Customer Reviews for

Lady Jasmine

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    Mixes sexuality and religious themes

    It's hard to categorize "Lady Jasmine." I thought maybe it was a religious book, being that Jasmine Bush is the wife of Pastor Hosea Bush, whose father is Reverend Bush. Then I thought it might be romance when the semi-graphic sex scenes started rolling in.
    Rather than classify the genre, I'll just appreciate it for what it is.
    Jasmine is torn when her father-in-law is gunned down in the City of Lights parking lot one night. Reverend Bush ends up in a coma with an undetermined amount of damage to his brain. This means the Reverend's son, Jasmine's husband Hosea, will take over as Senior Pastor of one of the biggest churches in the area. Which means, Jasmine will become First Lady, a spotlight role Jasmine has always aspired to, although not necessarily if it meant her father-in-law paid the price.
    The only problem is that Jasmine has quite a past. One that includes tricking her husband into thinking he's the father of Jasmine's daughter, sleeping with married men, stripping and prostitution.
    In a previous novel, Jasmine thought she had told Hosea all her secrets, however in this installment, a blackmailer turns up threatening to compromise Jasmine's First Lady status with some forgotten sins of her past.
    I cannot understand how Jasmine and Hosea ended up together, and maybe that's because I missed the previous novel. Jasmine is a manipulative, greedy, slutty woman who doesn't seem to want to spend any time with her young daughter, and would in fact rather dig up dirt on the other members of their church just in case one of them is her blackmailer.
    It was gratifying to eventually learn exactly how mortifying Jasmine's past sins were, since in the beginning we were only doled out the information that she was worried about Hosea finding out she was a stripper. In fact she did much worse things than that.
    The story seems pretty contrived, however, and it felt like the author started making things up as she went along, never revising earlier parts of the story that pertained to the outcome. By the way the book ends I'm betting the author wants us to like Jasmine, however she does not paint Jasmine as a very likeable person no matter how much Christian faith she proclaims to have.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    To Author of Jasmine

    Amazing! The prlouge really hooks me! I am excited to read the fist chapter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Kendrianna

    This brings out fun and interesting features the author as done it again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended!

    Forgiveness at its best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    Must Read!

    Victoria Chistopher Murray nevee stops. she keeps you wanting more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ms. Psychotic

    Jasmine is back and still married to her husband, Hosea, with her daughter, Jacquie. Of course, the only difference is that she is the First Lady of City of Lights at Riverside Church and Hosea is now Reverend Hosea Bush. Readers many have thought that Jasmine did change and was ready to put her devious past behind her and move forward. But then there is always that thing called...karma. With her back against the wall, will she reveal all the lies and drama to Hosea about her past? Will Hosea stay this time?

    "Lady Jasmine" by Victoria Christopher Murray is an absolutely fantastic read for everyone! I did not realize I was reading a Christian novel because it contained so much drama that made it impossible to put the book down. This novel really made a detour down "Drama Street!" I enjoyed every page.

    Victoria, you have done it again! Job well done. I recommend "Lady Jasmine" to others as a "wake up" call. I will continue to look for more of Victoria Christopher Murray's books in the future.

    Reviewed by: Tekisha

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It's ok/good

    quick read, great for a rainy day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Lady Jasmine Does it Again!

    Lady Jasmine is my introductory read into the writings of Victoria Christopher Murray. Boy, what a way to start! This is one book I could not put down.

    The story just got better and better. And who does not know on sight the antics of "church folks" and the plots they can cook up. A bit of backstabbing, a little gossiping add a blackmailing and the game is on for Mrs. Bush.

    Lady Jasmine's higher purpose through all of the twists and turns in her life is to hold her family together. Her methods are only clear and reasonable to her. You have to wonder if the costs of the results she desire is to high.

    This was a truly fabulous read. I strongly recommend that you add this book to your library. I know you will enjoy it as much as I have.

    Review: 4.5 Beignets
    Reviewed by: Melinda
    Books and Beignets (BAB) Book Club

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    Another Great Read

    I wasn't sure how Victoria was going to pull off one more book surrounding Jasmine, but she did and she did a great job. The book opened up the possibility of a series for two other characters and I hope that is the direction she goes.

    A very good book but I expect nothing less from Ms. Christopher-Murray.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a terrific inspirational contemporary tale

    A plotter all her life in order to gain positions of wealth and respect, Jasmine Larson Bush knows she is fortunate that her beloved spouse Reverend Hosea Bush forgave her lies and plots. A lesser man would have kicked her to the curb for her Jezebel transgressions (see TOO LITTLE TO LATE and TEMPTATION. She has vowed to God (and her husband) to always tell the truth and to stop her Machiavellian machinations and tells both her lies in a massive confession.

    When his father is shot in an accident, Hosea is named temporary pastor of the City of Lights Riverside Church though he has doubts and so does several selection board members. Jasmine relishes the glory and respect she and their daughter will receive as the wife and child of the pastor. However, the one transgression that she hid from her beloved Hosea surfaces when a blackmailer demands money. Jasmine used to fighting the opposition goes after the blackmailer with plans to counter blackmail by threatening double exposure and those board members who loudly objected to her husband as the interim pastor. As she charges into the frays she wonders if God and Hosea will forgive her this time.

    LADY JASMINE is a terrific inspirational contemporary tale that is filled with church intrigue, a light mystery, humor and pathos. Fans will appreciate LADY JASMINE as she falls back into her scheming ways though her cause is not quite as ugly as in the past, her method is as she considers the end justifies the means but also learns once again how merciful the Lord is towards those who trip up.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2009

    Must read for this summer!

    I absolutely loved this book! I love to read about all of Jasmine's antics! This is a great book for the summer and I promise you will not be able to put this book down. Victoria Christopher Murray nevers disappoints her readers! I have read all of her books and they are all great page turners!! This book was worth every single dime! You will laugh out loud and scream out in anger, but mostly you will not want this book to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    She is too much!!

    I couldn't wait for this book! Lady Jasmine is trying to change, but she can't. Lying is just in her. This book was a real good follow up. I really enjoyed the book. I will continue to read anything by Victoria Christopher Murray and I will have my daughters read her teen series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2009

    Lord, This woman is a MESS!!!!

    I was eagerly awaiting this book and I was not disappointed. Mrs. Murray brought Jasmine back and she has even more drama. This is another page turner that chronicles the vixen of the Bush family. Plenty of action and suspense!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2