Customer Reviews for

Lady in Waiting: Becoming God's Best While Waiting for Mr. Right

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

An inspiration for Singles

Someone sowed into my life and brought me this book since I recently had a disire to be married. As a result, through prayer, my life has been changing to be the woman God desires me to be. Unknowingly, my friend noticed my changes and was inspired by the changes that ...
Someone sowed into my life and brought me this book since I recently had a disire to be married. As a result, through prayer, my life has been changing to be the woman God desires me to be. Unknowingly, my friend noticed my changes and was inspired by the changes that I have made to be ready for the once that God desires for me. She was at B&N and saw this book and thought that it would be great for me. This book validated a lot of what I was already doing right, made sense of some things that I did not understand, gave me comfort in areas that I was beginning to be insecure about and gave me validation that when the time is ready - God will provide. God will provide someone to COMPLIMENT me and not COMPLETE me. If you are single and desires to find the right guy and be in a place where you will be a GREAT CATCH FROM GOD, get this book. You will be blessed by it!! Thanks TY!!

posted by Anonymous on June 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Dont buy this book!

I was very disappointed with this book. It is written by two women that have been married for some time and have absolutely no experience in being single. They use widowed Ruth as the comparison for being single throughout the entire book. If I could I would get a re...
I was very disappointed with this book. It is written by two women that have been married for some time and have absolutely no experience in being single. They use widowed Ruth as the comparison for being single throughout the entire book. If I could I would get a refund!!!

posted by 883797 on January 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    Loved it!!

    After a LOONGGG string of bad relationships I decided to look to the Lord and found this book. Very good and easy read and helped to put lots of things in my life in prospective. And shortly after finishing the book, the most wonderful man ever found me!!! My best friend has been struggling with relationships lately and I'm going to buy her a copy of this for her birthday. And I think I'm going to re-read to remain focused!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome book for any single lady in waiting

    Very encouraging book for those single ladies that are waiting on the Lord. Allows you to examine your motives along with refocuses your view onto the Lord and knowing that He is the only one to complete you. Lot of thought provoking statements throughout the text. Great gift giving also!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    An inspiration for Singles

    Someone sowed into my life and brought me this book since I recently had a disire to be married. As a result, through prayer, my life has been changing to be the woman God desires me to be. Unknowingly, my friend noticed my changes and was inspired by the changes that I have made to be ready for the once that God desires for me. She was at B&N and saw this book and thought that it would be great for me. This book validated a lot of what I was already doing right, made sense of some things that I did not understand, gave me comfort in areas that I was beginning to be insecure about and gave me validation that when the time is ready - God will provide. God will provide someone to COMPLIMENT me and not COMPLETE me. If you are single and desires to find the right guy and be in a place where you will be a GREAT CATCH FROM GOD, get this book. You will be blessed by it!! Thanks TY!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Building Relationships and Finding Fulfillment through Abandonme

    Building Relationships and Finding Fulfillment through Abandonment to the Lordship of Christ

    The unique feature of this newly revised edition of “Lady in Waiting” is the focus on finding fulfillment for the longing of the heart through a relationship with Jesus and developing the ten qualities of a godly woman found in the book of Ruth. Jackie Kendall and Debby Jones collaborate in an intricate balance of instruction, interactive study, devotional inspiration, and motivational story illustrations. The book is divided into four sections.

    Part one is made up of ten chapters. Each chapter includes Biblical instruction, practical illustrations, and profound questions for reflection. The reader is directed to take action steps or guidelines for personal application and assimilation. Part two provides an interactive study guide for group or individual use, taking the reader to a deeper level of understanding and application. Part three contains daily devotional thoughts gleaned from the classical writings of well know women including: Madame Jeanne Guyon, Mother Teresa, Susanna Wesley, Hanna Whitall Smith, and many others.

    Part four includes a wonderful compilation of seventy-seven poignant, unforgettable short stories from real life. Each story is designed to stimulate reflection and personal application.

    “Lady in Waiting” is relevant for women in all walks of life. It is a guide and a guard for the single woman, a marriage support for the married woman, and a comfort for the widowed or divorced woman. Encouraging, motivating, and inspirational – Highly recommended.

    A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own. As reviewed for Midwest Book Review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Life Changing!

    Lady in Waiting has opened my eyes to the beauty of being single and the complications of marriage if you do not prepare yourself while married. This book has blessed my life to appreciate my life now and work on my relationship with God. This book showed me that is okay with desiring to be married but no to the point that it effects my relationship with God. I recommend this book for anyone who feels pressure to get married or who feels like their life will be complete once they are married.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2009

    Dont buy this book!

    I was very disappointed with this book. It is written by two women that have been married for some time and have absolutely no experience in being single. They use widowed Ruth as the comparison for being single throughout the entire book. If I could I would get a refund!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    Recommend reading

    If you are looking for your Boaz but keep ending up with Bozo,then you need to read this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Highly recommended!

    This is a great book! I can relate to it and has been a blessing to my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    Recommended

    A great book about how to be a women of god instead of worry about getting a date . I love that at the end of each chapter it has questions to help you think threw what you just read . It even have story from the bible that go along with what your reading . Very Inspiring Book !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Encouraging

    I am 40 and single. I usually cannot stomach these kinds of books. This is a rare exception. Very encouraging. Full of balance.....hope and wisdom. I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2