BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lady of the Rivers

Average Rating 4
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

I have really enjoyed reading this book. I have read the Red Queen and the White Queen, and would recommend all three. However, I wish Phjilippa Gregory had written this book first. If you are new to these books read The Lady of the Rivers first.

posted by onthegogma on May 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Slow start, but otherwise entertaining

Since i'm typing this out on my nook i'll keep it brief. I'm a sucker for this genre. Even though the rational part of my brain recognizes Greggory as a sub-par author, I'm still typical drawn into her books which range from great (TOBG) to downright unreadable (Wildacr...
Since i'm typing this out on my nook i'll keep it brief. I'm a sucker for this genre. Even though the rational part of my brain recognizes Greggory as a sub-par author, I'm still typical drawn into her books which range from great (TOBG) to downright unreadable (Wildacre series). This falls somewhere in the middle, and also falls short of its sequel The White Queen. In TWQ I found the characters much more dynamic and well thought out. Elizabeth actually has an arc. She grows and changes ovee time. Here.... not so much. The only really interesting character here is probably Margaret of Anjou. Also, for a story that takes place in an incredibly interesting period of history, not much actual history happens here. A lot of family dynamics, Greggory's incredibly annoying insistance that all woman of history were victims of men... she does this in every book, I swear, and maybe the occassional historical event thrown into the backseat. I find it hard to believe someone as important as Lady Rivers was to the royal court would have so little to say about what was happening on her lands and in her country. This could have been so much better. Still, I think its worth reading if you've enjoyed Greggory's other novels or you're a fan of this genre. Maybe not worth buying, but i'd reccomend lending a copy if you are interested.

posted by 10712448 on May 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    A Tudor must read

    History from the woman's perspective, imagined but I would imagine close to the truth. Women shaped the times from behind the scenes and I have a better understanding of all the people of that time through this look through the women. This applies to all of Phillipa Gregory’s books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    great

    great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    This book has been the best book out of the series so far. Great read if you look are looking for a book to read with historical history.You will get sucked in to the life of the main character Jacquetta.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Great book

    I enjoyed this book, although it took me longer to get through then the 1st two did. I couldn't stand Queen Margaret so I think it caused me to take longer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Loved it!

    The main character reminds me a lot of catherine de medicci. Judt the talents she had. But she is'nt vile like her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    Stunning imagery, magical, and mystical fiction!

    The story captured the essence of courtly life. Historically, the accuracy was portrayed in the lives of the characters. Get ready to fall in love with Richard!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    I loved this book and didt want it to end , cant wait till the n

    I loved this book and didt want it to end , cant wait till the next one comes out this summer ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    Great

    Would Loved to have known Jacquetta! What a strong and loyal woman. I would have loved to still get her point of view when Elizabeth actually made it to the throne.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Great book

    It keep me on my toes, it was a terrfic book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    loved the whole series!

    This time in history makes so much more sense to me now ... and what an interesting series this would be for a womens' study group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Great

    A must read. wonderful book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Following my disappointment with "The Red Queen", I wa

    Following my disappointment with "The Red Queen", I was hesitant to purchase this novel. I had feared that writing too many novels way too quickly had compromised their storytelling quality. I have read all the other Tudor novels as well as "The White Queen". (I found "The Red Queen" immensely boring and didn't finish it. On with this review.

    I very much enjoyed this novel and was sad to reach the end. Phillippa has crafted a great love story with Jacquetta and Richard. Jacquetta does appear in "The White Queen" since she is Elizabeth's mother. I didn't find any obvious inconsistencies with this character in both novels. I also enjoyed "Lady of the Rivers" 's early introduction to Elizabeth Woodville and her marriage to her first husband.

    Her historical backdrop was well done, and didn't take over the novel. I had more insight into Henry VI's illness and the ruthlessly ambitious personality of Margaret of Anjou. I believe that she portrayed the Queen accurately after some of my non-fiction reading on the period. I also found the references to alchemy informative (since I am a huge fan of "A Discovery of Witches".)

    A subtle theme of this book is Jacquetta's frustration with the powerlessness of women in this period.
    Jacquetta mentally fights against the centuries-old misuse of a charge of witchcraft against women who are too powerful or too intelligence for the men around them. Her thoughts on on the subject are subtlely interjected into the novel - but they do cause the modern women to think back on the plight of her sisters.
    Plenty of romance, the right amount of history, and a smattering of feminist philosophy. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    highly recommended

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    The first to read in this series! You'll find it fascinating.

    Very enjoyable. Read this book first, then "White Queen". There are good connections made when you read them in this order. After that, read "Red Queen". Both of those books are also by Philippa Gregory. I think "The Lady of the Rivers" was my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    great book

    holds your interest . well written . good story makes you want to read the whole series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Very good

    Im never dissapointed in Phillipa Gregory,Her research is worth ant\y read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    Although I have enjoyed reading it, I did not like the fact that

    Although I have enjoyed reading it, I did not like the fact that author
    wrote this book out of chronological order. I believe this one should
    have been first and then Red & White Queens. I would have loved to
    read the background on Elizabeth Woodville before I read the first two
    book in series. It look as if Gregory needs to fill in the series and
    therefore is going about finding good suitable subjects in the same
    timeline of 14-16th centuries. As I started to read it I wanted to
    reread other book in series and after I finished it was impossible not
    to go back and look up certain details in other books to see how it all
    fits in a timeline. Books in series typically are written IN
    Chronological order and not haphazard in order not to confuse the reader
    and this is exactly what author did with this book. It was a choppy
    writing and some facts do contradict throughout the story. After this
    book I am not sure if I am willing to delve into her last book in
    series, since it will also take a different timeline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Independent woman

    I really enjoyed this novel. It connected the series all together, making a huge timeline. It did drag at times but the main character jaquetta really was a strong and liyal woman. I would definitely reccommend this book. Worth the read :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Usually love Philippa Gregory

    Was not really impressed w/ this book. It dragged a bit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    Not as good as The Other Boleyn Girl. There was very little char

    Not as good as The Other Boleyn Girl. There was very little character advancement, and the events sped by so fast you weren't sure what was actually going on when. I found it very confusing and both slow and yet fast paced. Lady Rivers is supposed to be eloquent, very smart, as seen in the next book of the series, The White Queen, but there was very little evidence of this. Overall, not my favorite read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 174 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9