Customer Reviews for

Lady in Waiting

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Excellent Christian/Historical Fiction Book!

    The story focuses on two main characters: Jane Lindsay, who is an antiques shop owner and is recently separated from her husband; and Lady Jane Grey, a young woman whose marriage and fate is determined by those around her. Susan weaves both their stories together, as an old ring brings them together and for a purpose. Susan's writing allows the reader to become immersed in each of their own stories and allows these central characters ample opportunity to share their journey with us, while also bringing closure to the mystery of the ruby ring.

    Through their journey, both Jane's come to realize that they still have a voice and are in charge of their own destiny. Throughout the story, both Jane's gain inner strength and a deeper faith. While Lady Jane Grey is ultimately executed, as history reports, Susan brings to life this woman who in the end did not compromise her values. Jane Lindsay, through a series of events and discussions with her therapist, family, and friends, realizes that she is ultimately in charge of her own happiness and also can decide the fate of her marriage. While I will not give away her ending, I will note that Susan doesn't tie everything in a sweet little bow for readers. This allows the reader to imagine what her decision is and the course of her own happiness.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves historical fiction, Christian fiction, and enjoys reading about self-empowerment for women and their relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    Overall, a good read and I'll definitely add her other books to my "to read" list.

    Jane Lindsay manages an antique shop in Manchester, New York. She had thought her life was going fine until her husband tells her he's taken a job in New Hampshire.without her. He says he needs some space and some time to think. Jane struggles to understand why her husband left and what she's to do with her life without him in it. She comes across a ring among some things to sell in her store. But this isn't just any ring. It's several hundred years old and she believes it might have belonged to Lady Jane Grey. What makes the ring even more interesting is that the name "Jane" is inscribed inside it. Can she and her husband work things out? And who did the ring really belong to?

    I've not read any other books by Meissner so I wasn't sure what to expect. However, I enjoyed the book. I liked how she switched from telling Jane Lindsay's story to the story of the ring and then back again. I was a little disappointed that more wasn't said as to Jane's marriage. It ends on the note that they will work things out but I would have liked more concrete proof of that - I like happy endings. Overall, a good read and I'll definitely add her other books to my "to read" list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    I had expected it to be a typical novel about the unsung people of the Tudor Era. While it is in theory it is about personal relationships in the past and in the present. I love how the story is intertwined between present day Manhattan and the England of the past. Jane had the opportunity to do what she had always wanted and needed to do but was never given the opportunity to in the past.
    I really enjoy this book and have recommended it to my friends to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    LOVED THIS

    I would love to share an awesome book that I was privlidged to read when I was iced in during the blizzaster last month. Lady in Waiting by Susan Meissner happened to be one of the best things about being cut off from the rest of the world and locked in my dorm. It was soo good. I couldn't put it down. I was a little sketchy about it at first, because it is a romance novel and it has a historical background, and there is nothing I hate more in the world than historical fiction that isn't all that historical and is based on "imaginary" facts. Here I was plesently suprised. The entire novel isn't set in 16th century Britain, half of it is set in present day Manhattan. The book alternates chapters between a forty something year old antique dealer, Jane, who is going through a marital crisis and is trying to piece together what has happened to her and a young seamstress, Lucy, who is a dressmaker to a noble family hoping to marry their daughter with the king. Both are going through some major trials in their lives and are trying to grow and learn from them. When Jane finds an antique ring embedded in an old prayerbook she begins a journey of discovering the mystery of the ring and discovering a little bit more about herself as well. Like I said, I'm not a huge romance nut, but I finished this book in less than a day and it wasn't overwhelmingly romantic or sleazy or anything like that. It was a good light romantic and historical read. It was really intriguing to see how the two different stories interweaved together even though they were centuries apart. I would highly reccomend this book and if any of Susan Meissner's other books are half as good as this one, I would definitely reccomend them as well. I know that I've personally inter-library loaned them in and I'm sure I won't be disappointed. Well that about does it for this lovely little book rant :) I enjoyed this book a great deal and I hope that someone else gets as much enjoyment out of it as I did as well. I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lady In Waiting

    This is the story of two women, both named Jane. One is in the modern day, a woman whose husband has just left her. Through her job running an antique store, she finds an old ring with an inscription in Latin...and her name. The ring belonged (obviously) to the other Jane, Lady Jane Grey. The book weaves their stories together, two women who are more or less at the mercy of circumstances and not in charge of their own lives.

