Customer Reviews for

Lady of the Rivers

Average Rating 4
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

I have really enjoyed reading this book. I have read the Red Queen and the White Queen, and would recommend all three. However, I wish Phjilippa Gregory had written this book first. If you are new to these books read The Lady of the Rivers first.

posted by onthegogma on May 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Slow start, but otherwise entertaining

Since i'm typing this out on my nook i'll keep it brief. I'm a sucker for this genre. Even though the rational part of my brain recognizes Greggory as a sub-par author, I'm still typical drawn into her books which range from great (TOBG) to downright unreadable (Wildacr...
Since i'm typing this out on my nook i'll keep it brief. I'm a sucker for this genre. Even though the rational part of my brain recognizes Greggory as a sub-par author, I'm still typical drawn into her books which range from great (TOBG) to downright unreadable (Wildacre series). This falls somewhere in the middle, and also falls short of its sequel The White Queen. In TWQ I found the characters much more dynamic and well thought out. Elizabeth actually has an arc. She grows and changes ovee time. Here.... not so much. The only really interesting character here is probably Margaret of Anjou. Also, for a story that takes place in an incredibly interesting period of history, not much actual history happens here. A lot of family dynamics, Greggory's incredibly annoying insistance that all woman of history were victims of men... she does this in every book, I swear, and maybe the occassional historical event thrown into the backseat. I find it hard to believe someone as important as Lady Rivers was to the royal court would have so little to say about what was happening on her lands and in her country. This could have been so much better. Still, I think its worth reading if you've enjoyed Greggory's other novels or you're a fan of this genre. Maybe not worth buying, but i'd reccomend lending a copy if you are interested.

posted by 10712448 on May 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 95 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    loved the whole series!

    This time in history makes so much more sense to me now ... and what an interesting series this would be for a womens' study group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Great

    A must read. wonderful book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    The first to read in this series! You'll find it fascinating.

    Very enjoyable. Read this book first, then "White Queen". There are good connections made when you read them in this order. After that, read "Red Queen". Both of those books are also by Philippa Gregory. I think "The Lady of the Rivers" was my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    great book

    holds your interest . well written . good story makes you want to read the whole series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Independent woman

    I really enjoyed this novel. It connected the series all together, making a huge timeline. It did drag at times but the main character jaquetta really was a strong and liyal woman. I would definitely reccommend this book. Worth the read :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Daysnight

    What ate you doing? -daysnight

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Skyleaf

    Smiles. Thats a beautiful necklace!! She says to Poppykit. And swimming would probably clean out the wound...Skyleaf

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Poppykit

    Sh didnt reply, Poppykit was at the bottom of the river, scavenging for treasure. Later, she came up, with something glinting in her mouth. It was a luminous crescent moon necklace, matching the mark on her paw. It glowed brightly when she put it on. In the middle, it had a carving of a wolf with a diamond for its eye. -Poppykit :3

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Mesmerizing

    This is Philippa Gregory's best book yet. A woman history has told us so little about comes to life with spellbinding skill and establishes the foundation for the Tudor history we all know. Historical fiction lovers...this is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Excellent

    Historical fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Loved it!

    This book was never slow. Intriguing story and anazung plot advancement..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!

    Another awesome read. I had a hard time putting this book down and read it in only 4 days. Philippa Gregory is able to the same story form different sides that it never gets boring. This book is a must read if you love English history. I can't wait for her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Big Fan

    I am a big fan of Philippa Gregory's writing style and topics and this book did not disappoint. As with all of her books that I have read, I could not put it down and am currently looking for another book of hers to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    New Favorite Book

    Philippa Gregory has, once again, written a keeper. I have never read a book by this author that I haven't enjoyed, but this one has definitely risen to the top as my favorite. It is one of those books that a reader can get lost in: Jacquetta's life becomes a part of the reader's reality. It is such a joy to read a book that recognises the power women always have held, even when it wasn't widely acknowledged. And the love that existed between Jacquetta and Richard is inspiring and delightful.
    I don't know what lapse in my education left me unaware of Jacquetta, Dowager Duchess of Bedford, Lady of the Rivers, descendant of Melusina the river goddess. Learning about the War of the Roses in school would have been much more interesting had there been a unit on her, for sure! (and yes she was a real person and the book is based on historical fact.)
    In case you also missed out in history class, Jacquetta of Luxembourg was born in about 1415 and at the age of 17 was married to John of Lancaster, first Duke of Bedford. This alliance to the Lancasters would be one she honored even in times of trial and disaster for the family. She became the second most powerful woman in England and ancester to the present British monarchy. From all accounts she was a strong willed woman who followed her heart no matter the cost. She is said to have dabbled in witchcraft, just a bit - or maybe more, who knows for sure. What we do know about her life sparks the imagination and Philippa Gregory used that spark to create a work of literary art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    anonymous

    Couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Another great book from Philippa Gregory

    I thoroughly enjoy all of Ms Gregory's books. I have read the Cousins' War Series, the Wideacre series as well as a few others. She is a very detailed writer and you really get to know the characters. I look forward to more wonderful hours with Ms Gregory and my Nook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Wonderful!

    Now waiting for 4, 5, & 6!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Enjoyable

    Having read the Red Queen and several other books in this series this was another viewpoint on the time period. It was delightful to read and made me feel as if the events and personalities were unfolding as I read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable

    I always enjoy Philippa Gregory's series. This was no exception. My only regret is that it came after the White Queen. I would have preferred to read it before The White Queen. I love to see strong women in historical fiction and Philippa Gregory does an amazing job with her portrayals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    Wonderful historic fiction

    Wish I had read them backwards! I already know what's going to happen but I still cannot put I down!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 95 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5