Customer Reviews for

Lady Q: The Rise and Fall of a Latin Queen

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Enthralling Read

This is a shocking account of a females time as a Latin Queen, and her rise through the ranks to become the queen of all queens. This brutally honest book portrays the authors true feelings in events such as living in her volatile home to raising her daughter in the num...
This is a shocking account of a females time as a Latin Queen, and her rise through the ranks to become the queen of all queens. This brutally honest book portrays the authors true feelings in events such as living in her volatile home to raising her daughter in the number one come-to house for drugs.

posted by Anonymous on July 18, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

eh

This book is a really easy read. It is told in third person so it makes it really hard to relate to the main character in the book. Also making it hard to sympathize with her. Don't get me wrong its a very sad story, however I think it could have been better if Sonia he...
This book is a really easy read. It is told in third person so it makes it really hard to relate to the main character in the book. Also making it hard to sympathize with her. Don't get me wrong its a very sad story, however I think it could have been better if Sonia herself wrote it. The Epilouge is the only area of the book that you feel like you get to know her. I would recommend reading it if you like Reymundo Sanchez's previous books, but it's not like it's going to be a real surprise how it plays out.

posted by JennayLee on August 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    ANOTHER MIND-CATCHER BOOK OF TRUE CRIME

    I LOVE TRU CRIME BOOKS!!! AND I HAD TO SAY I FINISHED THIS BOOK QUIT QUICKLY IN ONE DAY... LAST TIME I HAD DONE THAT FAST OF A READING WAS WHEN I READ ONCE A KING ALWAYS A KING N MY BLOODY LIFE. I LOVED THE BOOK ITS AN EYE-CATCHER AND AMAZING!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    MY SECOND BOOK

    THIS IS MY 2ND BOOK THAT I HAVE READ IN MY LIFE THAT ISNT A KIDS BOOK =]<BR/>BUT MY 1ST WAS <BR/><BR/>HOMEBOYS BY ALAN LAWRENCE SITOMER <BR/>IF YOU LIKE THESE KINDS OF BOOKS ABOUT GANG LIFE AND GANG VIOLANCE YOULL LIKE THIS BOOK BUT ANYWAYS <BR/><BR/>I REALLY LOVED LADY Q I COULD REALLY REALTE TO IT I COULD IMAGINING MYSELF ALSO HAVE ANOTHER KID <BR/><BR/>BUT I COULD REMBER ALL THE STUPIED THINGS WE DID WHEN WE WHERE YOUNGER BUT ALL THAT WE CAN HOPE FOR <BR/>IS THAT THE NEW YOUNGSTERS DO WHAT THEY DO LEARN THEIR LESSON A LITTLE BIT FASTER THAN WE DID AND DONT DIE BEFORE THERE 21 <BR/><BR/><BR/>i cant figure how to do that thingy at the bootm about reconmending but i recomend<BR/><BR/>HOMEBOYS BY ALAN LAWRENCE SITOMER<BR/>MY BLOODY LIFE BY REYMOUNDO SANCHEZ<BR/>LADY Q <BR/>ONCE A KING ALWAYS A KING<BR/>LATIN KING

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    it was amazing!

    I thought this book was brillant. Even if u never been in a gang. Iwas raised in chicago and used to go to humbolt park to watch my dad play baseball for a christian team. But never knew my surroundings and all the gang violence that occured at that time. I am grateful my parents kept me away from all that. but at the same time reading this book has unveiled my eyes to reality that still occurs in the city. I am no longer there but, i want to help now and want to find out how i can. I hope people from the city read this and hit reality like i have and in there own way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Keeping It Real

    This book was not what I expected. Normally I don't usually read these types of books but I actually enjoyed reading this one. Her writing was raw and real which made you feel connected to the story. Also, her writing style is similiar to D. L. Blanco's novel, Single Latina Female which is a really good book, too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    A great book

    To Everyone My first gangster crime book I have read is Dog the bounty hunter, and I wanted to read another one and I saw this one of Lady Q the rise and fall of a latin queen and oh boy this book was totally amazing, and I really enjoy reading it. I have read over 158 pages and I don't want to stop until I get to the end of this book. I do enjoy reading about people life, even I have read about Eric Bischoff life and Dog the bounty hunter life and, next is Sonia RodRiguez. This is an excellent book and I also heard that Reymundo Sanchez wrote this book. I have never read his book and yes I am going to put him next to my list after I finish reading Lady Q. I wish that I can really meet these people in real life. I only know small culture of gang stuff. But never like this way. But now I am learning it, and trust me being in a gang is not good because crime wave. But what is good is this book and that what count and thanks for reading and talk to you soon everyone!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2008

    Sad yet captivating

    This was definitely a great book. It is so sad to see how the street life can make AND break you. I definitely encourage everyone to read this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2008

    Loved it!

    I absolutely loved the book. I love books that are about real life. How people have gone through a very rough childhood and what they have become now. Sonia is a very strong latina. She may have made some very bad decisions, but to go through all that she still stand strong shows how brave she is. It's amazing. I would recommend this to anyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2008

    Enthralling Read

    This is a shocking account of a females time as a Latin Queen, and her rise through the ranks to become the queen of all queens. This brutally honest book portrays the authors true feelings in events such as living in her volatile home to raising her daughter in the number one come-to house for drugs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    I've read all of Reymundo's books and love them all. His first

    I've read all of Reymundo's books and love them all. His first two were written in first person making it much easier to truly connect with him. In Sonia's story, it is written in third person-making more difficult to connect with her throughout the novel.

    This is still a great story. Reymundo's books are some of the only books I had to try to keep myself from reading in a day. They are that good. Everyone should be enlightened on these topics. Especially people with any political power.
    -MMP

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2013

    LOVE! LOVE! LOVE! Definitely a story about gang violence. This b

    LOVE! LOVE! LOVE! Definitely a story about gang violence. This book showed me that life isn't always easy. I've never been in a gang but this book showed me what goes on in one. If you read this and you're not in a gang, you'll know you don't want to be in one. If you read this and you're in a gang, you'll want to get out. The things that happen to Lady Q are crazy and it made me thankful for the life that I have now. Thinking that all of these murders and crimes go on when we're not paying attention is crazy. Lady Q has a story to tell in this book that will make anyone think about the things that go on in our world.
    -Destiny

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Book is really bad!!!

    Troll!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    lady q is a great book. it shows the gang life through a female

    lady q is a great book. it shows the gang life through a female perspective. its about a girl who was abused when she was younger but a straight A student at school. she ended up dropping out because she was being bullied by rivals to the Kings at school. she started getting high and drinking. she liked the feeling and joined the gang. she dated one of the most notorious and powerful kings and became lknown as the &quot;queen of Kings&quot;. whatever she said or asked for was done with no questions. when she figured out what the gang life was about she dropped out of the gang and was lucky enough to be left alone. this is deffinantely a page turner and a must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Close Up

    Lady Q was one of the baddest in the business and this shows a side to her i never thought existed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Must Read

    This is such an amazing book. The things that "Lady Q" had to deal with as a child and as she grew older could not be wished apon anyone. This is a must read book! Other books by Reymundo Sanchez are just a amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2008

    Raw and Uncut!!

    Raymundo Sanchez has done it again. He takes you'the reader'into the everyday life of a Latin King. 'Queen Of All Kings', Lady Q is just merely the story of one female gangster. Her life should be an eye opener for any and all youth who want to be part of a street gang.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2008

    I hope its Amazing

    As this author has written great books but its amazing how he can now write a womens point of view and still relate it to his own true story its going to be as great as the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2