    It's understandable that Lady Jane Grey wasn't in control of her life. She was a teenager in the 16th century and, as such, little better than property for her father to do with as he liked. It's a little sadder for modern-day Jane, because she really shouldn't be as adrift as she is. (Her husband tells her he's not sure he wants to be married anymore and she basically waits to figure out what he wants to do.)

    Does it sound like I didn't like the book? I did, very much. I don't agree with current Jane's life choices, but I liked her very much anyway. And Lady Jane? I completely loved her.

    Lady Jane is obviously a real person* and her story was incredibly moving.

    * = I'm not well-versed in British history, or I would've known before reading this everything that happened to her. I think this book is worth reading just for that! ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nice juxtaposition of past and present

    An author compared to Barbara Kingsolver and recommended by Jane Kirkpatrick has to be worth reading. And Susan Meissner's Lady in Waiting was a lovely introduction to both author and writing. The story takes place in the present day world of Jane Lindsay, and the sixteenth-century world of Lady Jane Grey-the Nine Days' Queen. Mrs. Lindsay wonders how much of her life is worth putting back together when her husband leaves her. She runs an antique shop and her mother tries to tell her what to do-mend the clock that stopped when its owner died; fight for the marriage that may or may not have failed. Meanwhile Lady Jane Gray is observed through the eyes of a servant girl, one who sees how little her mistress's life is under her own control, and how much the rich and successful have to lose.
    Of course, we in our modern worlds control far less than we think. We're pushed by duty and the need for security. We imagine how things might have been while wearing our rose-colored spectacles, while forgetting that true relationships require work to make them work.
    The clock doesn't tick and the spouses don't talk. Lady Jane rejoices in the promise of hope then persists in the face of disaster, watched by her faithful friend. Perhaps it's not what happens that defines us so much as how we face what happens. And perhaps the lessons learned by both Janes are as valuable to the reader as the beautiful ring they share.
    The story, shaped around a ring, comes full circle at the end. Time ticks through the centuries in a sequence of letters, cleverly uniting past and present as reader and character step back into the worlds where we belong.
    Lady in Waiting is a cleverly constructed story, with a nicely chosen title. We wait. We hope. And sometimes, once in a while, we learn to act. There's a gentle grace and a quiet faith behind this tale, but most of all there's real people, real history and real hope.

    Disclosure: I got this book from Waterbrook Press's Blogging for Books website in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Two Janes

    Jane Lindsay is heartbroken as she watches Brad, her husband of twenty two years, walk out the door of their Manhattan apartment. Devastated and confused, she wonders how their marriage got to this point. How does one make sense of something they didn't see coming? Jane doesn't know, and is clueless as to what to do next.

    Feeling as though she has no rudder, she stumbles through her days at her antique shop. One day is brightened slightly when she finds an old ring under the cover of a 16th century prayer book. Intrigued, she launches a search to find its origin. She feels a connection with the mysterious owner, for the name engraved on the inside of the ring belongs to her as well. Jane.

    Rewind the calendar to 1548, and we find an equally distraught young English girl by the name of Lady Jane Grey. At eleven years of age, she is the chief mourner at the funeral of her friend, Queen Katherine. The little Lady is not only grieving the Queen, but saddened that Katherine's infant daughter will never know her mother. Politics and family circumstances dictate that Jane's slight frame bear more than it should.

    Tutors and higher learning fill the young Lady's days. Jane's desire is to have the approval and affection of her mother, but knows it will never happen. In time the young Edward Seymour grows fond of Jane, and she of him. He bestows her with a secret gift as a promise for their future.

    Both Janes struggle to find their purpose and the answers they long for. Our modern Jane relies on her friend Molly for a listening ear, the Lady Jane, her seamstress Lucy. Only our modern Jane, though, has the privilege of knowing how they might be connected. Do they experience life's hard lessons? Yes. Do they grow and change? Perhaps.

