Customer Reviews for

Lady Knight (Protector of the Small Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 342 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(266)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2009

    Simply Amazing

    Wow, I have to say that this was a really great book. After rereading it I can say that I actually like it more than last time. True, Pierce leaves some loose ends that are pretty important to the book, but to me I think it had a satisfying ending. Hopefully the last paragraph turns out to be what I think it means. I love Dom! :P

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2008

    Left hanging

    I agree with the other reviews in that we were left hanging at the end of this book. Does Kel end up with Dom or anyone? When will the war with Scandra end? When it ends does she get to command her own troops? Quindan should get his commupance for not having scouts, like Tobe noticed?Wish there was a little more with her and the Lioness, now that they can interact. Tobe deserves his own quartet! But I should say, I did enjoy this book and her others as well. Partial to the Immortal series, thought it was GREAT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2008

    A reviewer

    I thought this book was exellent, for most of it. It is not as good as the other books in the quartet. I was expecting the fight between Kel and the guy who was making those monster things to be harder for Kel to win and more dramatic- it was suposed to be the climax of the whole book! I did not think it was good enough to be an exciting and defying climax. We all knew she would win- right?. I'm sad Tamora got rid of Cleon but I agree that it would have gotten in the way of the story it he was involved. I was also dissapointed when Kel was given the job of starting and commanding another rescue camp in the end. I think she could do way better (and was worthy of more, with all of her hard work and talents and stuff) than just commanding a bunch of peasant people, she could command a whole army easily! I do think that Kel was suited to the job of running a rescue camp, though, but not for that long. It seemed, in the epolouge, she would be doing that the rest of her life. I think that they could have made a bigger deal out of Kel killing whats-his-name and his sidekick- that was practically half of the war, and they probably would have lost without her doing that. There defidently could have been alot more detail in the end of the book, it seemed hurried to me. The book did have really funny parts too. I agree with some people that the book was just a little boring- nothing new Kel got, learned, encountered, was really challenged with, or expirienced, that she had never dealt with or something like it before. She also didn't really go to new places or meet knew people as much as I would have liked her to. I think that alot of the charachters charechter was lost from a lack of detailed, good, juicy diologe. I loved the charachter Tobe- expessially at the begginging when he was giving her a bit of trouble.The bookwould have been alot beter if Kel would had struggled with more- like people not believing her-being a girl and all, like struggleing taking care of something or with something that she just couldn't do. The book is super good until you get 3/4 of the way through or so when it starts to go downhill. I still highly recomend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2006

    Kim

    this book was definally one of the BEST books that tamora wrote. Though it is a little hard to get into it, i still loved the book! you are making a HUGE mistake if you do not read this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2006

    Depends....

    At first, I really didn't like this book, but then I decided to read the rest of the series. After that and taking another spin at reading it, I really decided it wasn't all that bad. I think that to like it and understand it you have to read all the series, otherwise you just feel sort of lost and think that it's a total waste of time. I guess thats just my opinion though. Beyond that, I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2005

    After the others...

    After reading the other reviews, I feel like I have to say something. WHile many people maintain that this was the worst book in this quartet, I disagree-this was the best. I liked the whole tone, and I found the characters hilarious. No other author has made me laugh so much, and definitely not in one book. Great humor, everything was just great-a good end to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2005

    kinda disappointed.........

    Well let me tell you I agree with Steph I like this book but I was kinda disappointed with the Kel and Cleon issue, you know them not getting to be with each other though Cleon does still seem to like Kel even though he is gonna get married to another girl otherwise than that I love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2004

    OMG

    I love Tamora Pierce don't get me wrong and I love Kel, but without a really stable romance the book wasn't very balanced. Don't let my opinion of the book influence yours people! I thought it was totally wonderful for the most part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2004

    One for the girls

    The Protector of the Small books helps us girls think that we can do everything that men can do and better. Young women can do all the same jobs but more, Mrs. Pierce show us that when Kel is given the job of taking care of the rufgee camp, on one else would have befriended them or took care of them as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2003

