Customer Reviews for

The Lake

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This book is haunting. It's one of those that, on the surface, is deceptively simple but that stays with you and invades your thoughts and dreams when you're not reading it. And since it's a relatively short book, it requires you to savor it, linger over passages that seem so common place and uncomplicated but that hit you like a truck when you let it sink in.

    What's it about? Ostensibly about two characters who have both experienced loss and, through an odd sort of courtship, find each other, learn how to love each other, and then help each other deal with grief. What the book does so well is show the organic process of building a relationship and overcoming grief.

    As in life, there are seldom quick answers to knotty issues like love and loss. What this book does so well is show how working through them is a process, how falling in love is a process, how coming to terms with pain is a process, and that it is those quiet, simple moments that we should recognize and revel in their power.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    A beautiful, hypnotic novel.

    I read this on my NOOK as part of the "Japan Literature Challenge 5" and absolutely loved it. It started slowly, but then I became completely mesmerized by the strange love story and the odd but wonderfully human characters. I highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Deeply moving.

    A beautiful unconventional love story about two damaged and fragile youths in the prime of their lives falling in love. I thought this novel, though short, was absolutely amazing and a truly moving read. Those two below that thought it was boring have no idea what they have missed. I would recommend this to absolutely any and everyone. 4.7 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    **A portion of all sales of this book will be donated to the Jap

    **A portion of all sales of this book will be donated to the Japan Disaster Relief Fund**

    Brief Synopsis: It tells the tale of a young woman who moves to Tokyo after the death of her mother, hoping to get over her grief and start a career as a graphic artist. She finds herself spending too much time staring out her window, though ... until she realizes she’s gotten used to seeing a young man across the street staring out his window, too.
    They eventually embark on a hesitant romance, until she learns that he has been the victim of some form of childhood trauma. Visiting two of his friends who live a monastic life beside a beautiful lake, she begins to piece together a series of clues that lead her to suspect his experience may have had something to do with a bizarre religious cult. . . .

    My Thoughts: I have read one other Banana Yoshimoto novel for a Non-Western literature class, and I loved it. Naturally, I was excited when I got this from NetGalley. I was not disappointed at all.
    Both Chihiro and Nakajima have suffered loss in their lives. Both are now motherless and their early family life left something to be desired. But, as they begin seeing more of each other, Chihiro learns that Nakajima has dealt with some incredibly painful things; things that she herself can not begin to understand.
    Nakajima is different and unlike anyone that she has ever met before. She has fallen in love with him before she even realizes it for herself and she reflects on when she realized it, and what made her love him. Of course, one of the things the reader wants to know most is, what happened to Nakajima? And although we don't find out until the very end, it is worth the wait.

    The layout of this book was a little different that I'm used to. It has no chapters, but everything flows together pretty well. Sometimes when things are translated, you lost some things somewhere in between, but I didn't see that happen here. There were some passages that were so moving and so poignant that I re-read them several times. This is a novel about love, but not in the traditional sense. It's a lot deeper than I expected it to be, which is always a nice surprise. She has a minimalist style of writing, which makes it easier for certain things to come through, and you don't get lost as easily.

    I really liked this book. I thank Melville House for sending me this, and giving me the opportunity to read this. Its a short read, but very powerful and wonderful. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys minimalist literary works. I give this book a 4.25 out of 5!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Painfully boring

    Pointless, dry, boring. Waste of my time and money. I have no idea where all the rave reviews came from - I bought based on the reviews but now I just wish I could get my money back. Seriously a terrible book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect minimalism

    I loved this book. I read it with a sense of breathlessness as each sentence drew me into the quiet rhythm of the next. Yoshimoto has an almost ethereal way of writing, of explaining things in spirals. Reading it feels like a dance.

    I love it when a writer can lead me into a place so different from my own, and in ever widening circles, explain it. I think Banana Yoshimoto does this. It is deceptively simple, it is Japanese, it is reserved and passionate. I highly recommend The Lake, but be aware that you are walking into a different kind of story telling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Fantastic book, beautifully written

    I loved this book. It lingers in my mind. I keep thinking about the ending, which was a surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    Dark, mysterious book about love in the wake of extreme trauma

    I've read one other Banana Yoshimoto book and this is perhaps my favorite. It's different from Kitchen in that there is something almost mystical and eerie about it. You still get everything you want: her offbeat characters and clean, precise writing. It's just that in this book there is a disturbing backdrop of dark secrets, hidden lives and though these things are unsettling they set the stage for a unconventional love story that you won't soon forget. Interesting read to say the least.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Imaginations Review of The Lake by Banana Yoshimoto

    Alright..this is another review I have been dreading, truthfully because I don't have a lot to say. And it's hard, because I hate when that happens. I feel like I'm doing the author a disservice. But here's the thing. This was a fairly short novel and to me it read more like a short story. Which would have been fine if I had been prepared for that going in. But I wasn't. This also the first Yoshimoto I have ever read and I did like it, but not as much as I thought I would. I'm going to try and articulate why.

    I like a certain amount of detail in my reading and I felt like that was lacking in The Lake. There were hardly any place descriptions and it was very hard to picture exactly what was going on. I know that doesn't matter to some people, but it matters to me.

    I also felt that there was an emotional disconnect. I didn't particularly care what happened to the characters, especially Nikajima, who I think the author intended me to have a lot of sympathy for. I just felt a complete lack of emotion for anything that was going on, and I found that to be a shame because the story had a great deal of potential.

    The idea of the plot and the summary of the story really drew me in and was what initially made me want to read the book. It sounded a bit scary and mysterious. Plus the cover is absolutely mesmerizing. I wish it had been as good as i thought it was going to be.

    The reason why I gave it three stars? I really enjoyed the writing style. I just wish it had been a little more detailed. She really does write beautifully. It's a very simple writing style, but manages to be quite poetic. And like I said, I really loved the plotline. I just feel the story would have been so much more if I felt emotionally invested in the characters, even if it was just a little bit.

    I am very interested in reading another Banana Yoshimoto though, and I have added a few of her books to my TBR list. Maybe I will have better luck with another book. I hope so, because I really appreciate what she was trying to do here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Eh

    Not for me

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1