Customer Reviews for

Lady Sophie's Christmas Wish

Average Rating 4
( 154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

So far, the books are in this order: 1. Heir 2. Soldier 3. Virtuoso 4. Sophie. They are all excellent.

posted by AmandaZLinnea on November 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

WARNING to Grace Burrowes fans!

DO NOT read this before The Virtuoso! How was this story released before we know Val's story?!!!

posted by 4967834 on October 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Excellent

    So far, the books are in this order: 1. Heir 2. Soldier 3. Virtuoso 4. Sophie. They are all excellent.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    WARNING to Grace Burrowes fans!

    DO NOT read this before The Virtuoso! How was this story released before we know Val's story?!!!

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Just curious

    I keep seeing tirades about people writing plot spoiling reviews, some of them are really nasty. I can't help but wonder why the angry person writing the review of another reviewer can't just NOT read any of the long reviews. Just makes sense that if there is a long review it might reveal too much. I never read the long reviews. But a lot of people must because I read lots of short reviews that are not about the book but about another reviewer. Just saying I don't see why people get so upset over such petty things.

    14 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Grace Burrowes is a WONDERFUL author. I have enjoyed all of the companion books to this one - The Heir, The Solider, Virtuoso...Can't get enough of Ms. Burrowes books! This is a great romantic read.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Delightful

    A thoroughjy enjoyable book which alternately had me smiling, wishing I was Sophie so I could be with Vim or tearing uo-a must read!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Great easy read.

    I enjoyed this book, it is a good easy read historical. I would recommend it to people who like historical romances.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A fun read - mistaken identities, mutual desire for anonymity, refreshing innocence!

    A duke's daughter with a heart of gold, Sophie's grown up protected by privilege, wealth and her loving family. She's also a bit of soft touch. When their maid runs off leaving her baby with Lady Sophie at a stagecoach station, Sophie is at a loss. It's fortunate for her that the young Vim Charpentier knows quite a lot about babies and helps her. Sophie somehow invites him to her family London home and as he helps with the baby Kit, Sophie offers him shelter from the storm. Without having made arrangements for a place to stay in London, Vim agrees against his better judgment. He finds himself drawn to the mysterious Sophie who appears to be a trusted servant, possibly a housekeeper. As he teachers her how to care for the baby, they fall in love.

    Add to the mix a mutual desire for anonymity, a case of mistaken identities, lack of caution and judgment. Things take a turn when Sophie's three brothers appear and Vim learns her true identity. Though Vim has a title of his own, he never expected to woo a duke's daughter.

    Full of missed chances and misunderstandings, these star-crossed lovers make for a fun read.

    ISBN-10: 1402261543 - $7.99
    Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca (October 1, 2011), 416 pages.
    Review copy provided by the publisher.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    Heart-warming story and loveable characters!

    This story grabbed me from the very beginning with its unusual plot. I love all the adventures of the Windham family, but this story took me by surprise, the characters stole my heart and I couldn't put it down. As much as I loved The Heir, The Soldier, and The Vituouso, this first story about one of Their Grace's daughters is my favorite. I eagerly await another!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    It was good

    I like her other books better

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    Recommended but not her best.

    This story is part of a series I have thoroughly enjoyed. However, it came out before Virtuoso and seems to be out of order. It ties up things with the family so that when I read Virtuoso, about Val, I will expect him to be married and usually these stories are love stories and I'm sure, although I haven't read it yet, that Virtuoso is Val;s love story.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Loved it!!!

    Great read

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Highly Recommend!!!

    LOVE these books...have all on the brothers too...always excited for the next book to come out!!! MUST READ!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    I have not read this book yet, just purchased it.  According to

    I have not read this book yet, just purchased it.  According to FantasticFiction's web site, this is the first book of the Windham Sisters
    series.  1. Lady Sophie's Christmas Wish (2011)
                   2. Lady Maggie's Secret Scandal (2012)
                   3. Lady Louisa's Christmas Knight (2012)
                   4. Lady Eve's Indiscretion (2013)
                   5. Lady Jenny's Christmas Portrait (2013)
                       The Duke and His Duchess (2013)  (No number)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    I completely agree with "M" and totally disagree with

    I completely agree with "M" and totally disagree with "Just Curious". People shouldn't have to "not read the long reviews". These reviews are supposed to be about whether or not you would recommend the book; NOT to tell the entire story and completely ruin it for someone that hasn't read it yet. There's no point in me reading a book if you've already told me everything that's going to happen it. I wish there was a way to block the plot ruining posters.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Really good

    Loved this book

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    A Sweet Love Story.

    This is a great story and you will fall in love with Sophie and Vim.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    She does it again!

    I start reading each book thinking it can't possibly be as good as the last; but I think they are getting better! I have given each 5 stars so I don't how that can be! Each book is very character driven and you become immersed in their emotions and story. Another keeper!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Good

    This was a very good book so the heir is still my favorite!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    I ratw this a two because......

    I rate this a two out of five because first of all its too expensive i could buy this for $ 2.00 sencomd of all i like the book but its too expensive

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    A favorite Christmas book

    Burrowes developes full characters that you cannot help but like and care about. A complex,yet easy to relate to heroine and the handsome hero who does come to her rescue draw you into their story. I will re-read this Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 154 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8