Customer Reviews for

Lady in the Mist: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Intriguing Informative Read

I hadn't read anything by this author and was thankful to receive a review copy of Lady in the Mist. I'm not a history buff so reading about midwives in 1809 was very interesting. Laurie depicts Tabitha as a strong women determined to do her job well in Seaborne, Virgin...
I hadn't read anything by this author and was thankful to receive a review copy of Lady in the Mist. I'm not a history buff so reading about midwives in 1809 was very interesting. Laurie depicts Tabitha as a strong women determined to do her job well in Seaborne, Virginia. I couldn't believe all that was expected of a midwife when a regular doctor was not in town.

I loved the way Laurie brought history to life. She shows a scary time in American history when the British boats were stealing American men off the shoreline at night and forcing onto their ships. Duty called all hours of the day and night and Tabitha found her unescorted on the same shores men were stolen from. For that reason she kept her eyes and ears alert as she made the walk on the beach to her home. Then one night she bumps into an unexpected visitor. Dominick Cherrett, a British aristocrat, on American soil working as an indentured servant. Tabitha's world is never the same. Dominick is just as shocked as she is and fears she'll turn him in to the Mayor (his employer) because he's out at night. She says he's British, and not to be trusted and after all the British were the ones stealing American men. She was in a quandary about what to do.

Dominick is charming, a man on a mission with a mysterious past. Could she trust him? He was a bit of a flirt it wouldn't hurt to be his friend and see what he was up to. Both Dominick and Tabitha have something in common, each are trying to do their best in working for their redemption with God, to be good enough for him to love them. They found it hard to accept the free gift God gives.

I hadn't expected a murder mystery and all the suspense and drama inside Lady in the Mist. I loved how this author wove this mystifying web and had the reader guessing who done it all the way till the end. I did find myself anxious for Tabitha as I really did want her to find true love, trust God like she once did and accept the love God offered her as a free gift. I love books that help me learn about history, what life was like back then and the part midwives played. This was one fascinating, suspenseful, charming, and fun read I most definitely recommend. I'll certainly be looking for the next book in this midwife series.

posted by TBCN on March 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

An okay read

The storyline is interesting and the main characters keep you interested but the end of the book was not so good. It ended abruptly. I don't intend to read anymore books by this author unless it is free.

posted by 7990616 on January 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    A Wonderful Story

    LADY IN THE MIST is a must read novel. Full of history of early America, traitors, romance and suspence, I stayed up til the wee hrs to read this book. Author Laurie Alice Eakes did a great job researching the time period and midwives. The female herione Tabitha was so well developed as was her English love Dominick. I felt every emotion they went through. Ms Eakes writing is a refreshing change for me. Great job author. I look forward to reading her other books, and highly recommend this book to everyone. You will not be disappointed. Vallie

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Cute romance

    I thought this book was going to be to have to much romance but it is perfect i loved it and the charachters ( sorry cant spell) were amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    A Fresh Read

    In a market saturated with inspirational romance authors, few books stand out as spectacular reads. Lady in the Mist is one of those books. It won't leave you feeling as though you've read this story before. Eakes takes a woman deserted by every significant person in her life and pairs her with a man who has no choice but to one day abandon her. The characters of Tabatha and Dominick embody the essence of Christian romance. As the couple confronts forces both internal and external that drive them apart, both characters must work out their own relationships with God as well as solve a threatening mystery. I wish more romance writers wrote stories like this one. I'll definitely be reading Eakes' next book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2011

    A Treat for the Romantic Soul

    What a treat for the romantic soul. The vibrant characters leapt off the page and into my heart. The heroine strong yet feminine, the hero dashing and witty. The rich mysterious setting became a character of its own. More than anything, though, I appreciated the depth of passion between the hero and heroine. Too often in Christian romance novels I see nothing that reflects the actual human experience of falling in love. And the author portrayed these emotions with such skill and innocence. The brush of a finger. The heat of a glance. That sense that the world ceases to exist when their beloved walks away. This, I recognize as love.

