Customer Reviews for

Lady of Milkweed Manor

Average Rating 4.5
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(81)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A MUST READ !!!!!!

I finished this book in only five days because I could not put it down. This story was so captivating that once it got a hold of me, it was hard to let go. When I wasn't reading this book, I was thinking about reading it. I will definitely be reading this again and I lo...
I finished this book in only five days because I could not put it down. This story was so captivating that once it got a hold of me, it was hard to let go. When I wasn't reading this book, I was thinking about reading it. I will definitely be reading this again and I look forward to reading THE SILENT GOVERNESS by JULIE KLASSEN. I hope that she will continue to come out with more wonderful and wholesome books.

posted by Orla on July 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Must Read!

I almost didn't buy the book due to a young woman in Regency England getting pregnant, but I'm glad I did. This story took me in a direction that I didn't know existed. You see the other side of what happens to a young unwed pregnant woman. It's sad to see one wrong nig...
I almost didn't buy the book due to a young woman in Regency England getting pregnant, but I'm glad I did. This story took me in a direction that I didn't know existed. You see the other side of what happens to a young unwed pregnant woman. It's sad to see one wrong night of passion can turn a womans life upside down and who has to bare the consequences. If you apply the moral of the story today, it should be a good lesson for young ones and even adults.

posted by Ladywolf71 on December 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    A MUST READ !!!!!!

    I finished this book in only five days because I could not put it down. This story was so captivating that once it got a hold of me, it was hard to let go. When I wasn't reading this book, I was thinking about reading it. I will definitely be reading this again and I look forward to reading THE SILENT GOVERNESS by JULIE KLASSEN. I hope that she will continue to come out with more wonderful and wholesome books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    A classic for our generation.

    I have read this book eight times and it still makes me cry and laugh and want to punch someone for the injustice of this world. This book is perfect. Worth fifty dollars put it on your wishlist its amazing. The perfect balance of love,betrayal,sacrifice,honor,deception and everything. Honestly read this book it will change your life. Then read it again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Must Read!

    I almost didn't buy the book due to a young woman in Regency England getting pregnant, but I'm glad I did. This story took me in a direction that I didn't know existed. You see the other side of what happens to a young unwed pregnant woman. It's sad to see one wrong night of passion can turn a womans life upside down and who has to bare the consequences. If you apply the moral of the story today, it should be a good lesson for young ones and even adults.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2013

    Modern Day Jane Austin

    If you enjoy period novels, this is for you... Julie's ability to transport you through time with situations common nowadays is unlike no other I've read. The Lady of Milkweed Manor was exactly one of these stories. I won't give away too much insight, but the reality of this family disgrace and how it was handled so long ago was somewhat saddening, and yet the end became inspiring.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Lady of milkweed manor

    Wow, this was a very touching story along the lines of wuthering heights. The author made the characters come to life with all of their short comings laid bare. I would like to see this book become required reading in high schools as a cautionary tale. It has the workings of a modern day classic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2012

    I adore this book and I adore this author. This book was a page

    I adore this book and I adore this author. This book was a page-turner that kept me up far too late a night reading. Klassen skillfully avoids the trap of formula Regency romance and provides a wealth of historic detail that fully immerses one in the era. I found myself constantly thinking that were possibly some of the experiences of Colonel Brandon's ward outside the pages of Sense and Sensibility. Klassen also successful avoids the too obvious outcome, in part because she successfully avoids making characters so one-dimensional that they are easily spotted as "obstacles" and easily dismissed.
    Did I mention I adore this book?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Different Side of Regency period

    This book gives us a different view of the regency period. Unwed mothers were frowned upon during this time period. How interesting it was to see that side of life. What happens when a "lady" falls into disreputable society because she got pregnant out of wedlock? I realize that Charlotte's story probably did not mirrow what most women in her position faced, but through Charlotte's story, you meet her friends who no doubt struggled in a different way than Charlotte.

    It's a touching story of lust, betrayal, and redemption. I loved it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Good read

    This was a true love story Very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Very good.

    I likrd the part where Charlotte was planting the tree to be pu next to her mother's grave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    I enjoyed this book and am looking forward to more of her work.

    I enjoyed this book and am looking forward to more of her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2014

    Lady of milkweed manor

    Terrible book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Wow

    I loved this book and have recommended to many friends. I read all this authors books. Keep up the good work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    I read everything from Julie Klassen!! I have always enjoyed hi

    I read everything from Julie Klassen!! I have always enjoyed historical fiction, but her stories are exceptionally well developed and include details that really bring you into the period! Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Have a box of tissues ready. The Lady of Milkweed Manor made me

    Have a box of tissues ready. The Lady of Milkweed Manor made me sit back
    and think. I am not a mother yet but this book made me ask "Would I
    take that big of a sacrifice for my child?" Hard as it would be, I
    would have to say yes, but I doubt I would be a strong as Charlotte.
    Julie Klassen mixed two romances and saved a little intrigue to sprinkle
    on the top that made me want to keep reading. This book show how far a
    parent's love will reach for a child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Sorry it ended

    This was one of those books where I didn't want it to end, yet I couldn't put it down. I fell in love with Lilly and really liked most all the characters. Well, not Dr. Foster!

    Will read more by this author and others like her. I also learned the meaning of several words while reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Okahana

    Mmm *looks at the hawwaiian pizza, grabs a peice and goes to sit down*

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Kekoa

    He comes in and grabs a hawaiian pizza. He then sits on the chair and eats it

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Excellent Read!

    I'd have given this book more star's if they'd been available.
    This book is gritty, sad, strong and tender. What this woman goes through is amazing, and more amazing is the way she handles it all. This book should make any woman living in a country such as ours, grateful for the times we live in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Entertaining, well-written, and thoughtful

    I find a lot of Christian authors sugar coat reality and avoid dealing with the more difficult themes in life. Not so with Julie Klassen. She addresses the issues directly with kindness and compassion. I loved the characters, loved the story, and would buy this book again in a heartbeat. The only downside was that I found the leap of time at the end a bit rushed, as if she needed to end the story quickly and summarized things to save time. Although it felt a little odd at first it worked fairly well for the point that was being made. Well-written, well-researched story with amazing character development. She is definitely going on the "favorite authors" list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    A real page turner!

    My hat's off, once again, to Julie Klassen! Her novels are so realistic, so historically and cleverly written until you cannot really rest until you have actually completed the novel. Although the life of the main character, Charlotte, has taken a tumultuous turn due to an unwed pregnancy, she presses on trying to make a life for herself. While family disowned her and friends ridiculed her, she became a survivor, carrying her burdens and always reaching out to to help others. Through historical documentation, the reader was allowed to glimpse into the Regency lives of unwed mothers, their institution and their lives afterwards. None boring because you are always thinking....WHAT? Even guessing to the end about Charlotte.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7