Customer Reviews for

The Lady of the Rivers (Cousins' War Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 175 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

I have really enjoyed reading this book. I have read the Red Queen and the White Queen, and would recommend all three. However, I wish Phjilippa Gregory had written this book first. If you are new to these books read The Lady of the Rivers first.

posted by onthegogma on May 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Slow start, but otherwise entertaining

Since i'm typing this out on my nook i'll keep it brief. I'm a sucker for this genre. Even though the rational part of my brain recognizes Greggory as a sub-par author, I'm still typical drawn into her books which range from great (TOBG) to downright unreadable (Wildacr...
Since i'm typing this out on my nook i'll keep it brief. I'm a sucker for this genre. Even though the rational part of my brain recognizes Greggory as a sub-par author, I'm still typical drawn into her books which range from great (TOBG) to downright unreadable (Wildacre series). This falls somewhere in the middle, and also falls short of its sequel The White Queen. In TWQ I found the characters much more dynamic and well thought out. Elizabeth actually has an arc. She grows and changes ovee time. Here.... not so much. The only really interesting character here is probably Margaret of Anjou. Also, for a story that takes place in an incredibly interesting period of history, not much actual history happens here. A lot of family dynamics, Greggory's incredibly annoying insistance that all woman of history were victims of men... she does this in every book, I swear, and maybe the occassional historical event thrown into the backseat. I find it hard to believe someone as important as Lady Rivers was to the royal court would have so little to say about what was happening on her lands and in her country. This could have been so much better. Still, I think its worth reading if you've enjoyed Greggory's other novels or you're a fan of this genre. Maybe not worth buying, but i'd reccomend lending a copy if you are interested.

posted by 10712448 on May 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 175 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I have really enjoyed reading this book. I have read the Red Queen and the White Queen, and would recommend all three. However, I wish Phjilippa Gregory had written this book first. If you are new to these books read The Lady of the Rivers first.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Great weekend read with great characters. Finished it in a couple of hours.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Slow start, but otherwise entertaining

    Since i'm typing this out on my nook i'll keep it brief. I'm a sucker for this genre. Even though the rational part of my brain recognizes Greggory as a sub-par author, I'm still typical drawn into her books which range from great (TOBG) to downright unreadable (Wildacre series). This falls somewhere in the middle, and also falls short of its sequel The White Queen. In TWQ I found the characters much more dynamic and well thought out. Elizabeth actually has an arc. She grows and changes ovee time. Here.... not so much. The only really interesting character here is probably Margaret of Anjou. Also, for a story that takes place in an incredibly interesting period of history, not much actual history happens here. A lot of family dynamics, Greggory's incredibly annoying insistance that all woman of history were victims of men... she does this in every book, I swear, and maybe the occassional historical event thrown into the backseat. I find it hard to believe someone as important as Lady Rivers was to the royal court would have so little to say about what was happening on her lands and in her country. This could have been so much better. Still, I think its worth reading if you've enjoyed Greggory's other novels or you're a fan of this genre. Maybe not worth buying, but i'd reccomend lending a copy if you are interested.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A powerful story

    Jacquetta is married to the much older Duke of Bedford, who is the English Regent of France. He has heard of her gift of second sight and introduces her to a world of education, which was not exactly the forte of women in this era. Jacquette was also introduced to alchemists working for the Duke. When the Duke passes away he leaves Jacquetta a very wealthy widow. Her only friend turns out to be Richard Woodville, the Duke's squire, who is at Jacquetta's side when her husband dies. The two fall in love and marry without the knowledge of the King, which is a no-no, for the King has to approve all royal marriages. They are fined and sent away from the Court of King Henry VI but are welcomed back eventually and Jacquetta becomes the Queen's closest confidante. The Woodvilles soon become friends of the Court although Jacquetta, in between childbearing (11 children), senses the growing threat from the royal rivals (Lancaster and York). The House of Lancaster tries to keep the Court intact but, the House of York want the throne and, during all this, the King is taken ill. Queen Margaret turns to untrustworthy people for help and the Duke of York threatens to overturn the kingdom. Jacquetta and her husband fight for the King and Queen and for their daughter Elizabeth Woodville. Jacquetta has foreseen a fabulous life for Elizabeth including a fortune and maybe the throne of England sometime in the future. This author is an acclaimed writer of British History. The Lady of the Rivers is another about the Lancasters and the Yorks who were both after the throne of England. These people were all related to each other as the readers can see when the family trees are printed. But, Ms. Gregory is a master storyteller and Elizabeth Woodville is the heroine who will become Queen when everything is figured out. This is a powerful story which is very passionate and as the author tells the legendary story of Jacquetta and Elizabeth Woodville the reader will become enthralled with the story of the Lady of the Rivers. Quill Says: This author is well-known in the field of English History. This book is part of a series called The Cousins' War, featuring the Plantagenets and tells of the Wars of the Roses, a very violent time in the history of the English Royals.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding storytelling

    In 1430 near Arras, France, in front of her great-niece fourteen year old Lady Jacquetta, Lady Jehanne asks her prisoner Joan to accept parole by reneging her vows from God and remaining at Lord Luxembourg's Castle of Beaurevoir. Though weary that she erred in crowning the king, Joan, still a country peasant at heart refuses. Jacquetta witnesses the execution of Joan declared a witch by the Duke of Bedford.

