Customer Reviews for

The Lake of Dreams

Average Rating 3
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(34)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I highly recommend.

In this multi-faceted story Lucy Jarrett is at a crossroads in her life and goes on a personal journey, taking the opportunity since she is jobless at the moment and with her Mom's accident decides, to go home. Questioning her relationship with her boyfriend, she contem...
In this multi-faceted story Lucy Jarrett is at a crossroads in her life and goes on a personal journey, taking the opportunity since she is jobless at the moment and with her Mom's accident decides, to go home. Questioning her relationship with her boyfriend, she contemplates rekindling the affections of an old flame. While there, she finds some hidden letters that capture her interest and she decides to embark on a quest to find out the mystery behind them and her father's death. This is a vividly detailed, beautifully written, simple, yet succinct novel that will appeal to many. I highly recommend.

posted by BLUEEYEBE on January 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

This book, after the huge success of "The Memory Keeper's Daughter" is really very disappointing. Lucy Jarrett, the main character, is a whiny, annoying person. She's self-absorbed and never stops to think of others.

I bought the book based on Kim Edwards' great ...
This book, after the huge success of "The Memory Keeper's Daughter" is really very disappointing. Lucy Jarrett, the main character, is a whiny, annoying person. She's self-absorbed and never stops to think of others.

I bought the book based on Kim Edwards' great story in her last book, this one leaves me cold.

posted by AndyAC on January 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    This book, after the huge success of "The Memory Keeper's Daughter" is really very disappointing. Lucy Jarrett, the main character, is a whiny, annoying person. She's self-absorbed and never stops to think of others.

    I bought the book based on Kim Edwards' great story in her last book, this one leaves me cold.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2011

    This memory not worth keeping

    I was delighted to find Ms. Edwards latest offering, and rushed right home to read it. I should have taken my time. Edwards' writings are beautiful,her research well done. This plot, however, never thickened. The main character,Lucy,is extremely annoying - a trait that obviously runs in her family. It would be hard to assemble a more unlovable cast of characters than those of the Jarrett clan. Throughout, Lucy never missed an opportunity to make the many tragedies in this story all about her. I was certain that she would pay for all of this in the end, but no. By the close of this tale, I was praying that Iris would come forth and tell Lucy to mind her own business. I can't conclude that Rose really did anything admirable by dumping her child and running off to join the circus. What was the message here? The suffrage movement took precedence?

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    A Little Boring

    I so looked forward to this book, as I loved The Memory Keeper's Daughter. Both were complex stories, but where Memory Keeper kept you wanting more and kept you enthralled in the story, The Lake of Dreams only left me wanting to finish. None of the characters were really fleshed out; boring. The parts concerning the letters to Lisa were just plain overdone and drawn out. This book could have been so much more.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Great read, wonderful prose

    I see a lot of negative reviews on here stating the characters are not likable. They are flawed, and justice is grey. I feel this makes them more realistic and relatable.

    The novel is written in the first person so you are subject to all of Lucy's inner thoughts, selfishness, and paranoia. But this is a book about emotional growth and overcoming loss. It is a book about how that strain plays out subconsciously though dreams and desires. Without that perspective, we would not see the same growth, or lack of growth in the characters.

    It is helpful to have some knowledge of the womens suffrage movement and general knowledge of the early 20th century in order to fully appreciate Rose's side plot. A lot of the themes in this book have to do with pride in your heritage, and how the things we are proud of change based on culture and status. It attests to how our perceived knowledge of our past (or lack thereof) shapes our self-image.

    The novel is also about guilt and how we make amends for that guilt through faith and good works. There is a line drawn connecting several different cultures' creation myths and the similarities therein. As much as the various characters feel set adrift, they are connected through these commonalities.

    All of the many subtle themes running through this novel are all drawn delightfully together through Kim Edwards' beautiful prose. The imagery is very moving. The auther wraps the tones of water throughout all of the passages.

    I read this book straight through, getting lost in its lyracism. It is well worth the read. If you do read it, you will be overcome with the desire to go sailing.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    Don't bother

    A huge disappoint. Shallow characters, weak plot, choppy writing that needed better editing.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    I highly recommend.

