Customer Reviews for

The Lady Elizabeth

Average Rating 4
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Before she was Queen, she was The Lady Elizabeth

As a little girl, I thought that there could be no better life than the life of a princess. As I grew and started reading history rather than fairy tales, I realized that the life of a princess is not an easy life to lead. Especially if you happen to be the daughter o...
As a little girl, I thought that there could be no better life than the life of a princess. As I grew and started reading history rather than fairy tales, I realized that the life of a princess is not an easy life to lead. Especially if you happen to be the daughter of King Henry VIII. I became fascinated with the Tudor era, especially the reign and life of Queen Elizabeth I. I would read or watch whatever I could find. I am very happy to have found The Lady Elizabeth.

The Lady Elizabeth deals with the Queen's life from birth through her ascension to the throne. It is the first work I have read which is Queen Elizabeth's life woven into a very well told novel. I loved this book from the moment I started reading it. The attention to every detail of the period, the personalities of the people involved with her life, the way she was treated, the way she had to shrewdly deal with interrogators to save her own life at a very young age are so vividly described you almost feel like you are living through it with her.

If you enjoy historical novels, I would definitely suggest this one.

posted by Brigit on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Overblown

I have read several books during the Tudor era. I'm sure fans of Alison Weir have as well. This book is anything but interesting. We all know the story of Elisabeth. There was nothing new here. Weir, tells a story that has been retold over and over again, yet she forget...
I have read several books during the Tudor era. I'm sure fans of Alison Weir have as well. This book is anything but interesting. We all know the story of Elisabeth. There was nothing new here. Weir, tells a story that has been retold over and over again, yet she forgets to add her own spin to it, or even her own conjecture. I felt like I was reading a 17-year-old essay on 16th England. I only made it through about 80 pages before I gave up and decided I could take no more. I understand she is a very well liked author, however, I have yet to find a book by her that has held my interest.

posted by Cappi on March 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Before she was Queen, she was The Lady Elizabeth

    As a little girl, I thought that there could be no better life than the life of a princess. As I grew and started reading history rather than fairy tales, I realized that the life of a princess is not an easy life to lead. Especially if you happen to be the daughter of King Henry VIII. I became fascinated with the Tudor era, especially the reign and life of Queen Elizabeth I. I would read or watch whatever I could find. I am very happy to have found The Lady Elizabeth.

    The Lady Elizabeth deals with the Queen's life from birth through her ascension to the throne. It is the first work I have read which is Queen Elizabeth's life woven into a very well told novel. I loved this book from the moment I started reading it. The attention to every detail of the period, the personalities of the people involved with her life, the way she was treated, the way she had to shrewdly deal with interrogators to save her own life at a very young age are so vividly described you almost feel like you are living through it with her.

    If you enjoy historical novels, I would definitely suggest this one.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    The Lady Elizabeth

    This was my first historical fiction book. It certainly made for livelier reading than another book I had read about Elizabeth. As long as the facts of her life haven't been tampered with I think this is a brilliant way to learn about history. It was fun reading.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Historical Fiction at its best

    Taking credible facts and spicing it up with probable "what if"s, Alison Weir enchants all with the tale of Queen Elizabeth I's turbulent childhood. Throughout the book we witness the development of an innocent and bright child into a captivating young lady who wields her wit and charm to save her life on many occasions. A great read for any lover of the Virgin Queen, the Tudor Dynasty, history in general and strong independent women.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Alison Weir is one word...Amazing!

    Standing ovation for Alison Weir ladies and gentlemen! I adore this book! I am only 317 pages into it but my goodness, I felt as if I was there. I love Elizabeth I. She is my rolemodel, and to read how strong,smart and amazing she was made me fall in love with her all over again. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. I love,love love this book and I am not even finished with it! For those of you that are looking for an exciting read and want to learn more Elizabeth I and Henry VIII....please go buy this book. I promise you will enjoy every single page! Honestly, I literally felt as if I was there. There was a certain part in the book when Elizabeth kisses her father King Henry VIII on his forehead, and mind you this is when he is very ill in bed and she says to him 'it will be my constant prayer that God will soon restore you to good health sir'. And he looked up at her with tears in his eyes......I swear to you I felt like I was right there standing next to the young Elizabeth watching the whole thing!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    I have abandoned this book halfway through.

    I realize this is a work of fiction...and I firmly believe in taking works of fiction at that value...but this book treads dangerously close to taking real, historical events and embellishing them in the worst possible, and completely unfounded, manner. If this work were purely fiction, instead of yellow journalism masquerading as a historical novel, I might be inclined to enjoy it rather than feel somehow offended by it, as I often do with other works of Elizabethan fiction. I will not likely be reading this author again, as it is neither particularly well-written tabloid fodder, (which, if it were, I might be inclined to read it out of curiosity anyway) nor is it enjoyable fiction. I feel a bit mean-spirited, in a way, for reading it, as if I am condoning the cowardly way in which the author frames actual historical facts and then excuses herself by hiding under the cover-all guise of fiction. The treatment of the material is poor, so I am not going to force myself to stick with it any longer--life is too short!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    Disappointed in Alison Weir

