Customer Reviews for

The Lake House

Average Rating 3.5
( 266 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(69)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Readers pleasure

This book begins exactly where the last one left off. I was involved form the start. James Patterson can get you so involved with his words that you see in your minds eye just what he is relaying. I can picture the "winged" children just as clear as if I was there. ...
This book begins exactly where the last one left off. I was involved form the start. James Patterson can get you so involved with his words that you see in your minds eye just what he is relaying. I can picture the "winged" children just as clear as if I was there. The best writers have that knack of drawing you in so you can't but their books down.

posted by mommafuzz on May 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Suspenseful Science Fiction

James Patterson¿s book, The Lake House, was rather a surprise since I expected a gripping murder mystery and got a science fiction story about children with wings that could fly. Nevertheless, Patterson grabbed my attention early in the story, and by keeping the chapter...
James Patterson¿s book, The Lake House, was rather a surprise since I expected a gripping murder mystery and got a science fiction story about children with wings that could fly. Nevertheless, Patterson grabbed my attention early in the story, and by keeping the chapters short for easy reading and filling the pages with action-packed happenings and/or dialogue, he kept the story moving. While I am not a science fiction fan, the story was interesting enough to keep me reading. The resolution to the plot was a bit downsized¿an entire hospital and many workers were involved, yet, they weren¿t mentioned in the resolution¿only the man responsible. If you read this book you will be rewarded with a happy ending for the characters.

posted by Anonymous on July 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 267 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    Readers pleasure

    This book begins exactly where the last one left off. I was involved form the start. James Patterson can get you so involved with his words that you see in your minds eye just what he is relaying. I can picture the "winged" children just as clear as if I was there. The best writers have that knack of drawing you in so you can't but their books down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    Suspenseful Science Fiction

    James Patterson¿s book, The Lake House, was rather a surprise since I expected a gripping murder mystery and got a science fiction story about children with wings that could fly. Nevertheless, Patterson grabbed my attention early in the story, and by keeping the chapters short for easy reading and filling the pages with action-packed happenings and/or dialogue, he kept the story moving. While I am not a science fiction fan, the story was interesting enough to keep me reading. The resolution to the plot was a bit downsized¿an entire hospital and many workers were involved, yet, they weren¿t mentioned in the resolution¿only the man responsible. If you read this book you will be rewarded with a happy ending for the characters.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great easy-read novel with romance, action, and drama.

    I couldn't wait to dive into this book after reading "As the Wind Blows" and I was not disappointed. It was a thrilling and heart touching novel to conclude a great story. I really enjoyed it and would recommend it to anyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Lake House

    This was an offbeat book. It was an interesting read and a little weird. I can't say that I enjoyed it as much as I have enjoyed some of James Patterson's other books. It was ok.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Bad

    Don't
    Wares your mony!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!#!##!!!!!!!#!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!""!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"!!!!!!?

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Got me reading again

    Great book very suspensful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Max 1?

    This book, plus the first one, sounds sooo much like the Maximum Ride series, also by James Patterson. I haven't read this series, but I can tell you that after reading the Max Ride over 12 times, I still count them as several of my favorite books. I know exactly what happens, and yet it never bores me to tears. That takes skill. ;) I highly reccomend this author. He writes great suspense novels, including Witch and Wizard, which I also highly reccomend!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Horrible

    I usually love his books but after reading this all I could think was this is horrible. The diaglogue between the characters is some of the worst I have ever read. It sounded as though he was writing a creative writing paper for high school. I couldnt connect with the characters which is unlike most Patterson books I have read. Skip this book and if you havent read it yet, try Suzannes Diary for Nicholas to experience just how great Patterson can be.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Rytyryd

    ATTENTION: EVERYONE READ MAXIMUM RIDE NEXT IT WILL BE YOUR BEST DESITION EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!:)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    Very disappointing!

    What was he thinking?? J.P.'s books are generally real page turners. I usually finish them in 2 evenings because I can't put them down. This book was very bazaar. I hated it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    FREAKIN HORRIBLE

    OMG!!!!! i read "when the wind blows" and thought it was fantastic! but this book... horrible. James doesn't keep the same plot through the story, puts one thing then goes on and the story continues like it didn't happen. and the ending was absolutly FRIGGEN GAY. i mean my god it absolutly sucked!!!!!!!! the whole book was boring and lame

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    The Worst Book I've Ever Made Myself Finish

    I loved When The Wind Blows and was excited to see this sequel. Unfortunately, it's not just disappointing but outright terrible. Between continuity errors(Icarus and Oz managing to switch ages, for one), child sex(they're twelve, which Patterson tries to cover by claiming they look eighteen - funny how they aged normally most of their lives but took a huge jump in aging when Patterson needed some kiddie-lovin'), and plot points that seem to have popped up in the wrong book, this is one worth missing. Patterson has lost his touch.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2014

    garbage.  

    garbage.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I read this book because I had read the prequel. I wanted an end

    I read this book because I had read the prequel. I wanted an ending to the story. This book was similar to the first book. The first book had a school, where the bad people performed experiments on humans to create super human beings. In this book, the bad people performed experiments on humans in a hospital to create super human beings. There was a lot of chasing and flying of the children with wings. At least the story had an ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    BryAnna Kaitlynn Domingo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Jaggedstorm

    Nearly jumped out of his pelt. "Yes I'm fine. When did you arrive?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Love Love Love

    Love Love Love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Lake house

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Highly recommeded

    Lake House was an exceptional read. I did not want to put it down. You need an open mind to understand different human beings and their everyday living to strive to stay and be a family. If you are curious about scientific experiments that result in unusual beings and them wanting to stay together, become a family unit and experience love; you will read this book! I have read other books written by James Patterson, I found this book quite different but written so you wanted to keep turning the pages. I feel a book club discussion would have many different avenues to discuss about Lake House.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    The follow up to "When The Wind Blows" seemed a little

    The follow up to "When The Wind Blows" seemed a little hokey to me. I just could not by the premise of "The Hospital" and their great escape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 267 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14