Customer Reviews for

A Lady of His Own (Bastion Club Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    5 stars for the entire series

    5 stars for the entire series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    This is a must read book and series

    I love this series and the characters in it.I highly recommend it and will sing praises for this book and the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Stephanie Laurens has created an awesome set of books in(The Bastion Club Series). I am on the last book of the set and cannot recommend these books enough. In "A Lady Of His Own", Charles St. Austell, an Earl who must wed, comes home after ten years of spying for his beloved country. He promptly meets Penny, his sweetheart of ten years before. Charles immediately decides Penny is to be his bride and she decides she wants nothing to do with him. The chase begins and the reader is led into a fascinating journey of love, betrayal and intrigue.

    Any reader of Historical Romantic Fiction will find this book as well as the entire series a wonderful journey into some of Englands fascinating history and the delightful lives of some very interesting people.

    I personally want to thank Stephanie Laurens for giving to the Romantic Fiction World this awesome Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2007

    Fantastic!

    I have read all of the Bastion Club novels, and I have to say, this one is my favorite so far!! There was an excellent blend between the spying and the romance between Penny and Charles. Definitely recommend this one!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2004

    LOVED IT!

    I couldn't put the book down. It was a wonderful read from the first page to the last. I can't belive I have to wait a year for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2004

    I loved it

    This was a great story by a great writer. The hero was fantastic and throughout the whole story I wished i could find a man like that. And aren't that what romance novels are for?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2004

    I¿ll Take Charles¿A Man of My Own

    Although I¿ve already read close to 200 romance novels this year (historical, medieval, erotic, contemporary, paranormal, etc.), this is the first book I¿ve ever had the guts to write my personal opinion on¿ Girlfriend (SL) is all that AND the bag of chips! I didn't think she could match the sensuality of 'Devil's Bride¿, but she dun did it again with her seductive exchange of Charles¿ and Penny¿s pent up sexual desires for each other, which spans 13 years of abstinence for Penny and maturing into manhood for Charles. Although neither will openly admit loving the other, their individual exploration of each other¿s passions, expresses their love not just physically, but blissfully includes their hearts and souls. Something the two were too inexperienced to understand 13 years earlier when Penny surrendered her heart and virginity to Charles. Now a grown woman, spinster at 29, and him a bachelor, Earl in need of a wife at 33, Penny offers Charles another personal ¿invitation¿; one in which she never extended to any other man since her first and only time with him. By continuously intensifying each kiss and embrace, they are awakened to each other¿s sensual growth and ripened maturity that only the nurturing of time and experience could hone; they welcome their differences as man and woman vs the experimenting adolescents of their past relationship. Their new relationship gradually develops, which now transcends the physical plane and drives deeper into their hearts. Penny and Charles are satisfyingly surprised by one another when they recognize their coupling isn¿t quite the same as they remembered that afternoon they tumbled in the barn when they were mere youths of 16 and 20 years old. Charles slowly builds his plan of seducing Penny into surrendering her heart to him and becoming his wife. She relinquishes her stubborn attitude of `I am in control and call all the shots of my life¿ and little by little allows him to be the man in her life; friend, lover and protector. Her fervent moments of passion burst out as he guides her to ¿heaven¿ again and again by candle light and moon light; saturating his personal pleasure with ensuring hers. SL articulates very well their maturity, as well as the soul satisfying giving and taking of pleasure betwixt the found again lovers. SL had me in Penny¿s spell when Charles whispered a moan, succumbing to Penny¿s ravenous hungry eyes and seeking hands, ¿Whatever you wish, however you wish. I¿m yours. Take me.¿ Ohmigod¿ The `who done it¿ murder mystery plot of the story will keep your mind contriving trying to out wit the author between the love scenes. Charles and Penny constantly share their ideas and are basically honest with each other in their joint efforts to clear her family name and find a brutal murderer and spy. Therefore, leaving little room for blatant deceptions (lies), allows them to `go hand and glove¿ in impromptu situations they face during their investigations. This is definitely a ¿deep read¿ ¿ more than the surface of words in a book¿mysteries of the heart¿s desires and yearning for the other half of one¿s soul mate to ¿complete¿ the longing to be loved as no other can possibly do. ¿Nadine ¿Madame Jazze¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A delightful romance

    In 1816 Bastion Club member Charles St. Austell feels good for some of his fellow founders that have found love and marriage, but also is impatient for him to find and marry the proper uncomplicated wife. With that in mind and the need to pick his own spouse without matchmaking interferences from well meaning mamas, Charles takes advantage of a Home Office assignment to learn if someone is smuggling secrets out of country near his home........................ At his house, Charles sees Lady Penelope Selborne sneaking around the home. Unbeknownst to him, Penelope believes that her distant cousin Nicholas is working with the smugglers and seeks the evidence to prove her assertion. As she gets embroiled in danger, Charles tries to keep her safe until he realizes he has fallen in love with an improper complicated woman............................... Though very similar to the previous tales (see A Gentleman's Honor) fans of Stephanie Laurens¿ rousing Regency romances will appreciate this latest romance as the lead couple competes to uncover the identity of who is giving away secrets to the smugglers. Charles does not believe Penelope meets his criteria for a wife although he cannot help being there as she faces perils because to his chagrin he loves her. Fans will enjoy observing the restless hyperactive Charles meet his match in the living on the edge Penelope............................ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2