    In 1433 Jacquetta has no say as she is forced to marry recently widowed John, the English Duke Bedford Regent of France. He plans to use her powers to further his ambitions but dies before he can achieve his objective. Still a teen, Jacquetta is now a wealthy widow. The king and her family choose her next spouse, but Jacquetta refuses to obey. Instead she weds Richard Woodville. They have a happy marriage with many children as he serves King Henry VI at the royal court and she serves as the queen's loyal confident while anticipating after Henry the Lancaster dynasty will die too.

    The third Cousins' War historical thriller (see The Red Queen and The White Queen) is another interesting look at a strong woman who must conceal her fortitude in order to navigate the treacherous male waters. Lady Jacquetta is a fascinating protagonist as she learns from the execution of Joan and the marriage of the king's mother to a Tudor that being strong but smart is an asset even in a male only world. Genre fans will appreciate Philippa Gregory's entertaining medieval biographical fiction of an intelligent courageous woman who not only survives the War of the Roses; she observes her grandson become King of England.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Good read for gregory fans

    I have been a huge phillipa gregory fan ever since i read the other bolelyn girl and fell in love with it. This book definitely did not disappoint and i enjoyed reading it as a part of the trilogy based on the cousins wars. I liked it much better than the red queen and about as much as i enjoyed the white queen. Gregory really brings that time period to life and i particularly enjoyed the fact that it centers on a little known character from that time period. The story was engrossing and moved smoothly, i found it difficult to put down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    recommended

    It was a good contection to the others in the series. However, it didn't keep my interest as well as the previous books in this series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Just ok

    This book started out as a good read then I quickly became bored with the same old stuff chapter after chapter. Did not like the ending at all.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME READ

    This is supposed to be either the 2nd or 3rd in the series, I think it should be the 1st since it tells you about the Baron & Lady Rivers. The history is right on and the storytelling is very interesting and bring you into it. I read it in one night. Also read the White Queen. I got this book because of the mini-series, The White Queen and I wanted to learn more about Lady Rivers, who is Queen Elizabeth's mother. If you to learn about history but in a story not just facts thrown at you then you will like this book and basically all books by Philippa Gregory. She gives you the historical facts in a storylike manner and makes you care about that time period and the people that were involved in that time period. Wish my highs chool history book was like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Preordered, but won't let me read...

    I got an email that my preorder was complete, but I cannot open or even dowmload the book to my Nook Color...anyone else having issues?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Fantastic!

    Phillippa has done it again, I highly recommend the lady of the rivers!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    War of the roses

    Good, a little more fantasy involved but interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Excellent Historical Fiction

    I cannot decide whether I would suggest reading this book before reading The White Queen since the Lady of the River is the White Queen's mother. I realize these books are a progressive undertaking and are written as Philippa's interests expand. The interactions between the three heroines in all three books is exciting. Reaad on to the other two books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    Highly Recommend!!!

    I really liked Philippa Gregory's The Red Queen, White Queen, The King Maker's Daughter, and The Lady of The Rivers. I would read all four of those books. These ladies were powerful women for the 1400s England.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    A definite must read if you are into the Cousin's War novels.

    I especially enjoyed that it was also Jaquetta's love story. Not particularly seeking power like the other queen stories but living in her moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Lady of the Rivers

    Excellent & well written, I absolutly loved the "the cousins war" trilogy however I believe it best to read this book first.... it just makes more sense to read the series in not just historic, but chronological order. I would have to say that this one is my favorite followed closely by "the Kingmakers Daughters". Either way they should both be read before "The White Queen" or "The Red Queen". An absolute treat & with the majic & story of true love, its definetly Phillipa Gregory's best work (including the series) since "the other Bolyn Girl"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Yes

    So good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    A great read. I always enjoy historical novels by Phillppa Gregory.

    Very interesting. Philippa Gregory brings history to life through her novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Very good read!

    Have recently started reading Gregory's "Cousin's War" books. Really enjoyed this one about the mother of Elizabeth Woodville, wife of Edward IV. Will continue to read more of Gregory's books and any new ones in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    A must read!

    Beautifully written & captivating! Another excellent book from Philipa Gregory. I read this before reading The White Queen and I am very glad. This was a great introduction to The Cousin's War series and the lives of Jacuetta and Elizabeth. I love P.G.'s work and I look forward to reading more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 175 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9