Customer Reviews for

The Lady of Bolton Hill

Average Rating 4
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

nice addition to the historical genre

This was an interesting read; maybe a bit hard to classify topic wise. Even though the book's cover might indicate a purely romantic nature, I'd say it's a mixture of action, mystery, and politics with a dose of love story to soften things up. Those are pretty substanti...
This was an interesting read; maybe a bit hard to classify topic wise. Even though the book's cover might indicate a purely romantic nature, I'd say it's a mixture of action, mystery, and politics with a dose of love story to soften things up. Those are pretty substantial themes to conquer in a little over 300 pages but, for the most part, it works.

We start out with a little back history into the relationship between our protagonists, Daniel and Clara. Their friendship as teenagers, built upon a mutual love for music and composition, has flourished despite social class barriers until an unexpected tragedy forces them apart. Twelve years later, Daniel and Clara find themselves brought back together yet not under the best of circumstances. She has just left prison and he is embroiled in legal/business dilemmas that threaten to undo his company's hard earned profits. No longer poor, Daniel still feels the need to prove himself to Clara while also holding onto a long held vendetta from the past. So caught up in his anger and need for vengeance, he is not the same man Clara remembers from her childhood. But can she uncover the Daniel she knew before it's too late?

I love historical fiction and The Lady of Bolton Hill is a nice addition to the genre. The writing was excellent, descriptive without being wordy, and has a certain finesse that speaks of intelligence. I also found the bits of humorous dialogue sprinkled throughout delightful, without being annoyingly cliched. The only thing that seemed a bit heavy handed was the biblical aspect. Clara came across too preachy at times, spouting off scripture at every turn to anyone who would listen. (Or even those who did not want to listen.) A few times, I wanted to yell across the pages for her to back off and tone it down so as not to further irritate those she was addressing. An incident that comes to mind is right while Daniel's house is being destroyed, Clara can't just let him come to grips with the horror of it unfolding before his eyes. Instead, she gets in his face to lecture him some more and then has the nerve to tell him it's only things he is losing, despite the fact some of those "things" are quite meaningful to him. Not the best time to be saying something like that if you have any trace of sensitivity. It was so obnoxious, my mouth was gaping open. If someone ever did that to me, I would be furious. Talk about adding insult to injury!

In short, I suppose Clara was the weakest link in the story for me. I just found her attitude holier than thou quite a bit of the time which ultimately made it hard for me to root for her. I actually enjoyed the few times Daniel, or anyone else, managed to put her in her place...until she slipped her way out again to bible thump some more. However, despite all of Clara's pressuring, I liked that Daniel didn't immediately convert his views to placate her but that it was a gradual process, a dawning of sorts. That seemed realistic, which is what I appreciate most in inspirational fiction. The character of Bane was one of the more interesting ones and I was intrigued to learn what made him tick. By the end of the story, I was pulling for him and wishing for more details about his life pre and post Clara. Possible sequal for Bane? Hint hint...

Despite a few quibbles, I look forward to reading Mrs. Camden's next story and think The Lady of Bolton Hill was a very good debut novel. The author is definitely talented, with an engaging s

posted by hammyflirt on August 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Average Read

In the debut from Elizabeth Camden, as teenagers Clara Endicott and Daniel Tremain were in love. Clara grew up at Bolton Hill as the a preacher's daughter, but grew up to a journalist. Her love Daniel grew poor, as his father worked at a steel mill. After Daniel's fathe...
In the debut from Elizabeth Camden, as teenagers Clara Endicott and Daniel Tremain were in love. Clara grew up at Bolton Hill as the a preacher's daughter, but grew up to a journalist. Her love Daniel grew poor, as his father worked at a steel mill. After Daniel's father dies in a tragic accident, Clara leaves for England. Over the next twelve years, their lives go in different directions. Clara's journalism career is going strong, while Daniel has become a railroad tycoon. Circumstances occur causing Clara to leave England and is reunited with her long-lost-love. Daniel has changed since the last time they met. He is now a bitter man, wanting vengeance for his father's death, and his faith in God has been lost. Daniel's actions soon put Clara in mortal danger.

The Lady of Bolton Hill is an historical novel set in 1879 and spans England and the United States, and emerges in the booming technology era of the railroad. Unlike other Christian novels, the two main characters are already in love, and develops more on a plot than relationships. I, personally, had trouble getting interested in the novel. I couldn't connect to any of the characters, which at times they felt a little bland. I did enjoy the historical accepts of the railroad boom, and Clara's profession. It's not a bad debut for the author, but I, overall, have mixed feelings for the novel. I would only recommend this book to other historical romance readers/fans.

posted by BillyB on June 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    nice addition to the historical genre

    This was an interesting read; maybe a bit hard to classify topic wise. Even though the book's cover might indicate a purely romantic nature, I'd say it's a mixture of action, mystery, and politics with a dose of love story to soften things up. Those are pretty substantial themes to conquer in a little over 300 pages but, for the most part, it works.

