this one. Even though it is loosely connected to Fancy Pants you don't have to have read that one to enjoy Lady Be Good.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    not her best book

    I have read all of S Phillips' books & can't say this was one of her best ones. The characters were funny,but,the story was way drawn out,unlike her other fast paced books. Still a good read though

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I love it.I love love LOVE it! And that is all I can say. Susan E. Philips is an amazing writer who can make you addictive to any of her books. I love this book and espeacilly the characters. You're in for a good tale , if you decide yo read Laby Be Good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Delightful

    As many times as I've read this story, I enjoy it just as much as though it were the first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    LOVE SEP!

    On of my favorite books by her. I've read it numerous times. Even though you don't have to I recommend reading Fancy Pants first. Fancy Pants is not as good but there are reoccurring characters. Lady Be Good is funny and you can't help but loving the main characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Absolutely one of my favorites

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    Great Book!

    I found the beginning of the story a little dry, and equally found the story line at times unbelievable. However, by the end of the novel, I was excited to see what happened and it turned into a real page-turner for me. I loved the two main characters and all the supporting characters had such life and interest that it only enhanced the book more. The twists and turns, were at times unbelievable but it kept the book interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2007

    Terrific

    Have read many of SEP books - all are really good - this one had me laughing out loud several times... loved the characters. I really enjoy when characters from other books come back to visit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    You can't go wrong with Susan Elizabeth Phillips! You really can

    You can't go wrong with Susan Elizabeth Phillips!
    You really can't go wrong. All of her books are fun, funny and engaging. (I've read them all multiple times.) This one is one of my favorites though. It's pacing is wonderful. The characters are 3 dimensional- all of them not just the leading man and lady. Both Kenny and Lady Emma are "fish out of water" in their own ways and their road to finding where they each belong is well worth the journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    The book itself is great. However, it is not a "new release

    The book itself is great. However, it is not a "new release.' this book (as well as all the other books that have been designated as May 2013 new releases) was actually published in 2011. there are several books in the series (the latest being "Rescue Me"). Didn't any of the other readers pick up on this fact?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Excellent

    Another great read from a master writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Cute

    But it was so embarrassing in the beginning. You really felt bad for Emma for the way he acted towar her. Funny but also fairly mean... imo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good

    his was another re-read for me. I really remembered thinking this one was cute and it was again the second time. I like both of the main characters alot. Good one for SEP!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2007

    Incredibly awesome writer!

    I absolutely love all of Susan Elizabeth Phillips' books. She has such wit and sass with all of her characters! All of her books are a 'must read'!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2003

    A shining star in the book world!

    I always know when I read a book written by Susan Elizabeth Phillips I won't be disappointed and this book is no exception. This is a wonderfully crafted story that's romantic, beautifully told and just down right funny! I fell in love with all the characters and I love the fact that some of the characters from her other books were involved in this story. This book, like her many others, was written for the readers, you feel as if you are really there and you never want to leave. The only problem with 'Lady Be Good' is, like all books it eventually ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2003

    Cute, Hilarious, Sensual, Captivating story...

    This story is full of laughs...Kenny and Emma are definetley compatible. I recommend this book to anyone who loves a romance story where you can laugh and have fun along with the characters.And the love scences were also very combustle, you feel as though you're the one Kenny is making love to. I don't know how you're going to feel but I was definetly heated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2003

    Very Funny

    It's rare to find a book that can make you laugh so hard and make you feel good. All the characters were integrated so nicely. The dialogues were hysterical. Great read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2001

    Superbly written!

    Outrageously funny. My first read by Susan Elizabeth Taylor was oozing with romance, passion, and honesty. The characters and the plot are great. There's always a surprise around every corner. Watch out for Emma, she'll do just about anything! You won't want to put this one down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2000

    Halarious!

    I had checked Lady Be Good out from the library, but after reading it, I decided I had to have my own copy. I had never read a book by Susan Elizabeth Phillips and now I am anxious to read all the other ones in hopes that they are as good. This book had me laughing out loud and sharing it with all my friends! It was full of humor and wit. I truly recommend reading it if you are in the mood for a good, enjoyable book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6