Customer Reviews for

The Lake House

Average Rating 3.5
( 266 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(69)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Readers pleasure

This book begins exactly where the last one left off. I was involved form the start. James Patterson can get you so involved with his words that you see in your minds eye just what he is relaying. I can picture the "winged" children just as clear as if I was there. ...
This book begins exactly where the last one left off. I was involved form the start. James Patterson can get you so involved with his words that you see in your minds eye just what he is relaying. I can picture the "winged" children just as clear as if I was there. The best writers have that knack of drawing you in so you can't but their books down.

posted by mommafuzz on May 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Suspenseful Science Fiction

James Patterson¿s book, The Lake House, was rather a surprise since I expected a gripping murder mystery and got a science fiction story about children with wings that could fly. Nevertheless, Patterson grabbed my attention early in the story, and by keeping the chapter...
James Patterson¿s book, The Lake House, was rather a surprise since I expected a gripping murder mystery and got a science fiction story about children with wings that could fly. Nevertheless, Patterson grabbed my attention early in the story, and by keeping the chapters short for easy reading and filling the pages with action-packed happenings and/or dialogue, he kept the story moving. While I am not a science fiction fan, the story was interesting enough to keep me reading. The resolution to the plot was a bit downsized¿an entire hospital and many workers were involved, yet, they weren¿t mentioned in the resolution¿only the man responsible. If you read this book you will be rewarded with a happy ending for the characters.

posted by Anonymous on July 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Bad

    Don't
    Wares your mony!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!#!##!!!!!!!#!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!""!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"!!!!!!?

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Horrible

    I usually love his books but after reading this all I could think was this is horrible. The diaglogue between the characters is some of the worst I have ever read. It sounded as though he was writing a creative writing paper for high school. I couldnt connect with the characters which is unlike most Patterson books I have read. Skip this book and if you havent read it yet, try Suzannes Diary for Nicholas to experience just how great Patterson can be.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    Very disappointing!

    What was he thinking?? J.P.'s books are generally real page turners. I usually finish them in 2 evenings because I can't put them down. This book was very bazaar. I hated it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    FREAKIN HORRIBLE

    OMG!!!!! i read "when the wind blows" and thought it was fantastic! but this book... horrible. James doesn't keep the same plot through the story, puts one thing then goes on and the story continues like it didn't happen. and the ending was absolutly FRIGGEN GAY. i mean my god it absolutly sucked!!!!!!!! the whole book was boring and lame

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2008

    The Worst Book I've Ever Made Myself Finish

    I loved When The Wind Blows and was excited to see this sequel. Unfortunately, it's not just disappointing but outright terrible. Between continuity errors(Icarus and Oz managing to switch ages, for one), child sex(they're twelve, which Patterson tries to cover by claiming they look eighteen - funny how they aged normally most of their lives but took a huge jump in aging when Patterson needed some kiddie-lovin'), and plot points that seem to have popped up in the wrong book, this is one worth missing. Patterson has lost his touch.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2007

    The Lake House: One Turkey That Does Not Fly.

    Possibly one of the worst books I've ever read!!! In fact it was so bad I could not put it down as the steadily deteriorating plot,wonderfully unbelievable characters and banal use of language kept me in stitches!!! Could someone please send me Patterson's address so I can post him a thersaurus!!! It might also be an idea to sneak up to his computer and remove the 'exclamation mark' key!!! If an author can't write a sentence using words to express surprise and shock then an exclamation mark is not really going to help much!!!! Still, you have to admire the guys guts in publishing the Lake House - he had a dream to cash in with this sequel no matter what the personal cost. I think part of the problem was that Patterson was not really sure who his target auidence was going to be - teenagers or adults - and so the novel flipflops between gushing adolescent sentimentality and daytime TV melodrama. Patterson wanted to write 'page turners' but with 'The Lake House' he has managed a 'page burner'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2007

    Not his best work

    This was not one of James Patterson's greatest work. It wasn't exciting and it didn't keep you on the edge of your seat. I also didn't like the ending to the story. This book didn't live up to the it's expectations unlike the Maximum Ride series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2006

    Are you serious?

    JUST PLAIN WEIRD. If you can get past people with wings, weird experiments, duplicate humans, courtroom drama, weird drama, children on their own...I can't even explain the weirdness here. Now, I did enjoy a good hand full of other Patterson books...just stay away from this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2006

    Waste of Time

    This is by far the worst Patterson book I have ever read. I wish I had put it down when I first thought I should. Kept hoping it would get better - it got worse. Not exciting, no depth, not believable at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2005

    Skip this book

    I was very disappointed with this book. The first book was so well written, it couldn't put it down. This one took me two weeks of on again off again reading to get through it. Don't waste your time or money on this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2005

    Horrific

    I am sorry, but this book was terrible. I truely can't believe I even finished it. As first I was captivated, but it did not take long before I became bored and frusterated. The plot just kept going, and going, and going. Ultimately, the plot does not take readers anywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2005

    LAME!!!!

    I have enjoyed all the Alex Cross books and many of Patterson's others, but this was pretty bad. Anyone who is slightly educated will be left empty and annoyed with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2005

    CORNEY AND STUPID

    One of the worst books I have ever read besides, 'When The Wind Blows'. Can't believe I kept reading, I thought surely it would get better, but it never did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    There are a lot of better ways to spend your time.

    Winged children? I think not. I'm pretty easily entertained, but I had a headache from all the eye rolling I did while reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2005

    worst book I've read this year

    This was a very disappointing book. The plot was weak and the end was so abrupt that I thought I was missing some pages. I read When the Wind Blows and liked it but this was a pathetic attempt at a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2005

    Written for an Eight year old

    I read When the Wind Blows when it first came out and loved it. I was eagerly awaiting this book but was extremely disappointed. It seemed like it was written for children. It's too bad. I used to really enjoy this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2005

    Perhaps the dumbest book I've ever read!

    Even if one were to buy the 'flying children' premise, the custody battle, and the evil scientist plot relating to the children, the secondary plot--yet another evil scientist plot that involves 'shucking' people to provide everlasting life to those who have the money to pay for it (including former world dignitaries), is ridiculous. There is way too much going on in this book; it's over-plotted, over-written, and 'underwhelming.' I'm just glad that I got it from the library and didn't waste my money buying it. I had avoided James Patterson for years, and now I see why. He's on my avoid list forevermore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2005

    Worst book

    I read the first book a couple of years ago and enjoyed it. Well this book is just awful. There is no other way to put it. Patterson usually tells a good story even if the writing is not the best, but here he does nothing right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2005

    Patterson 's birds take a nosedive.

    Genetically engineered bird children under threat from a mad scientist? If this isn't from the B movie reject pile I don't know what is. Patterson is having a laugh isn't he? This novel reeks of complacency from an author who knows he fools most of the people most of the time. It's clumsily written;has a Dick Dastardly moustache-twirling villain; and is positively toe curling in the clinches (the turtle dove love scenes made me want to eat my pillow). A truly suspense-free zone that reveals Patterson for what he is -- an overpaid ham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2004

    WHY WHY?

    This was the worst book I have read in a long time...I bought the book for the author believing that I have enjoyed his works in the past....but not anymore...LAME!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4