    I read Ms. Meissner's book, The Shape of Mercy and enjoyed it so much that I knew I had to read Lady in Waiting. She has a gift for taking two people, who are outwardly unrelated, and linking them together through the bonds of hidden similarities and challenges. There's much to be said for the ties of kindred spirits and the stories that lie within. Ms. Meissner's storytelling ability is wonderful and I hope that she continues writng this way. I, for one, am a big fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Satisfying Read

    This novel tells the tale of two women who share the same first name and how their lives unknowingly connected.
    Jane Lindsey resides in upper west Manhattan, she has been married for 22 years, she has one college aged son and she is the owner of an antique shop.
    Lady Jane Gray resides in England during the year 1548. She is 11 years of age. She is fourth in line to the throne.
    The story begins with the tale of the contemporary Jane. It's the month of Feb. Jane and her husband is sitting in the kitchen. Her husband informs her that he has taken a new job in another state and that he will be moving out. Jane is devastated. Her husband wants them to re-evaluate their marriage because he dose'nt want to continue the marriage as it is. Jane is devastated. As she try to figure out what with wrong in her marriage and why she had not seen any signs that her husband what not happy she try to continue her regular home routines. At the antique shop, Jane's English friend sends her some boxes that are full of items of interest for the store. In one of the boxes Jane notice a smaller box that is locked. Jane unlocks it and finds a prayer book inside. Within the prayer book hidden was a small distinguished crafted ring inset with rubies and diamond. Jane notice the ring has an inscription written in another language however she recognized one word. 'Jane', It bearred her name. Jane instantly became intrigued with the ring and desired to know its origin.

    Lady Jane Gray story is narrated by Lucy her seamstress and confidant. Lucy was sent to design and sew dresses for Lady Jane. Lady Jane days are filled with studies and preparation as a Lady in waiting for her parents are seeking her betrothal. Lucy and Lady Jane become very close friends. Lucy is older than Lady Jane and may have served as an older sister figure to her also. Lady Jane has eyed a young man whom she wishes to be betrothal to for she is attracted to him and she feels he is to her also since she caught him admiring her while in attendance at a dining party. Later she finds that her wish comes true. She will be betrothal to the one her hearts wishes for. Meanwhile Lady Jane also finds a man of her heart. They share secrets and makes plans. While in the garden Lady Jane and her future husband are making acquaintance and he gives her a ring. No one ever knew of this except Lucy.

    Does Jane Lindsey find the reason her husband left her. Was it another woman even though he says it wasn't? Why is the son so upset and who is Dana? Did her marriage reconcile?
    Lucy names her daughter after Lady Jane. Lucy decides to share with her daughter the wonderful heartfelt story of her name sake and the ring. Why does Lucy have the ring? How did the ring get to America four centuries later? What connection will Jane Lindsey find out about the ring? It is more than their names that connect them?

    I don't read many historical books of any nature however after reading this one I shall look for others by the author. I most enjoyed how the life of an aristocratic historical figure and a contemporary middle class fictional figure was integrated into a wonderful entertaining novel. I was so fond of them both. However the historical Jane story was much heartfelt for me. I especially enjoyed the character of Lucy. She was a very patient and compassionate woman. She was indeed exactly what the character of Lady Jane needed. The ending was not how I expected it to end, that is

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    Great story!

    When I first received the book "Lady in Waiting" I was hesitant to being it. I had recently finished a heart-pounding thriller of a book and found myself looking at this book and wishing I'd chosen something with a little more action. I was pleasantly surprised by how well the book held my attention and kept me interested in finding out how each piece of these two women's lives wove together. I will admit that a story tying the present tense to the medieval time period wasn't my first choice, but I thoroughly enjoyed the way the author painted the picture of each time period and described the women's lives in such vivid detail. As I was being taken on a journey through two completely different lives, I found myself feeling the emotions that each of these women were battling with - the angst about the unknown, the "waiting" and the sadness and mourning they that they both were forced to endure through recent events in their lives. Meissner did a fantastic job of weaving similar emotions through both stories, even though times, circumstances and virtually everything else was vastly different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Interesting Story of Two Janes

    This was my first time to read one of Meissner's books. I generally enjoy historical fiction. This book has parallel storylines. It follows two characters, both named Jane, linked together by a special piece of jewelry. One Jane lives in modern day Manhattan and the other Jane lives in 16th century England. Transitions between the story lines are seamless and the reader is eager to find out what is happening with each Jane. Sixteenth century Jane's story is told through the eyes of a personal servant. Modern Jane tells her own story of self discovery.