    About time

    Brilliant novel with lots of challenges for Kel, but may I say, it was just as well that Kel did not end up with Cleon - or I would have screamed!!! They were not suited for each other I must say... And the idea of hinting at the ending rather than spelling it out was more interesting (however you can't help hoping it means there is another quartet to follow :p)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2003

    Maybe I liked the squire better

    I think this was a great book, but the Squire was by far the better. Kel is switching from guy to guy throughout all the books. It was like Neal first, then Cleon, and then she gets some kinda crush on Dom. Make up yer mind girl! Lady Knight was still a great book all in all, and I'm hoping for a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2003

    something missing

    it would have been perfect if it had more romance and a better ending Cleon and Kel made a perfect match why did she give that up?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2003

    A Good Ending

    This was a good book, and a nice end to the series, if not completely up to Tamora's standards. I wouldn't go so far as to say it was bad, but it was slightly tedious, if only because it was longer than the other Protector of the Small books. I would still recommend it to any fans, but only if you've read the first three books. Even though this book didn't end romantically or dramatically like some of the others did, that's okay, because it doesn't seem in Kel's nature to act like that. Keep in mind that she's a practical, down-to-earth girl, and that she could no sooner change her nature that change the stars. All in all, it was a satisfying ending to a commendable series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2003

    How can people not like Tamora's book

    I cant belive that so many people did't like this book. It isn't her best but it certainly isn't 'Pathetic'. Any reasons why so many didn't like Lady Knight. Not all of Tamora's books have to have a huge love affair in them. It was very exiting and I was left feeling rather flat when I finished

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2002

    Lady Knight (Protector of the Small Series #4)

    my god i did not know this was the last book in the protector of the small series! This makes me so mad! I would have liked htis fi...fi..final book to be a LOT MORE ROMANTIC. I think fighting is great but wheres the romance? E-Mail me please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2002

    I agree

    Well i read others comments and i agree that kel needs more of a love life also i really like all of tamora pierce's other books but she difinetly didn't make the book "Lady Knight" as conclusive as i thought it would be. but overall i loved her books, i read most of them twice or three times and i loved them. i hope she writes more books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2002

    a deffinate read(rachel 12)

    it was a great read and i really enjoyed it but i was incredibly dissapointed that kel and cleon wern't really together as much as in squire i know this was sopposed to be the last book in the series but right more and give keladry a love life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2002

    Comments on Lady Knight

    In my opinion, Lady Knight is about the same quality as Squire, but very different in character. It seems much less frivolous, with more battle scenes and almost no romance. I have heard Kel called too perfect and frankly rather annoying, but I think we see a less "calm lake" Kel in this book than the others. She is frustrated because she has achived her big goal of a knight and can't pursue her next goal: getting rid of Blayce. She doesn't show it much, but she does comment about her role as commander of Haven "that's all my job is, Daine, trying to please everyone and pleasing no one. And it will only get worse, not better". Now for Kel this like you or me wailing in misery; Kel never complains! It just shows the affect that being restained from her goal is having on her. Highly recommended to all those who liked the previous books (exepting those who only read them for the romance).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2002

    good, but could be better...

    for the rest of you, who all seem to have been completely unobservant in Squire, then it was obvious that there was something between Kel and Dom, and that they would eventually get together! However Ms Pierce, having revolved all of her previous Tortall books around romance and war, neglects to give Kel any sort of love life at all! The aspects of war were very involving, but there were times when it got too much, and the reader got lost, or bored. Things went very quickly at the end, considering her entire series had been leading up to the confrontation, and it was over in a mere couple of pages. At the end, I as the reader, was left feeling, althought it was a good book, distictly dissapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2002

    Not the best in the series but not bad

    I enjoyed reading this book, but it wasn't up to her usual standard. The book ended very abruptly. I read it very quickly but mostly because I was anxious to see if anything more happened. Overall the book was very predictable, I did however enjoy the new character, Tobe, he was a good addition to the book. I think that it would rate last in an over all spectacular series. Squire is still my favorite over all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3