Customer Reviews for

Lady of the Rivers

Average Rating 4
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

I have really enjoyed reading this book. I have read the Red Queen and the White Queen, and would recommend all three. However, I wish Phjilippa Gregory had written this book first. If you are new to these books read The Lady of the Rivers first.

posted by onthegogma on May 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Slow start, but otherwise entertaining

Since i'm typing this out on my nook i'll keep it brief. I'm a sucker for this genre. Even though the rational part of my brain recognizes Greggory as a sub-par author, I'm still typical drawn into her books which range from great (TOBG) to downright unreadable (Wildacr...
Since i'm typing this out on my nook i'll keep it brief. I'm a sucker for this genre. Even though the rational part of my brain recognizes Greggory as a sub-par author, I'm still typical drawn into her books which range from great (TOBG) to downright unreadable (Wildacre series). This falls somewhere in the middle, and also falls short of its sequel The White Queen. In TWQ I found the characters much more dynamic and well thought out. Elizabeth actually has an arc. She grows and changes ovee time. Here.... not so much. The only really interesting character here is probably Margaret of Anjou. Also, for a story that takes place in an incredibly interesting period of history, not much actual history happens here. A lot of family dynamics, Greggory's incredibly annoying insistance that all woman of history were victims of men... she does this in every book, I swear, and maybe the occassional historical event thrown into the backseat. I find it hard to believe someone as important as Lady Rivers was to the royal court would have so little to say about what was happening on her lands and in her country. This could have been so much better. Still, I think its worth reading if you've enjoyed Greggory's other novels or you're a fan of this genre. Maybe not worth buying, but i'd reccomend lending a copy if you are interested.

posted by 10712448 on May 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A powerful story

    Jacquetta is married to the much older Duke of Bedford, who is the English Regent of France. He has heard of her gift of second sight and introduces her to a world of education, which was not exactly the forte of women in this era. Jacquette was also introduced to alchemists working for the Duke. When the Duke passes away he leaves Jacquetta a very wealthy widow. Her only friend turns out to be Richard Woodville, the Duke's squire, who is at Jacquetta's side when her husband dies. The two fall in love and marry without the knowledge of the King, which is a no-no, for the King has to approve all royal marriages. They are fined and sent away from the Court of King Henry VI but are welcomed back eventually and Jacquetta becomes the Queen's closest confidante. The Woodvilles soon become friends of the Court although Jacquetta, in between childbearing (11 children), senses the growing threat from the royal rivals (Lancaster and York). The House of Lancaster tries to keep the Court intact but, the House of York want the throne and, during all this, the King is taken ill. Queen Margaret turns to untrustworthy people for help and the Duke of York threatens to overturn the kingdom. Jacquetta and her husband fight for the King and Queen and for their daughter Elizabeth Woodville. Jacquetta has foreseen a fabulous life for Elizabeth including a fortune and maybe the throne of England sometime in the future. This author is an acclaimed writer of British History. The Lady of the Rivers is another about the Lancasters and the Yorks who were both after the throne of England. These people were all related to each other as the readers can see when the family trees are printed. But, Ms. Gregory is a master storyteller and Elizabeth Woodville is the heroine who will become Queen when everything is figured out. This is a powerful story which is very passionate and as the author tells the legendary story of Jacquetta and Elizabeth Woodville the reader will become enthralled with the story of the Lady of the Rivers. Quill Says: This author is well-known in the field of English History. This book is part of a series called The Cousins' War, featuring the Plantagenets and tells of the Wars of the Roses, a very violent time in the history of the English Royals.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    recommended

    It was a good contection to the others in the series. However, it didn't keep my interest as well as the previous books in this series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    War of the roses

    Good, a little more fantasy involved but interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    Lady of the Rivers

    Excellent & well written, I absolutly loved the "the cousins war" trilogy however I believe it best to read this book first.... it just makes more sense to read the series in not just historic, but chronological order. I would have to say that this one is my favorite followed closely by "the Kingmakers Daughters". Either way they should both be read before "The White Queen" or "The Red Queen". An absolute treat & with the majic & story of true love, its definetly Phillipa Gregory's best work (including the series) since "the other Bolyn Girl"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    A great read. I always enjoy historical novels by Phillppa Gregory.

    Very interesting. Philippa Gregory brings history to life through her novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Very good read!

