Customer Reviews for

The Lady in Gold: The Extraordinary Tale of Gustav Klimt's Masterpiece, Portrait of Adele Bloch-Bauer

Average Rating 3.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Thank you for stocking this excellent book!

Thank you for stocking this excellent book!

posted by 11101310 on March 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

a bit long

interesting as far as to the historical background of Vienna, its culture, artists, Nazi occupation and persecution of the Jews and theft of their art works. A bit too long

posted by 5196438 on March 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    a bit long

    interesting as far as to the historical background of Vienna, its culture, artists, Nazi occupation and persecution of the Jews and theft of their art works. A bit too long

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    recommended

    this is a good example of life in vienna. wealth, culture,arts and the looming nazi takeover. it gives a human element to a spectacular painting and how life intertwines with it.. so many people were connected. the final outcome is good and we can hope that the future outcome of stolen treasures will benefit the true owners of these masterpieces. loved it!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Thank you for stocking this excellent book!

    Thank you for stocking this excellent book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    The scholarship of MS O'Connor is evident from the first page to

    The scholarship of MS O'Connor is evident from the first page to the last.  "Lady In Gold,"  gives an excellent portrait of time and place.
     A reader is swept along in the descriptions of the lifestyle of pre-WW2 Vienna, and the salons of the elegant Adele Bloch-Bauer.
    Among the guests present would be famous authors,  including, Mark Twain.  And artists, such as Gustav Klimt.

    "The "Lady In Gold' refers to a painting of Adele Bloch-Bauer by Klimt.  "The lady In Gold"  takes on a life of its own when it is stolen by the
     Nazis.  As the painting's subject and creator are swept along by history, it is the painting that becomes most important.

    Adele's niece, Maria Bloch-Bauer fought Austria for decades, to have five paintings returned to the Bloch- Bauer family.  Among the  paintings was "The Lady In Gold"                                                  
    The recovery of the paintings brings us up to the present day .        

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Absolutely brilliant!  I love the historic research and the hist

    Absolutely brilliant!  I love the historic research and the history that belonged to that ERA.  Wonderfully written.  We read the book as part of our book club selection .  The timing was perfect.  Once again today more of these Masterpieces were found hiding in someone hanging in  another home that had no right to the paintings.  For same on all who knowingly stored these pictures on there walls. The history background of this story is extremely important.  I loved every minute of the book.    

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Wonderful read!

    Finally an author that writes above a high school leval.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Terrible

    Was like reading a history book and not in any way entertaining was a waste of money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    As a book club member, I often find it helpful when a revier or

    As a book club member, I often find it helpful when a revier or report on the book includes study/discussion questions. It seems these are missing in this case. Maybe somebody could offer a few to stimulate discussion sessions for the reader(s). mable-in-lagro+st.pete

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    My Mom & Grandmother were from Vienna I had higher hopes fo

    My Mom & Grandmother were from Vienna I had higher hopes for this book - while very historical and factual, the author chooses to color the narrative and dialogue between Klimt & the characters as if she were present when they were alive! Seriously? Investigative, newspaper columnists should stick to that genre of writing - it doesn't translate to historical events. The book was interesting - but more because my family hails from Vienna & I wanted to kn0w me about that period of time. The book was too long - could definately have been condensed -= I skipped over paragraphs & paragraphs - and still found that it dragged

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Boring

    This book had potential. The terrible history behind the famous Klimt painting could have made for an important and interesting contribution to the many books concerning the Nazi era. However, the way this book is narrated kept me from getting into the the story as it was very dry with too much attention to the little insignificant details. It was highly reviewed by critics and I respect that, however, I found it boring and very draggy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    never got the book

    The order was canceled and never got the book

    0 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1