Customer Reviews for

Lady Bess

Average Rating 4
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Lady Bess by Claudy Conn Lady Elizabeth of Saunders, better know

Lady Bess by Claudy Conn
Lady Elizabeth of Saunders, better known as Lady Bess, wants to marry for love not convenience. Her heart knows the man she wants, unfortunately it’s someone who enjoys his bachelor life. This young woman decided to go for what she wants and do ...
Lady Bess by Claudy Conn
Lady Elizabeth of Saunders, better known as Lady Bess, wants to marry for love not convenience. Her heart knows the man she wants, unfortunately it’s someone who enjoys his bachelor life. This young woman decided to go for what she wants and do whatever it takes to get her man and make him fall in love with her.




The Earl of Dunkirk is from Scotland but has inherited his mother’s English home and title. Making him a prime piece for those of the ton. His plan is to marry someone for an heir and then continue to go his own way, as if he were still a single man. Lady Bess does not fit into those plans. He won’t ruin an innocent or get involved with someone who may want more. So why can’t he get her out of his head?




There's more then romance between these two members of the ton. Evil villains are lurking about with plans of their own. Lady Bess has accidentally stumbled into their plans, unwelcome. Good thing she’s not your normal simpering female when faced with danger and mayhem. Another adventure from the mind of Claudy Conn to take you down the rough road to romance and the battles along the way.
**Sexual content

posted by JutzieDV on May 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Usually, I love romances, this one is horrible.

About 80 pages in, Bess becomes very ublikable and selfish when she ignores a child who is tied up in the back of a gypsy wagon. It doesn't matter what her insignificant, trite reason is, she immediately became as unlikable as her rival. Bad writing, Claudy Conn, you k...
About 80 pages in, Bess becomes very ublikable and selfish when she ignores a child who is tied up in the back of a gypsy wagon. It doesn't matter what her insignificant, trite reason is, she immediately became as unlikable as her rival. Bad writing, Claudy Conn, you know better! That is bad enough, then Bess becomes immediately obsessed with her own sexual needs within a few pages, to the point where she suddenly comes across as some loser pervert instead of a cool lead character. So what if this book ends well? It's a good thing its free, or I would be returning it for a full refund. As it is, I am just removing it from my nook, and Claudy Conn from my "to purchase" authors list.
Two thumbs down & AWFUL.

posted by Anonymous on May 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Lady Bess by Claudy Conn Lady Elizabeth of Saunders, better know

    Lady Bess by Claudy Conn
    Lady Elizabeth of Saunders, better known as Lady Bess, wants to marry for love not convenience. Her heart knows the man she wants, unfortunately it’s someone who enjoys his bachelor life. This young woman decided to go for what she wants and do whatever it takes to get her man and make him fall in love with her.




    The Earl of Dunkirk is from Scotland but has inherited his mother’s English home and title. Making him a prime piece for those of the ton. His plan is to marry someone for an heir and then continue to go his own way, as if he were still a single man. Lady Bess does not fit into those plans. He won’t ruin an innocent or get involved with someone who may want more. So why can’t he get her out of his head?




    There's more then romance between these two members of the ton. Evil villains are lurking about with plans of their own. Lady Bess has accidentally stumbled into their plans, unwelcome. Good thing she’s not your normal simpering female when faced with danger and mayhem. Another adventure from the mind of Claudy Conn to take you down the rough road to romance and the battles along the way.
    **Sexual content

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    I can always depend on Claudy to deliver one hell of a story. He

    I can always depend on Claudy to deliver one hell of a story. Her writing is top notch and her story telling will take you back in time with ease.

    Lady Bess has it all. Mystery, suspense, action, lust, passion and romance. The combination of all these make for an explosive read.

    I always fall in love with her male hero's. They are always so yummy :)

    John of Dunkirk has every quality you would want in a man. Loved his accent. So sexy Makes me wish he was real LOL I wanted to jump into my kindle and steal him from Bess hahaha

    Bess is a smart, beautiful young lady. She is witty and very likeable. I loved how she was proper in every way but she still had a naughty side to her as well.

    These characters had smoking hot chemistry. I thought the addition of Donna and Robby added to the story too. I thoroughly enjoyed the banter between the two. They had me laughing so hard!

    I just wish it didn't end so quickly but then again I have that problem with all of Claudy's books because I get so engrossed into the world she creates I never want it to end.

