Customer Reviews for

The Lake of Dead Languages

Average Rating 4.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2007

    I was disappointed

    I read this book based on a recommendation after reading The Secret History by Donna Tartt which is a far superior book. I couldn't help wondering if Ms.Goodman read that book also before writing this novel. The similarities are unusual to say the least. I foundthis book to be dull and I only finished it because like many other readers I hate to leave a book unfinished . Don't waste your time read Secret History instead .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2006

    Cor Te Reducit!!!! An eerie, enchanting novel which claps the reader's heart strings.

    I read this book about a year ago for the first time. I've read so many books, but never have I been more involved in a book as this. I couldn't put it down and I stayed up for 2 entire nights reading it. I've read it 100 times since. The lake pulls in the characters and the reader. I also loved the latin element. Cor Te Reducit everyone, the heart leads you back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2005

    First time I read this author

    This is the first book I read by this author. I thought the book was very well written and it had a great plot. The book kept you interested the whole way through. Parts of the book were very strange and alittle unnerving, I wish the sex parts would have been left out. I would still recommend this book to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2004

    Good start that never materialized to a good finish...

    I really wanted to like this book. I did. The beginning was intriguing, and I liked the whole theme of college-age girls at boarding school on a creepy lake, etc. However, the strong start gave way to a variety of (fairly boring) sub-plots, all with predictable endings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2004

    Dark, Gothic, An Unbearable Heart-breaker, Has a Uncontrollable Gravitational Pull

    I loved this book. It was amazing. It opened your eyes to the truth of teenagers and yet it still kept the errie feeling of mystery. It had a great script and was beautifully written. I would not recommend it though for anyone under 14, and they would need to be very mature. It is a book for mature young-adults. It pulls you in and makes you never want to put it down. It had a lot of suspense and was a thrilling read. I cannot wait to read The Seduction of Water.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2004

    not bad but not the best

    the comparison to The Secret History is ridiculous. the book is ok, but the protagonist is weak and boring. descriptions of a lake and ya ya ya...extremely predictable, lot's of twists and turns better than her first novel though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2004

    Pretty Good

    This is the first of Carol Goodman's that I have read. I did skim through a bit of the end, but for the most part I was enthralled. Some of the 'twists' were predictable while others caught me off guard. The romance at the end was well done- believable and not too cheesy- I thoroughly enjoyed it, and would recommend it to other readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2004

    13 year old

    This novel was great! I couldn't put it down. This is one of the best books I have ever read and I would recommend it to anybody who loves a suspenseful mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2004

    Weekend Read

    I found the book to run a little flat towards the end, however, it was pleasurable all the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2004

    Good but Depresing

    After reading this book with a friend, we discused our feelings that we had about it. Yes, it was an amazing page turner that you wanted to know what was going to happen, but, it was depressing. Many of the characters took the wrong turn in life. They turned to drugs, sex, and suicide at a very young age. Great read that I would reccomend, but not to someone that has gone through crisis recently, bad memories might be conjured up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2004

    A MUST READ

    MADE YOU WONDER IF PEOPLE LIKE THAT ARE REALLY OUT THERE DOING THINGS THAT TOOK PLACE IN THE BOOK. IT WAS A BOOK THAT I COULD NOT PUT DOWN. WHAT HAPPENS TO THE GIRLS IN THIS BOOK ARE DISTURBING, BUT JANE SHE HAD IT ROUGH FINDING OUT WHAT REALLY HAPPENED WHEN SHE WAS YOUNGER AND THAT SHE WAS INVOLVED IN.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2004

    wonderfully intense page turner!

    I loved this book! The author lets you in on clues so you feel like you're one step ahead of the characters. She also captures the atmosphere of New York's Adirondack region and Hudson Valley perfectly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2004

    great novel!!

    this novel is soo good! I couldnt put it down. I'm only 15, but I understood it wonderfully. As i read it, the author gave such vivid details that I felt as if I were a character in the novel. But i also felt like I knew things the characters didn't because the author gives you more insight to what happened and gives you little clues and kind of makes you think about what really happened. I would recommend it to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2003

    Must Read for Murder Mystery Readers

    I liked the book -- but the characters in it were very dark and some negative people. A definate page turner and not a waste of your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2003

    a Captivating suspense novel

    this is the best book ive read in a long time. a book dripping with meaning on every page. Carol Goodman captrues the minds of the reader as you are put behind the scenes of a nightmare that became reality. defenently worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2003

    Excellent worth reading again and again!

    I loved this book! As you read you feel one step ahead of the main character sometimes wondering what she is thinking. However, new clues are given all the time and your ideas change. I could definately read this again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2003

    Don't Waste Your Time

    This book borders on misogyny- it is populated by female stereotypes, mostly negative. The women in the book are either manipulative or easily manipulated by other women. In the end, the female protagonist has to rely on a man to save her, classic Knight in Shining Armor baloney. The plot is too complex, convoluted, and in the end not believable. Don't waste your time with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2003

    Spellbinding!

    The writing is excellent and the story absorbing. This is one of the best books I have read in years. Fast-paced and intriguing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2003

    A Decent Summer Read

    I found this book to be well-written. Ms. Goodman keeps the real identity of the antagonist well-hidden untill the last possible minute. I was disappointed that Jane was too wrapped up in her own miasma to connect the past and present. The ending seemed to me like the author was told 'wrap up the loose ends in as few words as possible.' Or maybe, that's the way small towns are...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2003

    really bad book disguised in pretty good writing

    this book has a seductive book cover illustration, a great title, good grammar and syntax and a flimsy, cheap plot with no integrity. the mystery is so blatantly obvious early on and even the characters know they aren't true to themselves by stating such whenever they change spots. big disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6