Customer Reviews for

A Lady of High Regard (Ladies of Liberty Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Emma-like character fighting for women's rights

Mia Stanley is a lady of high regard living in late nineteenth century Pennsylvania fighting for the rights of women and children beyond what her social status believes is appropriate. Tracie Peterson has done it again in my opinion. I must admit that I was not crazy fo...
Mia Stanley is a lady of high regard living in late nineteenth century Pennsylvania fighting for the rights of women and children beyond what her social status believes is appropriate. Tracie Peterson has done it again in my opinion. I must admit that I was not crazy for this book and it's characters as I have been for some of Tracie's stories, but I did enjoy it and will recommend it and perhaps read it again. Mia has a very Emma-like quality about her. She wants to put everyone into a matchmad...more Mia Stanley is a lady of high regard living in late nineteenth century Pennsylvania fighting for the rights of women and children beyond what her social status believes is appropriate. Tracie Peterson has done it again in my opinion. I must admit that I was not crazy for this book and it's characters as I have been for some of Tracie's stories, but I did enjoy it and will recommend it and perhaps read it again. Mia has a very Emma-like quality about her. She wants to put everyone into a matchmade pair, but when she realizes who she wants to be her other half, it is a little too late as she pushed him away into a pair of his own.

Through this story you get entertainment and romance. There is mystery and suspense. There is a devotion and lesson to be learned. There are matters that affect your own life that you can gain from experiencing the lives of these characters. I have yet to come across a book by Tracie Peterson, except one, that I have not loved and this is no exception. It's great, not necessarily amazing, hence the four stars, but it's great.

posted by cherryblossommj on October 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Waste of Time

I found this novel a complete waste of time. The romance in the story was so little that I'm surprised it's called a romance novel. It felt extremely preachy in terms of helping those less fortunate as well as religious. Although I think both those things quite worthy b...
I found this novel a complete waste of time. The romance in the story was so little that I'm surprised it's called a romance novel. It felt extremely preachy in terms of helping those less fortunate as well as religious. Although I think both those things quite worthy but I don't necessarily want to read a whole novel about it.

posted by Anonymous on July 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted October 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Emma-like character fighting for women's rights

    Mia Stanley is a lady of high regard living in late nineteenth century Pennsylvania fighting for the rights of women and children beyond what her social status believes is appropriate. Tracie Peterson has done it again in my opinion. I must admit that I was not crazy for this book and it's characters as I have been for some of Tracie's stories, but I did enjoy it and will recommend it and perhaps read it again. Mia has a very Emma-like quality about her. She wants to put everyone into a matchmad...more Mia Stanley is a lady of high regard living in late nineteenth century Pennsylvania fighting for the rights of women and children beyond what her social status believes is appropriate. Tracie Peterson has done it again in my opinion. I must admit that I was not crazy for this book and it's characters as I have been for some of Tracie's stories, but I did enjoy it and will recommend it and perhaps read it again. Mia has a very Emma-like quality about her. She wants to put everyone into a matchmade pair, but when she realizes who she wants to be her other half, it is a little too late as she pushed him away into a pair of his own.<BR/><BR/>Through this story you get entertainment and romance. There is mystery and suspense. There is a devotion and lesson to be learned. There are matters that affect your own life that you can gain from experiencing the lives of these characters. I have yet to come across a book by Tracie Peterson, except one, that I have not loved and this is no exception. It's great, not necessarily amazing, hence the four stars, but it's great.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    I had always thought that Godey's Lady Book was just a fashion magazine, a precursor to Vogue. At least that's how it was always portrayed in Little House on the Prairie, with talks about hoop skirts and corsets. This book, however, portrayed it as a precursor to women's lib, giving women the opportunity to showcase their talents and try to make a mark in the world. I thought the storyline was well written. You don't read a lot about issues and circumstances that the sea men's wives faced in Christian fiction. They were horrifying to read and worse to know that people would actually do nothing because they didn't want to mix with the different classes. Lower class women were powerless in that time period and severly taken advantage of. Mia was very strong in her beliefs about getting the word out but at the same time respected her parents wishes and obeyed them. I found this much more satisfying to read than her completely rebelling or giving up everything. The relationship between Mia and Garrett reminded me about Jane Austen's Emma, with the best friends being in love but not realizing it and the matchmaking. I did like their relationship, although at some points I was like 'AHHHHHHH, just tell her!!' Even though the story is set in Philadelphia, I kept picturing the setting as being in England. Maybe it's because I'm in a regency mood and the cover through me off. Either way I really enjoyed this story with an excellent heroine. Looking forward to more books in the series! Tracie Peterson has written another winner!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    Waste of Time

