Customer Reviews for

The Lake of Dead Languages

Average Rating 4.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    excellent read!!

    my absolute favorite book of all time. I am a very avid reader, but this one gets me again and again. countless times I have read it, and it never gets old. I recommend this book to anyone reading this review! great read, you wont regret it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    One of my favorite books

    Lake of Dead Languages is one of my favotite books. And because it is, I have read all of Carol Goodman's other books and liked them just as much. I would recommend her novels to any of my friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best of Goodman's Books

    Of all Carol Goodman's books, this is my favorite. This shape-shifting novel is suspenseful and engaging, while still fitting the hallmarks of a coming-of-age story. If you liked this book, I recommend reading Donna Tartt's The Secret History. It is a more sophisticated, though slower moving, but very intricately woven novel. Follow me on twitter for more books reviews!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Fantastic

    I came across this novel and have since been a huge fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    3 stars

    I really enjoyed this book but I couldn't help but keep questioning the integrity of the main character. The plot was great, if a bit sad, but definitely keeps you reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    A creepy first effort by an author that has several titles avail

    A creepy first effort by an author that has several titles available, but is new to me. I really enjoyed parts of the novel while others dragged a bit. Still, the spookiness will make me pick up a second offering from Ms. Goodman when I get the chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2012

    One of my all time favorite books!!! (:

    One of my all time favorite books!!! (:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Good mystery

    Good character story pliot and good mystery idea and good with myths well writing you will love it i fell for teen and twe
    ntyyearsold

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Decent Thriller

    Read this book with my bookclub. Our opinion of the novel was split. A few of us loved it but the majority of the club just thought it was alright. I had a hard time getting into the story, in fact it wasn't until the middle of part two, which is about halfway through the book that I was hooked and actually wanted to keep reading. Overall, the plot was intriguing and dark but the end was a bit predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Enigmas and Revelations

    I first came across this book when browsing through a site dedicated to reviewing recommended works. From the sample read on this site, I was immediately pulled into the altruistic love Jane received from the two people who would change her life forever. It was too good to pass up, and after purchasing the book it took me little over a day to finish.

    Even after the deaths of her three friends during her stay at Heart Lake, Jane Hudson returns as a Latin teacher in hopes of starting anew. When the apparent suicides begin happening again, she is forced to face her past and find the connections between the two sets of scandals, as well as the hidden secrets she never expected to discover.

    It was a mesmerizing read. Carol Goodman has become one of my favorite authors as she flawlessly wove the past and present together into one tantalizing novel you'll find hard to put down.

    The few imperfections are minor, having to do with the unrealistic reactions the characters sometimes display. However, Goodman's alluring style, written in the perspective of Jane herself, can easily conceal those faults, instead attracting readers to the chilling and jaw-dropping storyline.
    Once read, it is not a story one is able to forget about with ease.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    My new favorite author

    I wasn't really expecting much from this book since I'd never heard of this author before, but the she has a way of drawing you into her story. And she writes beautifully.

    The story is about a woman who finds herself going back home to a place she never thought she'd end up at again, whose past there is sad and complicated. When she returns she realizes someone there knows what happened those many years ago and that they have her old journal. Now, her students are dying and her journal pages are being left behind like clues. The killer is playing out the scenes from those many year ago and it's only a matter of time before she's next.

    I felt like i was right there with the characters, experiencing everything with them. I liked how she dragged out the mystery and drama of the story. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone looking for something new to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Secrets Galore

    This novel was chalk full of secrets. The secrets came tumbling out from about midway through right up until the end. The author set up the story well enough that hints were dropped but you were still surprised by most of the outcomes. It makes you wonder how the decisions that you make in the heat of a moment as a teenager can change both your life and the lives of those around you. Do we walk around in our own bubbles, unable to see what is going on, only what we want to see?
    Overall, i enjoyed this book and would recommend it for a rainy day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    Original story

    Former Latin students will enjoy turning the pages of this book. The characters are compelling, and I really did want to find out what was going to happen next! The Latin references really add to the whole experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING

    I read this book about 6 years ago when a friend recommended it. As soon as i started it, i couldnt put it down and it is truly one of the best books ive ever read. I read a lot, and am somewhat critical of books, and this one is just absolutely amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Huanting

    Some element of this novel is remarkably memorable. I read it a few years ago and yet I still find myself thinking about it. The mystery is all wrapped up in the climactic page-turning finale, and yet something is never quite answered for me. I really just don't understand what it was that happened to the Tollers. On a different note, the characters were well thought out. Everyone knows a Lucy someone who is unexplicably a natural born leader. Also, we can all relate to feeling left out in that group of three. Overally, well worth the purchase.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    A reviewer

    I liked the plot, and the characters. I didnt care for so much Latin trying to read the Latin, would cause me to loose my place. It kept you guessing nearly to the end. Just okay for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2007

    Keeps you guessing!

    This book will keep you guessing until the end. Carol Goodman did an excellent job of showing details of the story. If you like mystery,suspense and a surprising ending you'll LOVE this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2007

    Not very surprising

    ok, Im not going to lie, I normally despise anything that may have the effect of scaring the beejesus out of me, but this book I was ok with. But maybe that's because as I progressed further and further into the plot I was actually guessing what was going to happen next and being right. I was never surprised when the villian came forth and I never felt truly related to the characters. It's a good read, but I like to be surprised when I read something like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2007

    Kept my interest

    Good read that kept my interest. I was able to predict a few things in the book, but that's common when reading a mystery. There are only so many possible suspects in a mystery and I sometimes know the first few pages. This book took me a little longer and the story kept me interested even though I knew the mystery. It was very well written and I liked the Latin element. It also had a supernatural eerieness that I enjoyed. It alternates between the past and present and the author weaves the two with skill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2007

    Great start, then, unfortunately it's downhill from there..

    Ms Goodman is a gifted writer. Her word pictures of the lake---the moaning, the shifting of the ice, the frigid mists, the swirling snow---I nearly developed hypothermia reading her descriptions. But yikes, the plot! Ms. Goodman's talents are worthy of better subject material. I was absorbed by the writing but by the end of book I could have kicked myself for wasting my time on this silly piece of fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6