    The story was very well thought out and entertaining. There was one spot near the beginning of sixteenth century Jane's story that the narrative dragged a bit. After that point, I didn't notice any more problems with the narrative. I found it flowed nicely. The inderlying theme of self discovery was intriging and would appeal to a wide variety of audiences. This book compelled me read up a bit on a little known Tutor monarch. I would reccommend this book to anyone. It was a light, relaxing read that allowed me to take some time to escape into the worlds of the two Janes.

    "I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2011

    What a read between two settings!

    I have always loved books that were written as the setting in the sixteenth-century. As I read, I always read at night after everyone has gone to bed and I stay up too late! I got drawn into this book with it's twist on the now a days setting. Both Jane's stories tugged at my heart. Hoping that I don't get to "comfortable" in my marriage with my dear husband. As well as hoping that as I'm a mother of dear daughter not wanting my little girls life to be "ran" for her and have her make her own choices. I have chosen to answer some of the questions in the back of the book for you to get a different idea of the way I feel about the book.
    "In the end, Jane decides to stand by Brad during his crisis. What do you think of her decision?" Jane chose from her heart, although first she had to find it because of all the people she was trying to please; such as her parents, her husband, her family, etc. She decided that she had to try more things that she grew to like and that her husband liked as well. I dare to say that I would make the decision to stand by my husband through thick and thin (isn't that what my wedding vow said.).
    "What do you think Lucy Day's strengths were? Why do you think she gave personality traits to the dresses in Jane's wardrobe?" Lucy Day strength's include a great listener, a great friend, and a great seamstress, amongst other things. She wanted Lady Jane's wardrobe to look as though Lady Jane was older than what she was. When Lady Jane wore the dresses that Lucy made for her she got compliments. Lucy wanted to give Lady Jane some joy & happiness in the dresses that she wore.
    "If you had lived during the sixteenth century, would you have wanted to be a commoner, a noble, or a royal? Why? Oh, I have 2 answers to this question...I would love to be a noble and have the joys of going to court when called upon as well as the wonders of having money and dresses made for me. Although I wouldn't have a chance to marry for love and being told whom I needed to marry for my "social or political standing." This is why I have decided that I would like to be a commoner...to do something I was good at for a job until I found the person whom was my true love to marry and than find a life at home. Even if it would be a way were I was living from pay check to pay check or being torn apart from my family as a young person so I could earn money. Yes I would choose a commoner in the sixteenth century.
    So here is a review...
    I enjoyed reading this book and it captivated me at once.
    The touch between now-a-days setting to sixteenth-century is divine.
    The characters where wholesome and full of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    good historical vs. present day

    My Thoughts
    I was drawn to this book from seeing the cover and then even further by the book jacket summary. I love history and stories that are historical accurate, even if they include some fiction. I have read other books that do not flip well between current day and historical times well. I am please to report that this book was a great balance between the two. Just when you got into the story line with one person it flipped and we got to learn more about the other Jane. This really made the story work.

    Lady Jane's Story

    I really enjoyed that these parts of this story were written not from Lady Jane's perspective rather her seamstress Lucy. This made for a interesting view of what was going on in not only Lady Jane's life but those in the world around her and how others were affected by the times. From this point of view, we see how little things changed this young women's (I had not realize how young) life for better and for worse. I loved the historical accuracy of this story line, but also thoroughly enjoyed the fiction written in to make the story work. I loved trying to figure out what was going to happen to the ring.

    Present Day Jane's Story

    Like so many women in today's culture, her husband announces one day that he has taken a job out of state and need a "break". Jane is heart broken and not willing to share her pain with anyone other than her best friend. Jane owns an antique store that once was her Aunt. In a package, Jane discovers few hundred year old Book Of Common Prayer and in its binding a ring. She is drawn to the ring because it has her name inscribe in it. After some research, could it be Lady Jane Grey's ring? In the process of trying to save her marriage, she realizes that she must first make herself happy. The top of this list is discovering if this ring really is Lady Jane's? Will she figure out the mystery and can she save her marriage?

