Customer Reviews for

Laird of the Mist

Average Rating 4
( 1096 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(464)

4 Star

(337)

3 Star

(186)

2 Star

(51)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

A fantastic read!

I read Ravished by a Highlander and fell in love with Quinn's writing so I decided to check out some of her other titles and came across this book. This is seriously the best book I have read in a while! The plot is good and transitions well, but that is not what made ...
I read Ravished by a Highlander and fell in love with Quinn's writing so I decided to check out some of her other titles and came across this book. This is seriously the best book I have read in a while! The plot is good and transitions well, but that is not what made this book a favorite - it is the characters! I love the humor between the men and the two main characters are just fantastic! A great read but be warned once you start reading it you will NOT be able to put it down!

posted by ChristieSC on January 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Not My Type of Book

This book was a good romance, but about mid-way on, it had way too much detailed sexual episodes. Really didn't need that, at all! The book was hard to catch my interest, but after awhile, I began to understand the relationships in this Scottish lore, but never actually...
This book was a good romance, but about mid-way on, it had way too much detailed sexual episodes. Really didn't need that, at all! The book was hard to catch my interest, but after awhile, I began to understand the relationships in this Scottish lore, but never actually finished it because of the sex scenes.

posted by vixa on June 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 464 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    A fantastic read!

    I read Ravished by a Highlander and fell in love with Quinn's writing so I decided to check out some of her other titles and came across this book. This is seriously the best book I have read in a while! The plot is good and transitions well, but that is not what made this book a favorite - it is the characters! I love the humor between the men and the two main characters are just fantastic! A great read but be warned once you start reading it you will NOT be able to put it down!

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2007

    Passionate Possession!

    Paula Quinn breaks away from her Risande Family trilogy with this masterfully written medieval of the highlands. It is a time in Scotland where the name of MacGregor has been declared under proscription wiped out from the name of all Scottish clans. The strong and handsome highlander Callum MacGregor and his darling of a sister Maggie grow up as small children surrounded in evil as they are imprisoned and shackled deep in the Campbell¿s dungeon, after their family was killed, their lands taken away, and their very name wiped away as a Scottish clan. Callum never gives up and his hatred grows as he continues to grow up in the dungeon. One day he finally escapes with Maggie by killing his captors and becoming known as the evil MacGregor. With the help of other sympatric clans he refuses to drop away and hide as anything but a MacGregor and instead becomes their laird. But the evil Duke of Argyll has made it his life¿s work to destroy all MacGregors, especially Callum and Maggie. As Argyll rides across the Scottish lands killing any and doing evil to those who harbor or claim to have helped the MacGregors, his beautiful niece Kate Campbell and her brother Robert, unbeknownst to them, live on Callum¿s previous lands, have been told that the MacGregors are considered evil, but do not understand the full effects until one day the large handsome Callum kidnaps her in order to use her as a lure to bring Argyll to him so he can finally kill him and earn his final vengeance. As Kate lives amongst Callum, Maggie and the MacGregor people, she not only falls in love with the highlands and its people, but deeply for Callum. Maggie and many other MacGregors want peace as well and fear for their handsome and strong leader and his continued thirst for vengeance. Can the deep, passionate and sensual love Kate feels for Callum, as well as the love of his sister Maggie and his people, make him realize the true meaning of life and happiness and overcome this severe vengeance and bloodshed? As Kate becomes possessed by Callum, the reader will become possessed by the story as well as the main and secondary characters, unable to put the book down. Laird of the Mist is a beautiful love story that will touch the deepest parts of your heart. It is masterfully written and will make you laugh and cry, with an ending that will not disappoint. If you loved Paula Quinn¿s other medieval romances, you will not want to miss this one and if you haven¿t had the pleasure of reading one of her books before Laird of the Mist, you will want to purchase them all to add to your collection. Her masterfully written medieval historical stories are a reader¿s joy!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic

    I loved this wonderful book. It was very well written. One of my favourite books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    AN entertaining Scottish historical romance

    In the seventeenth century laird Callum MacGregor swears he will not become the latest homicidal statistic of the perfidious Campbells over the past century members of the Campbell clan have assassinated every MacGregor laird. Instead Callum decides to lead a presumptive strike by attacking his enemy¿s stronghold leaving no one behind to ultimately try to kill him.----------- During the assault, Callum breaks his second rule of taking no prisoners as he abducts angry Kate Campbell with plans to use her as a hostage and an expendable pawn. She plans to escape starting with seducing her clan¿s enemy. As they fall in love, the Campbell clan is coming to liberate her with a retaliatory strike that includes leaving no one alive especially the Laird.---------- This entertaining Scottish historical romance focuses on a Romeo and Juliet with a love that neither of the feuding clans will blithely tolerate. With Callum stubborn when it comes to his belief that his enemy has murdered his predecessors and thus obviously distrustful, it is up to the courageous tolerant heroine to prevent a deadly battle and keep her beloved alive. Brave Kate steals the novel as she faces love, danger and treachery.----------- Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2009

    GREAT BOOK!

    this is the second book i've read by Paula Quinn and like the first one, i LOVED it. Paula Quinn is great in giving details about the story line and the characters. i couldn't put this book down and was sad when it came to the end. i will definitely re-read again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2008

    Could not put the book Down!!!

    I loved this book! It was so refreshing to read about a girl who could hold her own against a man and not be the typical damsel in distress. It is a must read! I know you will fall in love like I did!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Amazing!

    There is so much that happens in this story I don't know where to start, except to say, this is one heck of a story. Yes,as in all of her books there is sex, but I don't feel it is overly graphic, just right for the story. I loved all the character's, especially Maggie, I laughed and cried over her story as well as Callum. Kate is such a strong women, I loved how Ms. Quinn wrote her. You can't go wrong with this historical romance, or any of Ms. Quinn's books. I am glad the next book is about Graham. I loved that there is an Epilogue too.(ljb)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Amazing!

    My favorite Scottish romance by far! (And Ive read quite a lot of them!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!

    This is the book that got me hooked on historical romance, and I can honestly say that I haven't found one better than this. The flow of it was so realistic and smooth that I fell in love with Callum and Kate myself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    Very intriguing

    Captured me from the start. Love the period and the story. Can't wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    highly recommended

    This was a great read. I really enjoyed the characters and their relationships. I had not read any Paula Quinns books but will be going and checking other titles out. This book is a good weekend or poolside read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    You wont be dissappointed!

    This book had it all. Great romance, story, and characters. If you are a fan of highland romance, then i highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    Wonderful story!!

    This story has it all. I laughed, I cried, and I got angry at the injustice. The story line is wonderful and the characters are wonferfully described. Amazing story. I highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An amazing read!

    This book was my first romance novel and I can't begin to say how impressed I was by it. The story was engaging and the characters are memorable. I just couldn't put this down. It was a nice balance of romance and adventure. Highly recommended! After you've finished, check out the next MacGregor novel, A Highlander Never Surrenders. 5 stars!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Pulls at your heart!

    This was hands down one of the best Highland romance novels I have ever read. The story was excellently written and even made me tear up at one point. Quinn out did herself and I look forward to reading more of her novels in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Great Read!

    Couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    Highly recommend

    A great read. I really enjoyed all the characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Great+read

    The+story%2C+the+characters%2C+the+history+were+great%21

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    All time favorite.

    All time favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    great

    loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 464 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 24