Customer Reviews for

Lady Knight (Protector of the Small Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 344 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(266)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2015

    Fantasy

    I have not read this book yet but one of the reviews said the monsters were unrealistic, ever heard of fantasy? Should I read the book or not?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2008

    lacking

    i've read the prequels to this book and love the protagonist. i looked forward to reading this book. i agree that it lacks something including romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2008

    Its was Great but....

    i felt lik it was missin somethin i was hoping for another book and started reading her other books just to find kel. it was exciting and great but the ending was wel... not the best it was just to much of a desapointment. the book was so great i expected a great ending. well atleast her book are good and this one was really good. I was just hoping for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    Left...well..hanging

    I love Tamora Pierce's Tortall series'. However, this book left me a little disappointed. In every other Tortall series, the main character got to have their love, and in this one, Kel loses. Why did that have to happen? I realize Kel is a independent woman and that she doesn't want to tied down yet, but couldn't she at least be given the chance, like in the epilogue, to find it later? Most of you reading this review will probably disagree with me, because Kel is such a compelling and interesting character, but I just wanted to say that I hope someday someone agrees.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2003

    What happend?

    I started reading Tamora Pierce when I was 8 and to be honest I thoght this book was a major let down. It could have been much better. It had so many loose ends. I didn't get why she chose to break the relationship between Kel and Cleon. They wear the perfect couple. And when the book ended it left a big question mark in my mind. Over all though it was an ok book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2003

    Disappointed

    As the final book in the series, I was really disappointed. It seemed she couldn't make up her mind about Neal and Cleon. I thought Cleon was the perfect match for Kel! Also the fact that she never seemed saticefied throughout the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2003

    Not the best

    I couldn't wait to read this book and when I did I was sorta disapointed. I thought it was going to be much better. It was still good but definetely not the best. I like her other series better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2003

    a let down

    After reading the three previous books to this series, i was nothing less than ecstatic about reading the fourth and final installment. While I still love Tamora Pierce, this book was her worst. Kel's stories were so funny, full of originality and humor, but in the final book, I felt deprived of it. Kel's resistance to her mission is constant through most of the story and it made me feel like she wasn't really into it. It's like she changed into a cold hard person (but this is not true since she IS the 'protector of the small').

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2003

    most definatly not her best book

    the book was okay but it was not to Tamora's usual standards really the only reason i finished was because i love her books and i thought that it would have to pick up at some point but it didn't. It wasn't her worst book though i will give her that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2003

    Good but rushed

    I thought it felt like she was trying to tie up all the loose ends all in one book, instead of just letting the story flow. It was a bit of a disapointment. Its definitly not a reread.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2003

    Good but some of her others were better

    I really liked the seires but.... I didn't think it was wrote with the same heart or passion that the Song of the Lioness or The Immortal was. I was wondering if it had to do with the fact that Keladry had no magic? I really didn't think she had much spirt. I geuss I just really liked Alanna's temmper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2002

    Good For YOu

    The book sounds great to we have never seen this one. While you have already read it the book before just came to us. That is really pathetic. I hope it's as great as you say I truly hope))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))) Great Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2002

    Disappointing, A sad reader in Ohio

    Ok, I know this review is probably going to enrage some Tamora Pierce fans, but i figure, all you guys managed to write 67 reviews before the book even came out and now its september and not one review on the real thing, so i figure this is open ground. Let me just say that I was so excited when i held the book in my hands at the store and couldnt wait to read it. In fact I tried to prolong it to make it last longer, but it didnt do anything for the quality. The book was predictable and boring. Everything you thought would happen did. Cleon married the heiress (and might I add, that scene was very sloppy, like the author thought "ok, i need to dissolve this Kel-Cleon thing" and of course, when they see each other again Kel feels "nothing". And then isnt it perfect that Cleon can't marry her...oh yes perfect. And of course, Kel saves the day and makes friendships with everyone and of course, beats the bad guy. There was however good description of characters and scenes and I did feel that I started to know the characters. But, the book felt strangely like the The second book in Daine's series, Wolf-Speaker. There was a woodsy atmosphere, help from the animals, a castle and threshold that need to be conquered, and of course, an evil master inside. And the last chapter, the little mentioning of Raoul's wedding and Kel's lack of a lover. I think that in a book this big, a little more could have been said about these points, instead of a little unanswered cliff hanger. After all, this was the last book in the series, and i doubt that there will be another Tortall quartet, at least on that deals with knights and royalty. I'm not sorry that I bought this book, but if I knew it would read like this I could have waited until it came out in paperback. I feel that it does not live up the the 67 5 star reviews that were given to it BEFORE it even came out and I hope once you actually read it you will recognize some of my points. Maybe Tamora pierce was pressured into finishing it and was stuck in a rut, who knows. But hopefully her next books will have improved and gone back to her normal high standard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1