Customer Reviews for

Lady in the Mist: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Intriguing Informative Read

I hadn't read anything by this author and was thankful to receive a review copy of Lady in the Mist. I'm not a history buff so reading about midwives in 1809 was very interesting. Laurie depicts Tabitha as a strong women determined to do her job well in Seaborne, Virgin...
I hadn't read anything by this author and was thankful to receive a review copy of Lady in the Mist. I'm not a history buff so reading about midwives in 1809 was very interesting. Laurie depicts Tabitha as a strong women determined to do her job well in Seaborne, Virginia. I couldn't believe all that was expected of a midwife when a regular doctor was not in town.

I loved the way Laurie brought history to life. She shows a scary time in American history when the British boats were stealing American men off the shoreline at night and forcing onto their ships. Duty called all hours of the day and night and Tabitha found her unescorted on the same shores men were stolen from. For that reason she kept her eyes and ears alert as she made the walk on the beach to her home. Then one night she bumps into an unexpected visitor. Dominick Cherrett, a British aristocrat, on American soil working as an indentured servant. Tabitha's world is never the same. Dominick is just as shocked as she is and fears she'll turn him in to the Mayor (his employer) because he's out at night. She says he's British, and not to be trusted and after all the British were the ones stealing American men. She was in a quandary about what to do.

Dominick is charming, a man on a mission with a mysterious past. Could she trust him? He was a bit of a flirt it wouldn't hurt to be his friend and see what he was up to. Both Dominick and Tabitha have something in common, each are trying to do their best in working for their redemption with God, to be good enough for him to love them. They found it hard to accept the free gift God gives.

I hadn't expected a murder mystery and all the suspense and drama inside Lady in the Mist. I loved how this author wove this mystifying web and had the reader guessing who done it all the way till the end. I did find myself anxious for Tabitha as I really did want her to find true love, trust God like she once did and accept the love God offered her as a free gift. I love books that help me learn about history, what life was like back then and the part midwives played. This was one fascinating, suspenseful, charming, and fun read I most definitely recommend. I'll certainly be looking for the next book in this midwife series.

posted by TBCN on March 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

An okay read

The storyline is interesting and the main characters keep you interested but the end of the book was not so good. It ended abruptly. I don't intend to read anymore books by this author unless it is free.

posted by 7990616 on January 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguing Informative Read

    I hadn't read anything by this author and was thankful to receive a review copy of Lady in the Mist. I'm not a history buff so reading about midwives in 1809 was very interesting. Laurie depicts Tabitha as a strong women determined to do her job well in Seaborne, Virginia. I couldn't believe all that was expected of a midwife when a regular doctor was not in town.

    I loved the way Laurie brought history to life. She shows a scary time in American history when the British boats were stealing American men off the shoreline at night and forcing onto their ships. Duty called all hours of the day and night and Tabitha found her unescorted on the same shores men were stolen from. For that reason she kept her eyes and ears alert as she made the walk on the beach to her home. Then one night she bumps into an unexpected visitor. Dominick Cherrett, a British aristocrat, on American soil working as an indentured servant. Tabitha's world is never the same. Dominick is just as shocked as she is and fears she'll turn him in to the Mayor (his employer) because he's out at night. She says he's British, and not to be trusted and after all the British were the ones stealing American men. She was in a quandary about what to do.

    Dominick is charming, a man on a mission with a mysterious past. Could she trust him? He was a bit of a flirt it wouldn't hurt to be his friend and see what he was up to. Both Dominick and Tabitha have something in common, each are trying to do their best in working for their redemption with God, to be good enough for him to love them. They found it hard to accept the free gift God gives.

    I hadn't expected a murder mystery and all the suspense and drama inside Lady in the Mist. I loved how this author wove this mystifying web and had the reader guessing who done it all the way till the end. I did find myself anxious for Tabitha as I really did want her to find true love, trust God like she once did and accept the love God offered her as a free gift. I love books that help me learn about history, what life was like back then and the part midwives played. This was one fascinating, suspenseful, charming, and fun read I most definitely recommend. I'll certainly be looking for the next book in this midwife series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Vr E Very good

    Interesting and entertaining.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Refreshing Original

    Lady in the Mist is a fantastically and enliveningly different read, one I really enjoyed. I easily got into the characters, whom were well-developed, unique, and believable, and I also got into the plot, as well, which was original, creative, and also interesting. The characters were so easy for me to envision, and I think maybe one reason I loved them so much was because, though they were set in almost a chimerical scene, they felt realistic and relatable. Dominick Cherrett, one of the main characters, was one in which I found similar qualities as that of someone very close to me, so I personally appreciated his character. This novel actually contained my interest and is one I would recommend to a friend. The storyline was a bit confusing in the beginning, because I did not know all of the terms which Laurie Alice Eakes used and also because I felt that the author provided too little information for the reader as a basis for the story. You may start out confused with this novel, but I urge you to continue reading, as questions are answered the further you read. You will not find it to be a waste of your time; the story does complete itself, of course, in the end. I feel as though I did miss some things because I was a little confused at first, so I will most likely reread this book. In all honesty, though, I look forward to reading it a second time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Adventure and unpredictabe. KJ

    Thought the story plot was interesting and as unpredictsble as the characters. The only reason I rated it down was because the chapter transitions were a little choppy and confusing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Good

    Good not what you think will happen.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Very good read that kept you interested.

    Very good read that kept you interested.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I could hardly put this one down

    Yesterday I received a new book by new-to-me author Laurie Alice Eakes from another publisher I love Barbour Books - Jersey Brides, one of their Romancing America series and right now I cannot be anymore delighted to see it as I have just finished reading my first book from this author in Lady in the Mist from Revell Books and I loved it. Although I have a qualm with the cover not appearing to look like the woman described (hello, widow's peak anyone?) the writing through out was entertaining and captivating!