    Have recently started reading Gregory's "Cousin's War" books. Really enjoyed this one about the mother of Elizabeth Woodville, wife of Edward IV. Will continue to read more of Gregory's books and any new ones in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Following my disappointment with "The Red Queen", I wa

    Following my disappointment with "The Red Queen", I was hesitant to purchase this novel. I had feared that writing too many novels way too quickly had compromised their storytelling quality. I have read all the other Tudor novels as well as "The White Queen". (I found "The Red Queen" immensely boring and didn't finish it. On with this review.

    I very much enjoyed this novel and was sad to reach the end. Phillippa has crafted a great love story with Jacquetta and Richard. Jacquetta does appear in "The White Queen" since she is Elizabeth's mother. I didn't find any obvious inconsistencies with this character in both novels. I also enjoyed "Lady of the Rivers" 's early introduction to Elizabeth Woodville and her marriage to her first husband.

    Her historical backdrop was well done, and didn't take over the novel. I had more insight into Henry VI's illness and the ruthlessly ambitious personality of Margaret of Anjou. I believe that she portrayed the Queen accurately after some of my non-fiction reading on the period. I also found the references to alchemy informative (since I am a huge fan of "A Discovery of Witches".)

    A subtle theme of this book is Jacquetta's frustration with the powerlessness of women in this period.
    Jacquetta mentally fights against the centuries-old misuse of a charge of witchcraft against women who are too powerful or too intelligence for the men around them. Her thoughts on on the subject are subtlely interjected into the novel - but they do cause the modern women to think back on the plight of her sisters.
    Plenty of romance, the right amount of history, and a smattering of feminist philosophy. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Very good

    Im never dissapointed in Phillipa Gregory,Her research is worth ant\y read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Fantastic!

    This book kept me stuck in my seat untill i finished it, fantastic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    Another great read!

    I have read several books by this author. This one does not disappoint. Gregory always brings her characters to life in a way that makes me want to find out more. While she takes liberties with history at times, she weaves everything together very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Here Philippa does it again, a powerful, little known historical figure, A woman of power and a powerful personality, founder of maybe the most famous royal line in history. All Phillippa's heroines are strong women, far advanced in thought for their times. You'll love her too. Although so far my favorite is still Mary Boleyn (maybe because she was my first)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    You should read this!

    Philippa Gregory is a bestselling author in historical fiction. The Lady of the Rivers is the third book in her The Cousins' War series. However, this is the first book written by Ms. Gregory that I have ever read. Even though it's the third of a series, the novel read fine as a stand-alone.

    It's obvious a lot of research went into the novel, as a lot of historical facts were presented. However, the book never feels like a history textbook. Ms. Gregory manages to bring the historical characters to life, each with their own personality. Of course, the idea that Jacquetta was psychic and/or could practice magic is up to each reader to believe or not on their own.

    The story flowed well, but not always at a brisk pace. The plot got a bit hung up with excessive detail where no real action was going on; such as traveling here and there, and Jacquetta having yet another child.

    All in all, I enjoyed this book and think anyone who reads historical fiction will as well. I will be reading more of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Amazing

    Just as good as the first two. I can't wait for the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    As I am not a huge historical fiction fan, I don't tend to read a ton of books each year from this genre, but every so often I am drawn to a story not matter what year it took place. If I read historical genre, I usually lean towards Philippa Gregory because she has this unique ability to make a historical story feel accessible to any reader.

    This story centered around a mystical woman who is living in a time where people are very apprehensive of magic and mystical things. Through two marriages and many, many children - Jacquetta is a woman who has power when women don't usually have power or even a say in their lives. I loved how she exerted power, but also uplifted the man in her life as the center of the household. To learn about the impact that she had on future kings of England was interesting and really made her a bigger character that one may think at the beginning.

    I absolutely loved watching her "views" into the future come true in one way or another. That was something that kept me intrigued and reading way beyond page 200.

    A great read that is part of a series that is perfect to curl up with during these cold months. Add this one to your list as a readable and enjoyable historical fiction read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Highly Recommend if you enjoyed the others in this series

    I was really drawn in to this book, mainly because Jacquetta is such an interesting figure for me. It goes through her life before Elizabeth becomes queen (something I was hoping she would go into a little from Jacquetta's perspective).
    Many people have made comments about the novel being "repetitive", however I feel like this is underestimating the formality of the time. People were addressed by their titles whenever they were greeted or spoken about out loud. So if having "duke of bedford" mentioned pretty much every time they refer to him is annoying, then this book isn't for you. However, if you understand the need for this then you'll find it quite good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3