Customer Reviews for

Lady and Sons: Savannah Country Cookbook

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Love this cookbook!!!

This is a great cookbook!!! Easy to follow directions, some great taste treats can be found here! I have ejoyed each and every recipe I have made and everyone is always pleased with the outcome!!!!! I would highly recommend this book and if you get the chance, visit ...
This is a great cookbook!!! Easy to follow directions, some great taste treats can be found here! I have ejoyed each and every recipe I have made and everyone is always pleased with the outcome!!!!! I would highly recommend this book and if you get the chance, visit the restaurant in Savannah, you will not be disappointed!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on November 9, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Too plain...

Maybe it's just me, but every cookbook should have at least some photographs of prepared meals. This one has NONE, and it was very dissapointing to see Paula create a cookbook with no photos of her great meals. Don't get me wrong - I love the personality of this woman a...
Maybe it's just me, but every cookbook should have at least some photographs of prepared meals. This one has NONE, and it was very dissapointing to see Paula create a cookbook with no photos of her great meals. Don't get me wrong - I love the personality of this woman and I love to watch her shows. However, this cookbook has done nothing for me but created dissapointment. If I see a photo of a great looking meal, it makes me want to prepare that meal, but when I have a plain receipe staring at my face, that's intimidating...

posted by Anonymous on December 30, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2005

    Too plain...

    Maybe it's just me, but every cookbook should have at least some photographs of prepared meals. This one has NONE, and it was very dissapointing to see Paula create a cookbook with no photos of her great meals. Don't get me wrong - I love the personality of this woman and I love to watch her shows. However, this cookbook has done nothing for me but created dissapointment. If I see a photo of a great looking meal, it makes me want to prepare that meal, but when I have a plain receipe staring at my face, that's intimidating...

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2005

    like being a child again

    I have had the pleasure of both receiving this cookbook as a gift, and later eating at Paula's place in Savannah. Her food is the epitome of Southern cooking. It's simple, yet rich. I found several recipes that were identical to ones that my late grandmomma took to her grave. Eating her food, whether at home or at her laid-back eatery in Savannah makes me feel like I am a child again in South Carolina, eating my grandmomma's hoe cakes and butter beans, or Aunt Nita's greens and cakes. Thanks for the trip back, Paula!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2001

    Love this cookbook!!!

    This is a great cookbook!!! Easy to follow directions, some great taste treats can be found here! I have ejoyed each and every recipe I have made and everyone is always pleased with the outcome!!!!! I would highly recommend this book and if you get the chance, visit the restaurant in Savannah, you will not be disappointed!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2001

    True Savannah Southern Cooking

    As a Savannah native, I grew up eatting some of the best cooking including a great deal of the receipes in this book. Paula Deen, who is a fantastic lady if you ever get to meet her, has captured the best of Savannah and the Low Country cooking in this book. If you are ever in the Savannah area, you need to go to Paula's restaurant in City Market. It is some of the best cooking you will ever have!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2007

    Simply Divine

    This book offers wonderful recipes for the easy, down-home-delicious cooking that my family and I love. I'm proud to add this cookbook to my collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2006

    Lady & Sons: Savannah Country Cookbook

    The book is filled with good honest southern dishes. Reminds me of country cooking from the midwest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2004

    A MUST HAVE

    I have never been inclined to write a review until now. I have all of 'Lady and Sons'. They are, by far, the best cookbooks EVER! I have tried many of the recipies and they all have been wonderful. The Snickers Pie is only one of my favorites. If you are looking for a cookbook that has the best homestyle cooking, you will find it here. Definetly a must have on your shelf!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2004

    Cooking is fun--again!!

    My goodness...I never enjoyed cooking so much until I bought this cookbook. The first time I saw her was on Food Network! This is a must-have for your cookbook collection. I had a lot of fun preparing the food and the reward is eating it too! Yummy!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2004

    Wow! Recipes that you can really use.

    This is the best cookbook I have found in a long time. I love all the hints and the tips in the back of the book. Paula is a true Southerner. The recipes are easy to follow. I have made 5 dishes so far and they have all turned out wonderful. Keep write'em and we'll keep buyin'em.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2003

    An Awesome Cookbook

    This cookbook is simply divine. I love the bio about the author and she does everything with syle and grace. Her shows on Food Network are just the icing on the cake. Her food has flavor,texture and taste as well as eye appeal.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2003

    Great recipes and a good read

    If you like food and Savannah, you'll love this one! So fine, it's not gourmet...who cares. It's yummy-sounding recipes for the way most of America cooks.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2000

    Superb Cooking

    Loved the cookbook. It was a gift from my mother. The ingredients are not strange and hard to find. The dishes are something the whole family can enjoy, including my four year old. The recipes cover a wide variety from everyday cooking, to great guy snacks to fancy dinners.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    RE: Ebook

    Not happy because the index page numbers do not correlate with the page numbers and there is a reference to some recipes in the content that are not even in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    Easy Peasy Ya'll

    This cookbook lets me make good food that impresses everyone I serve AND the recipes are so simple you will kick yourself for not cooking this way sooner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    The Lady's Chicken Noodle Soup

    We love The Lady's Chicken Noodle Soup! We were fortunate enough to visit The Lady & Sons restaurant in Savannah, where I purchased my first Paula Deen cookbook. I liked it so much, I picked up The Lady & Sons Savannah Country Cookbook as a wedding gift for a friend. The bride told me she is very excited to try some of the recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    One of my favorite cookbooks!

    I purchased this book as a gift for the mother of a visiting British friend because I wanted to give her something "American". This book exemplified American home cooking at its best without a lot of fuss. We have several favorite family recipes including Jamie's Chicken Salad, Black Bean Salsa and Broccoli Salad. I still have so many I want to try! A must for a cook's library!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2006

    Lady & Sons: Savannah Country Cookbook

    Although alot of the recipes are high in fat, the food is good if eaten on occassion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2