    I'll admit that early on I struggled with some of the motivations. But don't give up on this book. It's well worth your time, and I suspect you will fall in love with it as I did. This is a novel that will please both genre romance readers and those who prefer deeper themes and an artistic touch.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Held My Interest Throughout

    Laurie Alice Eakes is a great storyteller. She places trouble after trouble in Tabitha's path to be allowed to follow the occupation of her mother and grandmother. She has heard secrets from mothers-to-be in the pain of delivering a child. Tabitha has never revealed those secrets. She could use some of these secrets to shame men sitting on the town council that reviews her case for continuing to be a midwife. Will she do that or risk being run out of town?. Then there's Dominick and a former beau that has re-entered her life that she must consider for her future. Strong characterization and setting description. A page turner.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Highly recommended

    If you love period work, this is a really good one. I enjoyed all of it and will read the rest of the series. It touched on bits of history and a lot of excitement.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Not your everyday, run of the mill, job for a young lady.

    A story of love, trust and forgiveness. Draws you into the pages wondering what next she will have to face and how will she learn to trust God again?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Very Good!

    Kept me interested...I had to find out how it would end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2011

    Great Book

    This book was very intriquing and kept you attention at all times. I started reading it and just couldn't put it down.

    This was the first book by Laurie Eakes I had read and she quickly became my new favorite author! She does a great job of leading you through a story with many unexpected twists and turns. Great book and I would recommend it highly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    VERY CLEAN AND GOOD READING. FICTION, MYSTERY AND ROMANCE ALL IN ONE VERY ENJOYABLE BOOK. TY LAURIE ALICE EAKES!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Excellent Read

    A mystery first but a very good love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    recommend

    I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Really enjoyed this book!

    This was a very interesting book. I could hardly stop reading it. It contained mystery and romance along with a little history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    You will love it!!

    I really enjoyed this book...enough mystery to keep it interesting, enough love to be good, and just enjoyable to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Anonymous

    Great story. I couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    a good entertaining read

    A great book about a strong midwife who learns to love and trust god and renew her faith.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Love it!!!!!

    I love this book! It's fresh, the perfect love story and written well. Once you start it you're hooked and will be begging for a seqeal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    I enjoyed this book

    I great story of Love and Forgiveness!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Intrigue, Mystery and Romance - A Good Read!

    Laurie Alice Eakes in her new book, "Lady In The Mist" Book One in the Midwives series published by Revell brings us to Virginia in 1809.

    The War of 1812 obviously started in 1812 but the seeds of the war go back to 1809 and the British use of impressment. What would happen when the British seized an American ship would be that all the sailors now sailed for Britain regardless of their nationality. This is one of the issues that flamed into war but in 1809 all it did was make tensions at a boiling point between the two nations.

    Tabitha Eckles was going to be married but her fiance vanished, impressed into service. She uses her skills as a midwife to make her living as Tabitha has no one else to rely on. Since I really did not know exactly what the midwife does, I had a general idea but no specifics, and since the series is about The Midwives I looked it up. The term midwife means "with a woman" and they attend childbirth, provide support during labor and delivery, and supervise the general care of women and children directly after birth.

    Dominick Cherrett is a British aristocrat on American soil working as an indentured servant. He is not highly favored in this tense time and early one misty morning these two meet and sparks begin to fly.

    In "Lady In The Mist" Laurie Alice Eakes weaves in all the tension between the two nations and the suspicion and distrust of the Americans to the British. It is a tale of intrigue as there is a spy in their midst as someone is helping in the impressment. It is a love story as Tabitha and Dominick begin to fall for one another even though all kinds of events conspire to keep them apart. It is a tale loaded with secrets that all the characters seem to carry and the toll these kept secrets bring. "Lady In The Mist" is a great beginning to a new series and Ms. Eakes creates really fun, believable characters that you care for as they live through this adventure. I recommend this book and I am looking forward to the next in the series.

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Available February 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3