Customer Reviews for

Lady Knight (Protector of the Small Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 342 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(266)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 343 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Hi

    The best one yet! Kel speaks to all of us with her kindness. You HAVE to read this series!( first one called first test. )

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Best teen books!!!!

    I have been reading this author since i was 12 so almost 18 years. I love alanna, and the immortal series is also great but Kel's story holds true as the best teen series in my mind. I saw some reviews that were upset at the lack of romance but to me having a female protagonist that has more important concerns then having sex as soon as possible is a welcome relief after character like Bella in twilight who agrees to marry the guy she loves at 18 because he won't have sex with her without being married (yes i know there were other factors), is a fact that i find very upsetting as a role model for teen girls reading these books. Give me books about honor, self sacrifice, hard word and lessons in morality witu a side of fun, good conversation and young, innocent, love any day over vampires and werewolves. Thank you Tamora Pierce

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Am I missing something?

    What about Cleon?! I have to confess them being together was one of my favorite parts. He was just gone...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Love this book

    I havent read this yet, but i really am looking forward to it! I read squire and finished it ten minutes ago. I nearly forgot i was reading! I wonder what is yet to come, but i'll love it the way i love all tamora pierce's books. I <3 Neal!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    ?

    You NEED to read this book. :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Hooked on Pierce

    Picked up the book because I liked the cover--showing a girl in armor. After I started reading it, I realized it was last book in a 4 book series. But by then it was too late. I was caught. So was my son (about 10 at the time). Lady Kel's dedication to her duty causes angst and difficult choices. Her ingenuity and faith in even some of the most unlikely people made this such a fun read.
    Now we are dedicated Tamora Pierce readers and have yet to be disappointed. Weird to start at the end then go backward...but worth it! I have recommended this to many.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    As usual.....

    Ani,other great seris from tamora pierce!! Love Kel shes an great additton to tortall

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    Simply Amazing

    Wow, I have to say that this was a really great book. After rereading it I can say that I actually like it more than last time. True, Pierce leaves some loose ends that are pretty important to the book, but to me I think it had a satisfying ending. Hopefully the last paragraph turns out to be what I think it means. I love Dom! :P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2008

    Left hanging

    I agree with the other reviews in that we were left hanging at the end of this book. Does Kel end up with Dom or anyone? When will the war with Scandra end? When it ends does she get to command her own troops? Quindan should get his commupance for not having scouts, like Tobe noticed?Wish there was a little more with her and the Lioness, now that they can interact. Tobe deserves his own quartet! But I should say, I did enjoy this book and her others as well. Partial to the Immortal series, thought it was GREAT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    lacking

    i've read the prequels to this book and love the protagonist. i looked forward to reading this book. i agree that it lacks something including romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2008

    A reviewer

    I thought this book was exellent, for most of it. It is not as good as the other books in the quartet. I was expecting the fight between Kel and the guy who was making those monster things to be harder for Kel to win and more dramatic- it was suposed to be the climax of the whole book! I did not think it was good enough to be an exciting and defying climax. We all knew she would win- right?. I'm sad Tamora got rid of Cleon but I agree that it would have gotten in the way of the story it he was involved. I was also dissapointed when Kel was given the job of starting and commanding another rescue camp in the end. I think she could do way better (and was worthy of more, with all of her hard work and talents and stuff) than just commanding a bunch of peasant people, she could command a whole army easily! I do think that Kel was suited to the job of running a rescue camp, though, but not for that long. It seemed, in the epolouge, she would be doing that the rest of her life. I think that they could have made a bigger deal out of Kel killing whats-his-name and his sidekick- that was practically half of the war, and they probably would have lost without her doing that. There defidently could have been alot more detail in the end of the book, it seemed hurried to me. The book did have really funny parts too. I agree with some people that the book was just a little boring- nothing new Kel got, learned, encountered, was really challenged with, or expirienced, that she had never dealt with or something like it before. She also didn't really go to new places or meet knew people as much as I would have liked her to. I think that alot of the charachters charechter was lost from a lack of detailed, good, juicy diologe. I loved the charachter Tobe- expessially at the begginging when he was giving her a bit of trouble.The bookwould have been alot beter if Kel would had struggled with more- like people not believing her-being a girl and all, like struggleing taking care of something or with something that she just couldn't do. The book is super good until you get 3/4 of the way through or so when it starts to go downhill. I still highly recomend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2008

    Its was Great but....

    i felt lik it was missin somethin i was hoping for another book and started reading her other books just to find kel. it was exciting and great but the ending was wel... not the best it was just to much of a desapointment. the book was so great i expected a great ending. well atleast her book are good and this one was really good. I was just hoping for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    Left...well..hanging

    I love Tamora Pierce's Tortall series'. However, this book left me a little disappointed. In every other Tortall series, the main character got to have their love, and in this one, Kel loses. Why did that have to happen? I realize Kel is a independent woman and that she doesn't want to tied down yet, but couldn't she at least be given the chance, like in the epilogue, to find it later? Most of you reading this review will probably disagree with me, because Kel is such a compelling and interesting character, but I just wanted to say that I hope someday someone agrees.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    Wonderful and exciting

    Thats what this book is. Filled with smashing action everyone will enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2007

    Spectacular!

    It was a extremely good book that I think is the best book Tamora Pierce has written!(The only other one that matched up to this book was Beka Cooper)Great end to the series,Although you wish you knew more about what happened when it ended. Excelently written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2007

    tamora pirce you've done it again!!

    I absolutly loved this book!! it's about a young woman named kel who dispite all the hardships becomes one of the first maidens to become a knight. but in the final challenge an unheard of thing happens to her. the chamber of the ordeal sends her a vision telling her she must defeat Blayce the Gallan, the man who creates horrible devices made for slaughter. but when she is sent to work in a refugee camp that resulted from the scandran war she is forced to remain neutral and unable to go after blayce. it is a heart stopping finale in pirces Protector of the small quartet and i suggest this book to everyone. now i'm off to buy the next book TRICKSTER's CHOICE!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2007

    Heroic

    Out of all the books in the protector of the small series, this is the best. I've read it a bazillion times. Tamora really knows how to write amazing books on female heroines. I don't know if it's her style of writing or great ideas or both, but I've never read such engaging books in fantasy or any other genre. Read Tamora Pierce, she rocks. You won't regret it. Her characters are memorable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2007

    amazing book (amazing for lack of a better word)

    Lady Knight is an amazing story, one for all ages. I must have read this book (and many others by Tamora Pierce--I love all of them except all the circle books which are only semi-unbelievably outstanding :]--)at least 15 times. Each time I reread Lady Knight I'm completely awed at what Tamora Pierce can do with words, how she can get you so into the story...I could go on forever about how amazing her writing is but I'll spare you, as long as you read Lady Knight :].

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2006

    this is the best book I have ever read!!!!!!!!!!

    i have read alot of books and I have to say this is my favorite, perhaps the best book tamora pierce has ever written!!tamora is now my favorite author!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    BOOORRRIIIIINNNGGG

    big,big BIG waste of time! seriously, i practically fell asleep during this book and could not even bring myself to finish it! HONESTLY! why on earth did she have to involve scanra ? and about that man who killed children? um, the ''monsters'' did not even seem realistic! do NOT waste your money or time reading this, and if you want to fall asleep in ten seconds, i reccomend reading this book.Alanna is four million zillion times better than Kel.Oh, and where did all the romance go?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 343 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18