    I found this novel a complete waste of time. The romance in the story was so little that I'm surprised it's called a romance novel. It felt extremely preachy in terms of helping those less fortunate as well as religious. Although I think both those things quite worthy but I don't necessarily want to read a whole novel about it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have many mixed feelings about this book. I loved the plot, Mia, and the spunk she showed. But, I thought the romance in this book was slightly sappy. I mean, Garrett was ALWAYS there for her, no matter where she was, he always rescued her. I didn't like how he always just HAPPENED to be there. I did like most of the story however. Tracy Peterson has written a good story, but some of her less recent stuff is more down to earth.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Not really my cup of tea

    I found this novel to be ok reading for a day when my allergies were giving me fits and there was nothing on television. However, I found the plot to be superficial and predictable--of course, many romances fall into that category. I suppose what bothered me most in this example of "Christian" fiction was the moral character of the protagonist. I really wanted to like and admire her--her concern for those less fortunate and her kindness to the young women of her own social class who were being bullied by the pushier types was indeed admirable. However, in dealing with her parents and her soon-to-be fiance, she seems to take an end-justifies-the-means approach, deliberately choosing deception (in part just to make things easier in an "it's easier to ask forgiveness than permission" mode) far too many times. Her choice of this method brings additional misfortune on the very people she is trying to help and puts not only the heroine herself, but others in her family, in danger. One or two examples of this type of behavior might qualify as learning, but doing the same thing repeatedly falls either into the category of stupidity and lack of judgment or of self-justification of hubris (no one can fix this but me). The author should rethink her attitude toward Christian principles; it seems to me that the person who regards this lady most highly is the lady herself.

    I'm glad this book was a freebie for my Nook. At this point, I wouldn't pay for another book by the same author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Good book

    I really did like the story line, but i wished the ending was better. It was good yet i would have liked to read about a wedding or something.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Loved it!

    Great book and excellent series! I couldnt put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Decent read

    Alittle predictable but not a bad read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Not Very Good

    The conversation is very stilted and the book is rather boring I did not make it past the twenty third page

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Ugh

    I was bored and wound up skipping pages and pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Enjoyable but predictable

    Good story, I enjoyed the romance but wish there was a little more pages to enjoy their romance. Enjoyable Christian fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Must read!!!

    I have read majority of Tracie Petersons books but this is by far one of my ultimate favorite series!
    I would live to share everything I loved about this book, but that would ruin the book for anyone interested in reading it. Definitely will recommend it to anyone looking for something fiction and new to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Would Not Recommend

    As others have stated, this book was not enjoyable, namely because of the main character. She takes an interest in the plight of the wives of seamen, who are often abused. That's great. However, her "means to an end" actions often hurt the people she desired to help. Just seems like another example of helping a community without really taking time to listen to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    wonderful beautiful

    Enjoyed this story it was great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Love the story!

    I love this era. Good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Great

    It draws you in to see what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    (238 Pages) One i couldn't put down...finished within 2 days!

    (238 Pages) One i couldn't put down...finished within 2 days! Well written, good characters, and a great story line. Look forward to reading more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    .

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    religious romance

    Was a decent book but there was too much religion in it for my taste. The heroine seemed vapid & thoughtless ending up in situations that could only be solved by the male counter part. Also the ending was kinda weak. But decent mystery & interesting time period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Good read

    It was a good read. Just took me long to read it. The story could of been shorter and to the point but i can see that the author wanted mystery and excitement. So overall it was good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 142 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8