    I thought at first that I was going to be drawn mostly to the historical end of this story but about midway through the book, that changed. I felt like I could understand present day Jane so much better. I felt sad for her and wanted the best for her. I enjoyed seeing how these two stories played together. My favorite part of the entire book however is the very end which has letters tracking the history of the beautiful ring.


    My Rating
    4 of 5 stars - This is a good read especially if you enjoy history!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Such a sweet story!

    In present day, Jane is blindsided by her husband of 22 years walking out on their marriage. Then she finds an old ring in the binding of a book, which ties her story to that of Lady Jane Grey in the 16th century.


    This book goes back and forth between Jane's struggle with finding herself to Lady Jane's history.


    I wasn't sure how I was going to like this at first, but by the second time the story switched points of view and settings, I was hooked on both of the stories.


    Historical fiction is almost always a hit with me and when you add in love stories, I definitely enjoyed this book.


    I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. All opinons are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    Beautiful Story

    LADY IN WAITING


    When Jane Lindsay's husband, Brad, leaves her, she agrees to go to work in her aunts antique shop. When a shipment of ancient articles arrive, Jane discovers a beautiful ring with an inscription in Latin and the name Jane.

    This is the first book I have read by this author, and I found it truly amazing. Susan Meissner is a brilliant writer who kept me curious from the first chapter. I am very busy throughout the day with a hectic life and a very busy schedule but I still found time to pick up this book and read a few pages here and there, and looked for any spare minute to read some more. Susan's books are a delight to read. I don't normally read Christian books but being this was the first and she has set me on a path that makes this book not the last. Thanks Susan.


    Do you enjoy history, suspense, with a love story? Lady In Waiting by Susan Meissner is the perfect book for you. I recommend it to anyone who is a fan of her books and anyone who is intrigued by British history.


    MY View Point.

    Jane Lindsay comes across a very old box and buys the box of antiques from a British jumble sale. Inside the box she finds a very old prayer book and a lovely ring hidden away inside. It seems very strange to her that her name engraved inside the band. She begins to track down the history of the ring, and in the process she will learn something about herself. The book takes her on a journey back to the late 16th Century as she discovers Lucy, a seamstress for Lady Jane Grey, and relates how she came to work for Lady Jane and became a confidante to her.
    *****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
    The ring ties both stories together with a inscription that Jane only finds meaning to one word...."Vulnerasti cor meum, soror mea, sponsa." Jane

    I had a difficult time reading the portions of Lucy's story that included the various people of 16th century British nobility that I had to keep straight in my head. I couldn't follow who was who with titles of dukes, duchess, and so on. I had no clue of who was who. It's really hard to keep strait when one jumps around.

    The story really picked up pace for me about half of the way in with Lady Jane's life. I also think its because I was able to sit and read for a while. History not being one of my subjects, I had no Idea of the story of Lady Jane. It drew me in and kept me till the very end.

    I got this book free for my review at
    waterbrookmultnomah for blogging for books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    check this one out if you love historical fiction

    Jane Lindsey is operates an antique shop that belongs to her aunt, that is unable to run it any longer. Her husband Brad decided to take a job out of town and just wants to be on his own for a while. Their son Conner is in college, so Jane is by herself. She has a friend in the UK that looks for estate sales and ships them to Jane and Jane does like wise as her friends runs a store for vintage clothing.

    Jane received some boxes that had seen better days but when she got into them she found a little locked box and inside it was a prayer book that dated back in the 1600s, as she was looking at it she found lump and took her knife and carefully got it out of the binding of the book and it was a beautiful ring that had little jewels on the ring. on the inside was an inscription written in a language that Jane could not read but she could read her name "Jane" inscribed on the ring. That really got her interest to try and find out where the ring came from and who had it belonged too.


    Meanwhile the story is told in two different eras, the one Jane is in is present day then the other is in England in the mid 1500s. This is the part that tells the story of Lady Jane Gray as she was growing up and Lucy her maid that did all of the little girls sewing and was with her through out the rest of her short life.


    A very good story and the way Susan weaved the two eras together is remarkable.