    We start out with a little back history into the relationship between our protagonists, Daniel and Clara. Their friendship as teenagers, built upon a mutual love for music and composition, has flourished despite social class barriers until an unexpected tragedy forces them apart. Twelve years later, Daniel and Clara find themselves brought back together yet not under the best of circumstances. She has just left prison and he is embroiled in legal/business dilemmas that threaten to undo his company's hard earned profits. No longer poor, Daniel still feels the need to prove himself to Clara while also holding onto a long held vendetta from the past. So caught up in his anger and need for vengeance, he is not the same man Clara remembers from her childhood. But can she uncover the Daniel she knew before it's too late?

    I love historical fiction and The Lady of Bolton Hill is a nice addition to the genre. The writing was excellent, descriptive without being wordy, and has a certain finesse that speaks of intelligence. I also found the bits of humorous dialogue sprinkled throughout delightful, without being annoyingly cliched. The only thing that seemed a bit heavy handed was the biblical aspect. Clara came across too preachy at times, spouting off scripture at every turn to anyone who would listen. (Or even those who did not want to listen.) A few times, I wanted to yell across the pages for her to back off and tone it down so as not to further irritate those she was addressing. An incident that comes to mind is right while Daniel's house is being destroyed, Clara can't just let him come to grips with the horror of it unfolding before his eyes. Instead, she gets in his face to lecture him some more and then has the nerve to tell him it's only things he is losing, despite the fact some of those "things" are quite meaningful to him. Not the best time to be saying something like that if you have any trace of sensitivity. It was so obnoxious, my mouth was gaping open. If someone ever did that to me, I would be furious. Talk about adding insult to injury!

    In short, I suppose Clara was the weakest link in the story for me. I just found her attitude holier than thou quite a bit of the time which ultimately made it hard for me to root for her. I actually enjoyed the few times Daniel, or anyone else, managed to put her in her place...until she slipped her way out again to bible thump some more. However, despite all of Clara's pressuring, I liked that Daniel didn't immediately convert his views to placate her but that it was a gradual process, a dawning of sorts. That seemed realistic, which is what I appreciate most in inspirational fiction. The character of Bane was one of the more interesting ones and I was intrigued to learn what made him tick. By the end of the story, I was pulling for him and wishing for more details about his life pre and post Clara. Possible sequal for Bane? Hint hint...

    Despite a few quibbles, I look forward to reading Mrs. Camden's next story and think The Lady of Bolton Hill was a very good debut novel. The author is definitely talented, with an engaging s

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Excellent debut from a new author

    I'll let the back cover blurb speak for itself. This review is not a synopsis of the plot.

    Clara Endicott is a reporter, the daughter of a well-off, influential pastor in 1870's Baltimore. Danial Tremaine is the son of a steel worker killed in a horrible accident, bent on revenge against the mill owner. Wrong side of the tracks romance; done to death, right? Elizabeth makes it fresh!

    There's a good suspense thread throughout, though it is light. This is a historical romance, not a suspense. The secondary character of Bane is very intriguing. Clara shows herself a true Christian, that she's not just talk.

    The writing throughout is more formal than I'm used to seeing in modern historical romances. But it worked. Well. Very evocative of the year it takes place in. The speech patterns, while stilted to modern ears, are exactly the way the people spoke back then.

    It also covers another aspect that many historical writers ignore: Unions. The unions of Baltimore play a crucial role in the plot. I was very pleasantly surprised. Unions have been in the news an awful lot this year.

    The passion that binds Clara and Daniel together is music, specifically Chopin. I love it when historical authors use "contemporary" composers in their books.

    There's also a strong thread of redemption throughout the story, and how God will go to whatever lengths it takes to rid us of our idols. Daniel's idols are his inventions, his patents, his thirst for revenge. Sometimes threads like that can be overdone or melodramatic, in my opinion. Not this one. The entire progression was believable and never once made Daniel seem less of a man. He remained committed to his goal throughout, and allowed God to change that goal. That's a real man!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    Wonderful Romance with Mystery and Intrigue

    I absolutely loved The Lady of Bolton Hill. The mystery and intrigue in the story was a surprise. Throughout the second half of the book I was anxious to know the out come of certain situations with a mysterious character so I was having a very hard time setting it down for any reason.


    It was very well written and the characters stole my heart from the beginning. Elizabeth has a wonderful flair for writing that makes you want to follow the charcters into the book. I do hope that a couple of the secondary male characters in this book will have their own story. I think their stories would be just as wonderful as Clara and Daniel's.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Average Read

    In the debut from Elizabeth Camden, as teenagers Clara Endicott and Daniel Tremain were in love. Clara grew up at Bolton Hill as the a preacher's daughter, but grew up to a journalist. Her love Daniel grew poor, as his father worked at a steel mill. After Daniel's father dies in a tragic accident, Clara leaves for England. Over the next twelve years, their lives go in different directions. Clara's journalism career is going strong, while Daniel has become a railroad tycoon. Circumstances occur causing Clara to leave England and is reunited with her long-lost-love. Daniel has changed since the last time they met. He is now a bitter man, wanting vengeance for his father's death, and his faith in God has been lost. Daniel's actions soon put Clara in mortal danger.

