BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lady of Devices: A Steampunk Adventure Novel

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Book, but FAR too short!!

    The characters are fully fleshed out, the plot is good and moved at a perfect pace, the steam punk wasn't quite explained enough, but I'm okay wtih that, there were NO zombies (not sure why they are standard steam punk fare but I prefer the books without that ingredient) and the story was great!! I give it four out of five stars because it was so SHORT!!! I got to page 122 and it suddenly was over! What the....???? It wasn't an inappropriate ending, it just was too short a book. The ending made sense and set up the next book, I just wanted there to be more of THIS book!! Please write the sequel as fast as you can without, of course, compromising any of the quality. :D MUST READ IT NOW!!!!! Please tell us it will be this year or early next year that the sequel will be ready and that there will be multiple sequels afterwards! If you like Gail Carringer, or a lighter Meljean Brooks or O. M. Grey, you will certainly enjoy this book and avidly anticipate the next in the series! Thank you for a great book Ms. Adina, and keep 'em comin'!!!!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    Entertaining

    Fast paced, fun read+ excited for part 2

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The first book in the Magnificent Devices series does not disapp

    The first book in the Magnificent Devices series does not disappoint! This book was well researched and brought a different edge to a steampunk theme. The protagonists exuded a strong willed determination that really helped to move the plot and other characters along. The heroine, Claire, is ahead of her time and changes the lives of everyone around her. She is the most endearing character in the book. I am eagerly anticipating the second book in the series and continuing Claire’s hardships and adventures

    I was provided a copy of the book by BTS eMag for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review – all conclusions are my own responsibility.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    A Perfect Example of Steampunk This book is a perfect example o

    A Perfect Example of Steampunk

    This book is a perfect example of the Steampunk genre. Set in Victorian London during the introduction of steam powered machinery, this cast of characters and their adventurous story is delightfully fun. The heroine of the book, Claire, is forced to live a life of independent means after a poor decision by her father lost their fortune and place in society. Trying to create a new life for herself, she encounters a group of street urchins who introduce her to life on the streets of London. Full of scientific wonderment, a little romance, and a whole lot of fun, this book is a great introduction to this Steampunk series.

    I was provided a copy of the book by BTS eMag for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review – all conclusions are my own responsibility.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Entertaining!

    This was a fun read. I enjoyed it so much that I read it very quickly and I'm looking forward to the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This was a great read. A Lady about to be presented to society l

    This was a great read. A Lady about to be presented to society loses her father and her families fortune with it. She has to use her mind to overcome and save a group of children from the streets. This is a perfect read for younger readers. The adventure and suspense is wonderful. The female main character is one a girl can really look up to. Using her education and intelligence to get out of situation rather than any kind of brute force. If you have a young child or teen this one for them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Entertaining!

    I enjoyed the plot very much. A little rushed in spots but very enjoyable and i will definately pay for the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Fun steampunk adventure

    This is a entertaining story, well-told. It features an interesting heroine and well-developed secondary characters. I thought the mix of Victorian London with steam-powered science fiction was just right. If pressed to find something to criticise I would say I thought the main character, Claire, was a little too poised and self-assured for a seventeen-year-old school girl. But it is a fast-paced plot and I understand that adding a lot of internal whinging about being frightened and pretending to be confident would have brought the adventure to a standstill. All things considered, I enjoyed this novel very much and look forward to the further adventures of the Lady of Devices.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    New author

    New aurhor for me. Love the era . Great characters. You judge

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Fun reading

    Good enough for me to want more! I'm reading the sequel now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book

    This is a very intreging book, Good characters and well written. The reason I only gave 4 stars was the fact it stops in the middle of the excitment and the follow up book is $4.99. This was only $.99. Not fair.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is my 4th book in the Steampunk books. I really enjoyed the

    This is my 4th book in the Steampunk books. I really enjoyed the book and the ending I know is a lead in to the next book. I was very dissappointed to find the sequel was $4.99 where the teaser was $.99. I would not mind paying $2.99 for the sequel but the asking proce is a bit much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    Not bad for Part I

    One the one hand this was pretty interesting. This was my first steampunk novel, so I was not sure what to expect. The author does a good job setting up the situations, but the payoff tends to get lost. For example we get a lot of detail about how she gets into distress, but in detailing the climbing out process, we just find her up and out, without any detail.

    I read this on my nook, and was surprised when it ended. My guess is that she wrote one book, which was truncated into two. Good strategy. I will definitely read part II, Her Own Devices.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Want more

    Loved it, but where's the rest of the story?? Its like waiting for a punch line that never gets said. Great characters! Cant wait for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2