    I love Alison Weir's writing and ordinarily enjoy her books as well as her spin on history. This book however, is difficult for me to get through. She attributes sayings and feelings to a 2-year-old Elizabeth that make me wonder if she even has children of her own. For instance, "Elizabeth was wide-eyed, taking in all that was going on around her and very conscious of being dressed in her best gown, the orange satin one. It was a little tight now around the bodice and sleeves, and Lady Bryan had the hem let down, but with its gay gree underskirt and matching French hood, it looked very fine, Elizabeth thought, and it showed off her red hair to advantage" So, how does a 2-year-old know what's to her advantage? This annoyed me so much. We all know Elizabeth was exceptionally smart, but I find it hard to believe a 2-year-old who has lost her mother would think of much else besides missing her mother. She also supposedly knows HOW and WHY her mother is missing. There are other passages that I find hard to believe as well. It seems like this book was written just to get a book out there. I didn't like it.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Overblown

    I have read several books during the Tudor era. I'm sure fans of Alison Weir have as well. This book is anything but interesting. We all know the story of Elisabeth. There was nothing new here. Weir, tells a story that has been retold over and over again, yet she forgets to add her own spin to it, or even her own conjecture. I felt like I was reading a 17-year-old essay on 16th England. I only made it through about 80 pages before I gave up and decided I could take no more. I understand she is a very well liked author, however, I have yet to find a book by her that has held my interest.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2014

    Children's story

    I want a refund. This is trash.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2014

    Pages are not in order

    Bad format, unreadable. No wonder it was on sale. DO NOT BUY.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2014

    SILLY

    For pity's sake! THREE year olds do not talk/think this way. Every page like an iron bar thrown in a bathtub.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    Amazing book, hard to put down!

    I love books on the Tudor era, and Allison Weir never disappoints. While most books on the Tudor dynasty are written to give you cold facts, this book was written to educate as well as entertain. Worth the read, again and again!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Superbly written

    After reading The Other Boleyn Girl, The Boleyn Inheritance and then The White Queen, I felt I had read so much on Henry the 8th, but this book was absolutely superb! The writing was perfect and I couldn't put it down. It was a real page turner. It all starts with Mary telling Elizabeth that her mother has died when Elizabeth is little and with each page, you realise just what Elizabeth had to go through to become Queen of England. This book gives much insight into how she had to play the game in order to stay alive. If you enjoy history, then this book is for you. Not at any stage does Alison preach to you, but just lets you get inside Elizabeth's head and even Mary's at certain stages of the book. Enjoy

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    Good historical read

    A good introduction to the world in which Elizabeth the first grew up.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A fresh look at an old story.

    Allison Weir takes the many-times written life of Elizabeth I and gives us a fresh look at her early years as Princess Elizabeth, then declared illegitimate, then threatened with the Tower, and finally holding her own as Queen.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Very Good Read

    I think Elizabeth I is one of the most fascinating persons in English history. Ms. Weir's fine historical novel brings alive Elizabeth's life prior to her ascent to the English throne upon the death of her half-sister.

    Read this book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    Very disappointed

    I have read several other books by this author, but this was a total waste of time. The author simply repeats known facts/legends and rumors about Elizabeth I, and the few original plot lines are totally unbelievable...worse, they're boring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    Biographical disappointment

    I was excited to see another Alison Weir book come out- I have read nearly all of her biographical studies of British monarchs, including that of Elizabeth I. This, however, was no biography- it was an incredibly speculative novel, which has almost no basis in fact whatsoever, and the only reason I would know that is because I have read Alison Weir's biographies of her! I was so disappointed to read the supposed "true" life story of a young Elizabeth, which was merely a collection of lore and popular rumors that Weir actually rallied against in her other books. The story is engaging, but I felt that Weir really "sold out" on this one. She should stick to investigating the actual facts, since she really is expert in that, and leave the romanticized story-telling to someone less talented.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    a great fictional story of elizabeth

    The Lady Elizabeth is a fantastic novel for anyone interested in the life of the girl and young lady that would become one of the greatest ruling monarchs in history.So much of what she accomplished after taking the throne is well know,but here the author gives insight into what life could have been like for her as she grew up.The emotions the you feel for the child who never really knew her mother,and lived in a state of constant turmoil are well depicted.It was these feeling and experiences in her life that drove her to become the queen that she became,ironically enough the prince that her father would have dreamed of ,but as a woman.Even with some of the liberties taken historically it is a really great book simply about the girl Elizabeth.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2008

    Fantastic!

    This was my first Alison Weir read and I have definitely been made a fan! I know what an expert historian on this time period she is and I thought I would check out her fiction work. I think she makes such an outstanding book because not only was it exciting and extremely interesting, but it was mostly true to fact! Anything I was unsure about she cleared up in the author's note, which I really appreciated! I felt like I had a conversation with her where all my questions were answered. I cannot wait until she writes another!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2008

    Good Book, but Jane Grey was better

    I enjoyed this book, but I thought it would be better. I read her book about Jane Grey which seemed to be more story were this one seemed like you were reading a history book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8