    The Lady of Bolton Hill is an historical novel set in 1879 and spans England and the United States, and emerges in the booming technology era of the railroad. Unlike other Christian novels, the two main characters are already in love, and develops more on a plot than relationships. I, personally, had trouble getting interested in the novel. I couldn't connect to any of the characters, which at times they felt a little bland. I did enjoy the historical accepts of the railroad boom, and Clara's profession. It's not a bad debut for the author, but I, overall, have mixed feelings for the novel. I would only recommend this book to other historical romance readers/fans.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    K

    Amazing.... Yes, I think that sums it up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    A fairly typical Christian Historical Romance

    This book was a fairly typical Christian historical romance, and indeed the author did not disappoint in that area. It's always comforting to read a romance where there is excitement, a strong female, a dashing rogue, and plenty of tension. And add to that--nothing inappropriate in the least. After all, it is Christian!

    I did find myself drawn into the story, but I cannot say I loved any of the characters. Clara and Daniel were fine, but I was not enthralled with them. Sometimes I even found Clara a little annoying. She was a Christian, and I had no trouble with her Christian views, but I felt that she didn't live in reality. The story got a little far-fetched for a historical romance at times, but to the author's credit, she did allow some bad things to happen to the characters.

    I was not terribly impressed with how the Christian views were woven into the story. At times, it seemed a little forced, and I get tired of Christian authors feeling they need to force the entire gospel message into a book. If it a Christian novel, then the Christian views of the book should be woven seamlessly into the story line. The thing that did impress me was the view that was stated concerning suicide. I was quite pleased to read that, and I felt that author took a risk that really worked in that area. I applaud her for that!

    In conclusion, if you are up for a story that is a light historical read with a basically engaging story and a strong Christian message, give this book a try.

    I was provided a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a review. All opinions are 100 percent mine, and I was not financially compensated in any way.
    flag

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    It is awesome!

    I was VERY impressed by how this book was written! It is a very great book. Recommended for all ages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Loved it.

    Very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    AnonymousNovember28,2013

    Best book ever could not put it down!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Excellent Read

    I loved this book. I couldn't put it down. It had humor, passion, and faith weaved throughout. It reminds the reader that unforgiveness is destructive and costly. Elizabeth Camden is a gifted author and I will definitely purchase more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2013

    Unique and unexpected action  for those of you who enjoy some m


    Unique and unexpected action 
    for those of you who enjoy some mystery added to your romances...

    Innovative debut from Elizabeth Camden, featuring action, adventure,mystery, inspiration, along with romance.
    in addition to the gorgeous cover!

    I look forward to further offerings from Ms Camden. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Worth a read

    A bit too evangelical for my tastes but I loved the subplot with Bane and the spunk of Clara. Very nice effort!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Clara and Daniel had lived worlds apart for more than a decade.

    Clara and Daniel had lived worlds apart for more than a decade. It was obvious from the beginning [and I can't imagine this is a spoiler...] that they were meant for each other – they’d just have to overcome the obstacles to getting there.

    I love the journalistic aspect of Clara. Perhaps because I’ve watched a few too many Superman movies and love Lois Lane. Perhaps because I have friends in the newspaper business. Perhaps because I like to write. Whatever the reason, I loved it .

    The chemistry between Clara and Daniel was wonderful as were the secondary characters and the setting. I was able to visualize their locations especially as the plots came to a climax.

    The subplots were interesting, opium and music. What more does one need?

    Overall rating: 7.5 out of 10 stars

    Thanks to Ms. Camden and Bethany House for an influencer copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Surprising twists

    I enjoyed the female character but the male lead was a bit annoying by the conclusion of the book. There were unexpected twists in the story that diverges the book from the typical Christian romance book. A good read and it held my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Highly rcommended

    Great book ,couldn't put it down until every page was read.I would recommend to book club.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Great book

    An enjoyable book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Well written

    Well written nice evangelical subplot. Some forced dialogue about faith but overall great read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good, easy read

    This is a typical "rags to riches" type story, but is an enjoyable read. The characters are fairly well developed, as is the plot line. It is a comfortable, easy book to read and it's not going to instigate any serious thinking, though it might prompt some research into child labor laws of the late 1800s and early 1900s. It is very obvious that faith is a central part of the life of the main character, Clara Endicott, though it is not overwhelming for the reader. It's great to see a romance played out with no sex.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Wow, I really liked this book. I've never read anything by this author before. I'm looking forward to buying my next book by her. I didn't think I would like it, but I did. I am currently reading it. I have about 50 pages left to read & can't wait to see how it ends.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    loved it!

    historical romance with Christianity.....thanks Elizabeth Camden

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4