    Amazing read!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    This is a light hearted, full of adventure and romance story. Lo

    This is a light hearted, full of adventure and romance story. Loved the heroine and hero. A must read.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2013

    I really enjoyed this historical romance.  It grabbed onto me in

    I really enjoyed this historical romance.  It grabbed onto me in the first chapter and it was a real challenge to put it down.  It was a fun romance with some mystery, adventure, and humor.  Bess was fun and spunky and very much a free spirit.  He connection with John felt real and I enjoyed watching it unfold.  I really enjoyed her best friend's hubby, Robby.  He had me in stitches because I know someone very much like him.  If you are a fan of Claudy's you are going to want to snatch this one asap.  If she is new to you, this is a great one to start with.  I read it is permanently free as a gift to her fans.  

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    If you love action, suspense and passion then is book is for you

    If you love action, suspense and passion then is book is for you. A strong passionate lady bess is a take no gruff from no one especially the handsome and sometimes very aloof john. who is looking for a lady to fit in with his new title and lady bess doesn't fit his description of it , but soon passion egnites but then they have to deal with evil villans before they can find if they are suited for each other . another great read from Claudy Conn.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2014

    FEEL THE LOVE BUILD!! Claudy Conn is one of my favorite author'

    FEEL THE LOVE BUILD!! Claudy Conn is one of my favorite author's. The lovemaking doesn't go on every other page, as some stories, the sex is the story, but the romance that builds slowly is the story. I am not going into the storyline because other's have done it, but there is some suspense, the villain or villain's were know about the middle of the book. The path to love isn't easy, which made the story more interesting. I loved the secondary character's a lot. You can never go wrong with one of Ms. Conn's books. (ljb)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Venus lol

    Ilove this book , i enjoy all the books by cloaudy conn l loved lady bess very much
    I think it was the best one i read i wish it was longer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Great

    Claudy Conn can tell one heck of a story. Love her characters !

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Good Read

    Cute love story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2014

    This is a fun quick read! If you like Regency romances this auth

    This is a fun quick read! If you like Regency romances this author writes some of the best with just enough heat to make it interesting. This story has a couple of plots that keep you iinterested. Very good read!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Well as with all Claudy Conn¿s regency books the Heroines are st

    Well as with all Claudy Conn’s regency books the Heroines are strong minded and strong willed and
    Lady Elizabeth aka Lady Bess is true to form. 
    Bess and her good friend Donna are jumping horses and along comes Robby who is Donna’s husband
    and John Earl of Dunkirk. Bess has fallen into lust right away with him. His Scottish accent sends her toes
    curling. 
    They are off to the Earls home to look at his male stud horse who he is going to breed with Bess’s mare.  
    She knows the Earl is spoken for by another female but she can not help her feelings towards him. 
    Things get pretty mysterious and tons of action are in store for this pair and Bess was warned by a fortune
     teller. And we also get tons of red hot attraction and  flirtation . And comedy  as well as these 2 learn each
    other. 
    Can this couple over come the threats and be together for ever after?
    Grab your copy and find out !! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2014

    Lady Bess grabs you from the beginning to the end. I had stopped

    Lady Bess grabs you from the beginning to the end. I had stopped reading historical romances but am so glad that I read this one. (I love all Claudy Conn's books especially her paranormal romances). Lady Bess is a brave, innocent heroine and she falls for John, Earl of Dunkirk, who is naturally a rogue (but such a hunk of a rogue). Needless to say the "fun" begins. You'll have to read this book for yourself and believe me, you will just love this one! If I could give this book a "10" I really would. This book made me want to read more of historical romances again. Claudy Conn has a unique writing style and her books grab you from start to finish!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2014

    Give me a man with a Scottish brogue any day! I was pleasantly s

    Give me a man with a Scottish brogue any day! I was pleasantly surprised with the nasty female in this Claudy Conn story! Loved all the action and drama. Another great regency romance by Claudy Conn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2013

    Once again Claudy Conn delivers another amazing historical roman

    Once again Claudy Conn delivers another amazing historical romance. From start to finish I was pulled in with the story that unfolded and found it impossible to put down. This is a genre that Claudy strives in and I know you won't be disappointed. Besides you can never go wrong with an Earl with a Scottish brogue. The accent buckles my knees every time. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Good quick read

    Good quick read easy to follow. About 330 pages. Will read this.author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Great

    Bess and John's story was another great romance and suspenceful book by Claudy Conn. Well worth the read !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    Wow, what a truly wonderful story.  Lady Bess and the Earl of Du

    Wow, what a truly wonderful story.  Lady Bess and the Earl of Dunkirk was a breath of fresh air to the run of the mill love stories. Sad to see it end! Claudy Conn is a great author and this, I think, has been one of my favorite!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    kae

    Enjoyed nice love story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Must read

    This is a cute, romantic story. An adventure you go with the characters, not just read about the adventure the characters go on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Anonymous

    Enjoyed reading bess's srory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2