Customer Reviews for

Lady Sophia's Lover (Bow Street Runners Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Good Story by a Good Writer

Once again Lisa Klaypas has entertained with this second in the Bow Street Runners Series. I don't think I would have enjoyed this one quite as much, had I not read the first book in the series. I had read all five of the Hathaway Family series first and these books all...
Once again Lisa Klaypas has entertained with this second in the Bow Street Runners Series. I don't think I would have enjoyed this one quite as much, had I not read the first book in the series. I had read all five of the Hathaway Family series first and these books all follow each other to some extent, but each one can stand alone, though not as enjoyable as in order. Since it is a romatic historical, I don't know that men would enjoy this as much as women. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good story line.

posted by booklovercm on February 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not her best work

I've read all of Lisa K's books, as I'm a fan. This is not her best work; I was dissapointed. While I do like a steamy book, this one seems a tad overboard and contrived and reads more like something from a gentleman's magazine than a romance novel. Sadly, the story ...
I've read all of Lisa K's books, as I'm a fan. This is not her best work; I was dissapointed. While I do like a steamy book, this one seems a tad overboard and contrived and reads more like something from a gentleman's magazine than a romance novel. Sadly, the story is hard to believe and the ending is very silly. The good news is that I was able to finish the whole book, which isn't true about every romance that I read. If you're new to Lisa K, then don't read this book first; it's not a good example of her work.

posted by Anonymous on June 28, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    A Good Story by a Good Writer

    Once again Lisa Klaypas has entertained with this second in the Bow Street Runners Series. I don't think I would have enjoyed this one quite as much, had I not read the first book in the series. I had read all five of the Hathaway Family series first and these books all follow each other to some extent, but each one can stand alone, though not as enjoyable as in order. Since it is a romatic historical, I don't know that men would enjoy this as much as women. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good story line.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    enjoyable read

    True Kleypas....enjoyed every minute of it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Loved this series and the unique storyline. LK is one of my favo

    Loved this series and the unique storyline. LK is one of my favorite hist rom authors as she thinks outside the box and doe not give us the same characters over and over again - unlike Stephanie Laurens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Bmao bmgjb,o

    Uoglajyutpwugghhb,ajMb,uo uyignk yivnyobnhkyo

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Loved it!

    Amazing!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Awesome!

    Stayed up most of the night to finish this!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Loved it

    This story proves that love can conquer over all

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2010

    Good Romance!

    I just finished this book, Lady Sophia's lover,and I loved it! I have read many books by this author and I prefer her historical romance over other authors in the same genre. This book was nice because it didnt take forever for the couple to get it together and get together. Some other romance stories get alittle annoying toward the end because it takes forever for the woman to give in. This book was not like that, it took a reasonable amount of time for them to get together and the rest of the book goes into their life together as a couple. I liked it alot! if you like romance, especially Lisa Kleypas, you'll love this one! Its not quite the Wallflower Series, but nothing else is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2009

    My mom loved it!

    My mom and I love romance stories, and she especially likes Victoria Alexander, Stephanie Laurens, and this author, whom she would highly reccommend! She read the book quickly, and told me that she enjoyed it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2005

    An Amazingly Awe Worthy Read

    This book was more than I imagined. Many who read this novel will realize that Sophia is a character that one can relate too. She gets caught in horrible dilemma's and makes the wrong choice, thinking it the only one that can be safe. Now most people expect the male character to be beastly and lash out when lied to, but our leading man most definitely is not. He shows the kindness and forgiveness one would not place on his character. I truly enjoyed this action packed piece and suggest it to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2003

    Could not stop reading

    I read this book because my spanish soap finished. I wanted to enjoy something else now. I did not like to read but this book got me hooked big time. I read it in one day. I plan to read all of Lisa Kleypas books now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2003

    Sir Ross makes this one 5 stars...

    I would rate the story 4 stars because it was tedious at times. Sophia was lovely, although I failed to see exactly what it was about her that made Ross fall that deeply in love with her. However, being that he was, I have to say Sophia was fortunate to be loved that deeply and completely. Ross was everything a woman could want in a man. He was handsome, intelligent, charming, loyal, romantic and very passionate. There are better books out there, of course, but out of all the romance novels, L.K. must be credited with making Sir Ross one of the best all-around heros ever. This author's love scenes were a little over the top, though. I found it difficult to look at L.K's picture in the back of the book without blushing! I couldn't look her in the eye! It's almost as if one knows what goes on in HER bedroom! Also, I liked Nick Gentry from the start!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2003

    THIS BOOK IS FANTABULOUS!

    I am really hard on books anyone who has read some of my reviews knows that. I didn't think this book would be that great but after reading it how wrong I was. This was the most intriguing book i've ever read. It has so much deapth. Never have I read a book where the heroine wants to take down the hero. There is so much love and devotion in this book that it utterly compelling. This will not be the last Kleypas book I read. BOTTOM LINE: If you haven't read this book, READ IT now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2002

    LOVED IT!!!!!!

    I'm a Big Fan of Ms. Lisa's work, I'm a Beginner in reading (about a year) so she's my frist favorite Auther!!! You know, the one auther you get ALL the books she's ( or He?) ever written. Her work has become a comfortable nest for me, I know it'll be wonderful ( like all of her stories ) and it'll be what I like. Now I've read all her books, I'm left wondering what to read now? Finding a good book or even a good auther is hard! (plus lots of money, man!) Besides, What next book will satisfy all my longings like Ms.Lisa's love stories?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2002

    ;)

    I really liked this book. I thought it would be a silly romance novel, but it was very intruiging and I liked how doors opened along the way. The ending was not the best, but it didn't ruin the book. I think Ross was not the kind of person that he was described as...he was thought out in my mind as someone who is not him, you know, he was too perfect in the book and in my mind he was not. Anyways, this book was great and I am a fan of the author, so I liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2002

    I LOVED IT!!!!!!

    This was also my first Lisa Kleypas book, I thought it was wonderful. Finally a book that did not have all of the junk that the man and woman have misunderstandings that keep them apart. I believe this is the first book out of at least 150 books I have read that, that did not happen once. Plus the love scene were like I have never read either. Talk about steamy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2002

    Very Well Written!

    This is the first book I've read by Lisa and I loved it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4