    This book was sent to me for review from Blogging for Books, with no cost to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    A COMPLEX,COMPELLING STORY OF LOVE,FAITH AND DISAPPOINTMENT BETWEEN TWO JANES,ONE IN THE PRESENT AND ONE IN THE PAST!

    LADY IN WAITING by Susan Meissner is a complex inspirational contemporary historical romance set in present day Manhatten and 1548 England. It is well written with depth,details,facts,history and inter weaves the present with the past.The writting is flawless and flows easy between the two different time lines. It is a story of two Janes,one in present Manhatten,the other, in sixteenth century England. It has love, faith, betrayal, sacrifice,it is full of history,facts,renewing relationships,the journey of one ring,influence over one's life,the choices they make,hope, disappointment and the power of standing up for what you believe is right. This is a complex,compelling story of two different women during two different eras with heartwretching detail. If you enjoy historical,inspirational and contemporary romances you will enjoy this one. This author has done it again with great detail and flawless plot. It will keep you on the each of your seat, with tissues for the sacrifice, Jane in past has to endure.This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at WaterBrook Multnomah, an division of Random House,Inc. and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Interesting Tale

    Paralleling the lives of Lady Jane Grey and a modern day Jane facing a midlife crisis, this novel provides an entertaining story centered around a betrothal ring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    If you love TUDOR history You will LOVE This

    I'm a sucker for historical fiction especially if it has anything to do with the Tudor family, so when this novel arrived from Multnomah I was very happy to brew a cup of tea, sit down with my cat and delve into a new world.

    However Lady in Waiting: A Novel by Susan Meissner is not your typical historical novel. It actually begins in modern day Manhattan. Antique Dealer, Jane Lindsey, discovers a ring hidden in the binding of a 400 year old book that was purchased through a jumble sale and in her quest to find the story of the ring, she also walks through her own quest to discover why her husband decided to go through a separation from her.

    The second story that alternates through the novel deals with Lady Jane Grey. She is perhaps the least known Queen's of England, having only reigned for 9 days. The story of Jane Grey is told through the eyes of her dressmaker Lucy Day and over the span of 5 years.

    While both these intertwining stories are fiction and the author, in her Author's Note, makes the reader aware of the liberties that were taken in reference to Lady Jane Grey, there is some measure of truth and historical fact. Meissner does her best not to embellish and gloss over the brutality of the Tudor era of the British Monarchy, nor does she take the opportunity to see it through rose colored glasses.

    As the stories intermingled, it was at first similar to reading two different novels, as the tone of the narrative changed slightly with the structure of the time period. But once used to change it was as though I waltzed a sweet dance through the story line.

    Susan Meissner is the wife of a Pastor and lives in San Diego. However this novel is classified as Contemporary Fiction and not Christian Fiction. It's a perfect classification as it does not seem at all sugar coated Christianity like some historical Christian Fiction can be. She has a base in real life and leaves out the details of the objectionable. I look forward to reading more novels written by Meissner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    Do Not Wait To Read This One

    Lady in Waiting is a story about two women from different times united together by one piece of jewelry.
    Living in her beautiful Manhattan home with her husband of twenty-two years, most people would expect Jane Lindsay to be happy. However, happiness is the least of what she feels when Brad walks out on their marriage. Now there is an even bigger hole in her existance, and she must find a way to try to fill the void.
    When she finds an old ring with her first name inscribed on the band, she feels an odd desire to find out more about it and the person it had belonged to. Maybe it was the shared name, maybe it was the history behind the ring...no matter what, she knows this is something she must do. So Jane begins her search.
    Centuries before Jane's time, Lucy Day was a young woman making her living as dressmaker to Lady Jane Grey. Although a simple existance, she was content. She and Lady Jane had not only become good friends, but were almost as sisters. There was very little the two didn't share. In fact, their friendship was one of the things that was able to keep them stable during the rocky situations ahead.
    Although separated by time, lifestyles, and circumstances, the things these two women have in common are the most important. They each had the ability to stand up and fight for themselves and the things that mattered to them. With the help of God and their courage, they were able to do just that.
    Susan Meissner was the author of this brilliant work. Although definitely not my favorite book, the characters were able to draw me in until the very finish. Susan's writing style is unique and her talent always shines through. Another victory for her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1