Customer Reviews for

Lady Maggie's Secret Scandal

Average Rating 4
( 256 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(92)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

MAGGIE’S SECRET SCANDAL by Grace Burrowes is an exciting h

MAGGIE’S SECRET SCANDAL by Grace Burrowes is an exciting historical romance set in Regency England. Book #2 in the
“Book 2 of The Duke’s Daughters sub-series,Book 5 of the Windham series”,but can be read as a stand alone.Another,beautifully writt...
MAGGIE’S SECRET SCANDAL by Grace Burrowes is an exciting historical romance set in Regency England. Book #2 in the
“Book 2 of The Duke’s Daughters sub-series,Book 5 of the Windham series”,but can be read as a stand alone.Another,beautifully written romance. You will find danger,romance,sweet sensuality,scandal,secrets,love,desire,and disaster.Ms. Burrowes is a wonderful storyteller whose characters will not only capture your heart but will also have you turning pages well into the night. A must read! I can hardly wait for the next big adventure from this author. Her stories are written with vivid descriptions and a cast of characters who will hold your heart and your attention throughout the story. As you travel with Lady Maggie and Benjamin through the streets of London,you will encounter the wit,and spirit of the era. Another captivating story from this author. Received for an honest review from the publisher.Details can be found at Sourcebooks Casablanca,the author’s website,and My Book Addiction and More.

RATING: 5

HEAT RATING:Mild: Mild detailed scenes of intimacy,mild violence or profanity.

REVIEWED BY: AprilR, My Book Addiction and More

posted by MyBookAddictionandMore on May 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

57 out of 162 people found this review helpful.

Another free Friday romance

Can you please, and I know I'm not alone, cut back on the romance. I look forward to free Fridays only to be dissappointed by another love story. Can we get some thrillers or adventure type books?! Maybe have a couple titles to select one from? I buy a lot of books from...
Can you please, and I know I'm not alone, cut back on the romance. I look forward to free Fridays only to be dissappointed by another love story. Can we get some thrillers or adventure type books?! Maybe have a couple titles to select one from? I buy a lot of books from you and expect a little better in return. Free Friday is another bust here...

posted by 6421742 on March 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 92 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Romance

    Adult conrent

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Not a fan of period romances, but,,,

    This one was so well done, Characters are likeable and believable Plot is well orchestrated without being predictable Language is consistent but not burdensome to read The romance is appropriately steamy, not vulgar Overall, a surprisingly enjoyable read Will purchase others by this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Please stop

    Please stop with the free friday rants. This is not the place. Contact customer service. This book was a good read. I look forward to reading the others in the series. Thank you to those who recommended this and the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Good

    Ok for free

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Good

    Enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Lady Magdalene is redheaded, gorgeous, and the bastard daughter

    Lady Magdalene is redheaded, gorgeous, and the bastard daughter of a courtesan and the (now) Duke of Moreland. One would think the last person with whom a woman with secrets would involve herself would be private investigator Benjamin Hazlit. As it turns out, these are two people used to living in the shadows.

    Burrowes creates in each novel a very likeable and compelling heroine and hero.

    Things I really liked about this novel:
    • Maggie is older - almost 30. I love “older” heroines in romance!
    • There is a fierce protectiveness of Lady Magdalene towards Her Grace, her adoptive mother - and vice versa.
    • The concept of being intimidated in some ways, by the seemingly perfect marriage of one’s parents.
    • Benjamin is re-evaluating whether his response to the rape/sexual assault on his sisters is or was appropriate. I love the idea that a sexual assault on noblewomen is even brought up in Regency Romance.
    • The family loyalty and bonding, in general, is wonderful and realistic, IMO. Even in the most dysfunctional family, the siblings tend to stick together, and we see this here.

    Things that were problematic for me:
    • Maggie is brilliant in most ways, a little slow on the uptake in others. Her reticule is missing, but she is unwilling to consider that it might be stolen. She’s phenomenal with financial matters, yet never does the pregnancy math to figure out if it is possible that her father, the Duke, could be eliminated as a possible sire for her baby sister.
    • The all-too-convenient pregnancy.
    • The all-too-convenient secret title of nobility.
    • The ease with which Lady Maggie handles horses and rides them, with no lingering soreness. I could forgive a blister or two on the hands, but no ache between the thighs after a couple of hours of riding? Really?

    Despite what I perceive as flaws, I loved this book. It was fun, light, loving, sexy, and convinced me that Regency Romance was not all bustles and tortured prose.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Intersting

    The beginning didnt grasp my attention like i felt it should gave. But overall the book was well written. Although this book is part of a series it definitely is able to stand alone. The characters are great, i would just suggest that there being something that grabs the readers attention in the beginning instead of having to get about 100 pages before getting interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Question

    Love the look and premise but need to know, do I need to read others first or can this be considered a stand-alone sequel?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    ****

    A really enjoyable read. The romance between Maggie and Ben kept me turning pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 92 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5