    I could hardly put this one down, toddler and all. Post Revolutionary War and on a strong independent female character is not a setting often seen in my genre and I loved it. The characters were all real to life and the mystery was fun to follow and try to pick up what were who's motives and so on. Laurie has a great story in this book and definitely look forward to more in the Midwives Series as well as other publications from her pen as well.

    *Thank you to Revell Books for providing a copy for review.*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    G Nice story

    Enjoyed the storyline. Was a bit drawn out in the end, but ended well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    I was surprised...

    Actually, this was a very good story. I'm a somewhat religious person, but there were times when the God stuff got pretty corny and old. But I actually found it hard to put this book down. I found the main characters very likeable. I would read more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Wonderful

    A little slow at first but good clean book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I loved this book. It was set in the time of 1809 along the coast of Virginia. Tabitha has lost so much in her young age, her dad, her mom, her grandmom, the love of her life a nd most of all her faith. She followed her grandmother, great grandmother, and mom to become a midwife. Then one night while walking home from a birthing she runs across the mysterious Dominick. Dominick is a Lord from across the seas, involved in some young men being kidnapped. But, a Lord he is not, as his uncle has placed him in a servant's role. Couldn't put my nook down! Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    1st in Midwives series is compelling historical romance

    Lady in the Mist by Laurie Alice Eakes is the first book in the Midwives series. Tabitha works as the midwife in her coastal Virginia community in the early years of the nineteenth century. She inhabits a gray zone there, where because of her unmarried state she doesn't fit in with the other families, but she's not quite a servant either. After the deaths of her father, mother, and finally grandmother that left her alone, she's turned her back on God for his apparent abandonment and throws herself into her work. But that work is endangered when the husband of one of her patients dies along with her unborn child mysteriously and he lays the blame at her feet. Her former fiance, Raleigh Trower, has returned from the sea where he fled to get out of their engagement and is now determined to win back her heart, but redemptioner Dominick Cherrett keeps getting in the way. Tabitha and Dominick are thrown together again and again as each tries to spy on the other in the hopes of discovering who is behind the disappearance of so many men from their small town. Eakes has written a powerful romance with plenty of intrigue. Tabitha, Dominick, and Raleigh each suffer under the impression that we must earn God's love, and when we sin, we need to earn it back. The villain is fairly obvious from early on, but Eakes does a good job of throwing out some red herrings and keeping the suspense high. Sometimes she does so, however, by leaving the reader at a moment of high tension and then skipping ahead several hours or days without giving readers the payoff of following the characters through their struggles. This is still a terrifically entertaining historical romance with twists and turns and a healthy dose of faith. I look forward to the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    Fascinating Virginia-set Regency

    Lady in the Mist is the fruition of a dream that was birthed in author Laruie Alice Eakes while she was in grad school. Then one of the things she studied was the role of midwives in history...and she knew she'd someday write books highlighting the contributions of those women. Now she's doing just that.

    I've heard a lot about Laurie Alice's books, but this was the first time I've read one of them. Set in coastal Virginia in 1809, it took me the first chapter or two to get into the time period. Once I did, though, this book kept calling me back to its pages. The book is a blend of romance, suspense, and historical. Tabitha Eckles is a midwife, and with that role comes the responsibility of keeping secrets. All alone in the world, she is drawn to an English redemptioner who could be a spy. Either way, he isn't free to marry until his indenture is complete -- and even then, he's titled. What would he want with a woman like her? Then there's the fisherman she'd planned to marry before he disappeared...only to return two years later.

    The book is layered with alternating twists of suspense and romance. And the setting grew on me as the town and characters became real.

    For those who love the regency time period, this book is an easy one to pick up. And for those of you who haven't tried it before, this is a great one to start with. And being set in a rural American village made for an interesting twist in the genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    Romance for the history lover!

    Laurie Alice Eakes weaves a dramatic tale of intrigue and secrets set along the coast of Virginia at the turn of the 19th century. Ms. Eakes enriches her story with lush historical detail and a plot that keeps the reader guessing with many twists and turns. Tabitha Eckles, midwife and healer, has been hurt too many times to trust a man with her heart, especially an Englishman who might have something to do with the men who are taken from her village and forced to serve in the British Navy. Dominick Cherrett charms the midwife in order to gain access to information that could help him redeem himself from his indentured status, but the more time he spends with Tabitha, the harder it is to keep his heart unaffected. This was a lovely read, and one I am happy to recommend. There were a few actions scenes that were cut off rather abruptly that I would have enjoyed seeing played out "on stage" instead of recapped later in narrative or dialogue, but that is my only complaint. The spiritual thread of trusting God and seeking forgiveness not through self-imposed penance but through a humble heart played out well in the lives of the characters and felt natural to the plot. Readers who enjoy historical fiction with a touch of espionage and a generous helping of secrets, will find Lady in the Mist a delight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Entertaining story

    Good read, entertaining story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Good

    Long story but good. Story line keeps you interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    GOOD READING

    VERY WELL WRITTEN AND HOLDS YOUR INTEREST - CHECK IT OUT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed story

    Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    Recommend, thoroughly enjoyed

    I love to read anything about this time period...America and England were at odds. As a mid wife her place in society was always tenuous, along with finding and falling in love this book Lady of the mist kept me reading til the early hours of the morning...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Great book!!!! High praise for LADY IN THE MIST!!!!!

    The stiryline was amazing and i would sooooo date dominick if he was a real persin!!! Haha! The only thing i didnt like was that i was a little confused about dominick...it took too long to figure out what he was really doing in america. In the beginning she gave very vague confusing answers. But besides that, i couldnt put it down!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4