Customer Reviews for

Lady Whistledown Strikes Back

Average Rating 3.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2004

    fun, sassy, and witty

    this latest anthology will leave you smiling, laughing, and crying all at the same time. The four heros need to be taught a lesson, and the four heroines are definitely up for the job! This book is better than the last and the time spent reading feels as though it wasn't enough

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2004

    Intriguing mystery, but not spicy enough

    I felt the authors focused too much on tying their stories together and not enough on the romance. That is, after all, what readers like me are looking for:-) It was not nearly spicy enough for me, and I thought the characters were just a bit too cliche. Maybe I read too much romance, making my expectations too high, but there should be some intense moments, and I couldn't find any here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2004

    A little disappointed...

    I expected great things from this anthology - but ultimately it was very uneven. Julia Quinn's story was much too sacchrine (the conflict was never much of a conflict), while Mia Ryan's story was just annoying (in my opinion it contained a hero that should have never been forgiven). I still gave the anthology 3 stars for Suzanne Enoch's and Karen Hawkin's stories. Romantic, fun, I loved Suzanne Enoch's very fast tale of opposites attracting and Karen Hawking's story of love winning over propriety (although a little less giggling from the heroine would have been good). All in all, given the current, sad state of historical romance I have to recommend it - just don't expect the usual jewel from Julia Quinn.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Wonderful Whistledown

    It was somuch fun to have more Whistledown. Quinn and others did a great job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Can't Read!

    I purchases this ebook and it is blank. When you open it, the book isn't there.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    delightful Regency romance anthology

    In 1816 Lady Whistledown provides society gossip to the delight of Regency romance readers as this quartet attains the high quality expected from the Ton¿s greatest snoop.<P> ¿The First Kiss¿ by Julia Quinn. Though Tillie Howard mourns the death of her brother Harry, her parents insist she attend Lady Neely¿s dinner party; Peter Thompson also is at the party. He was with Harry when he was killed on the battlefield. Their bereavement leads to mutual comforting and ultimately love, but both feel guilty that they live while Harry died.<P> ¿The Last Temptation¿ by Mia Ryan. Suspicion falls on Lady Neeley¿s thirty year old companion Isabella Martin for the missing bracelet though she has loyally served for a decade. Quickly exonerated, Isabella has come to the attention of Anthony Doring. He provides her first kiss and realizes he wants to provide a lifetime of all her kisses, but she is beneath him.<P> ¿The Best of Both Worlds¿ by Suzanne Enoch. Charlotte Birling loves Xavier Mason, but he does not know she exists though she stealthily takes loving glances at him whenever she can. At a party, he first hears her voice and that excites him. When he sees Charlotte the Earl knows he wants her. As they fall in love, her mother refuses to allow a man about the town to court her daughter.<P> ¿¿The Only One for Me¿ by Karen Hawkins. Twelve years ago Max Throckmorton married Sophia, but a scandal over cheating cards sent the Earl to the continent. Sophia now plans to marry Riddleton, but needs her marriage to Max annulled. However, Max is back and wants Sophia whom he still loves.<P> Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2