    In this multi-faceted story Lucy Jarrett is at a crossroads in her life and goes on a personal journey, taking the opportunity since she is jobless at the moment and with her Mom's accident decides, to go home. Questioning her relationship with her boyfriend, she contemplates rekindling the affections of an old flame. While there, she finds some hidden letters that capture her interest and she decides to embark on a quest to find out the mystery behind them and her father's death. This is a vividly detailed, beautifully written, simple, yet succinct novel that will appeal to many. I highly recommend.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    Very disappointing

    The Lake of Dreams was very disappointing. The main character. Lucy, lacked any depth and was at times very annoying. As a matter of fact, none of the characters were very interesting. The focus of the story took forever to get anywhere. It wasn't until three quarters of the way into the book, that the plot emerged. The author wandered all over the place. I read the Memory Keepers Daughter and loved it. The Lake of Dreams was "dreamless" and not worth the time and effort of reading it. Would not recommend.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    Average

    this is the type of book you want to borrow from the library and not one to purchase - Kim Edwards writes the characters nice but they will not stay with you after you are done the book // Lucy (the main character) becomes very consumed with past events and her family past but is very distant to her "here and now" family; she treats her mother and her brother like they don't matter - and her mother is not much better to her two children // I did like the fact that the ending was not expected but it was not also filled with a "dramatic twist" - it was, again, ordinary and real life like // TO PAST EDWARD READERS: give kudos to the fact that Kim writes this story very differently then "Memory Keeper" where we, the reader, were aware of all the story threads wherein "Dreams" we were kept on the out - two very different story-telling styles which I would assume is not at all easy

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautifully written, well worth reading.

    I enjoyed reading this book. Who hasn't questioned the direction they've taken, wondering if one past decision, word or action, might have changed their life. One thing is certain, the past is written in stone and can never be changed, but the future offers promise and hope. Lucy Jarrett having spent the past ten years working in exotic places like Jakarta and Japan, now unemployed and restless, decides to return home to The Lake of Dreams. Unsettled by the changes in her mother and childhood home, haunted by memories of her father's untimely death and being reaquainted with old friends and family, Lucy begins to question the choices she's made and the direction of her life. Obsessed by the discovery that her great grandfather had a sister that seems to have been written out of her family's history, Lucy begins searching for the mysterious Rose and her illegitimate daughter Iris. The story of Rose, told through letters written to her daughter but never sent, and her journey from a poor, helpless young girl in England, to her belief in the suffragette movement in New York forcing her to give up her daughter, gives Lucy the insight and courage to let go of the past and begin moving forward to a full and rewarding future. This book takes you to the beaches of Jakarta, the mountains of Japan, the lakes and rural countryside of The Lake of Dreams, New York and to a small Chapel that teaches the importance of women during the time of Christ through it's beautiful and intiguing stain glass windows.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2011

    Terrible

    Dont waste your time. 13 dollars is WAY too much money for such a shoddy book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    Not your Memory Keeper's Daughter

    I was so looking forward to Kim Edward's next novel and was sorely disappointed. The characters just did not have the depth needed to empathize with their issues. The main character, Lucy, got on my nerves and I found the circumstances of her research, while plausible, unrealistic that she was able to uncover everything in a matter of a week. Hope Edwards' next endeavor is better.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2014

    i loved this story...complex enough to keep me interested with m

    i loved this story...complex enough to keep me interested with many back stories that i enjoyed having grown up in the southern tier of new york and being a stained glass artist.  i enjoyed the references to doug's fish fry (yum!) and the local hot spots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    Don't quite understand the lukewarm ratings of others here...thi

    Don't quite understand the lukewarm ratings of others here...this has become one of my all-time favorite books. Lovely, mesmerizing use of the English language.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Poorly written, unbelievable, too many details at some points an

    Poorly written, unbelievable, too many details at some points and not enough at others. Hated this book enough that I really struggled to finish it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    The book stunk

    It really was bad

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    I was given this book and I was not sure how I felt about it wit

    I was given this book and I was not sure how I felt about it with a 3 star rating. I was not overly impressed with The Memory Keeper's Daughter, but I didn't think it was horrible, so I read this book as well. I do like The Lake of Dreams more than Kim's first novel. It took a while before I actually got hooked into this story (about half way through reading it). I am from Rochester, NY and I love when a book is written about Western NY! I like the way it ended and I even shed a tear. I am going to recommend it to my reader friends and family because overall I thought it was a "good" novel. And from reading this novel, I would like to educate myself with the women's rights movement. Happy Reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Loved it

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Very enjoyable

    a great book club recommendation

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Brokenstar

    Go to the next result. That is my den.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    Good summer reading; a liesurely escape from the day in and day out

    "Lake of Dreams" started slowly and the character development seemed a little tedious, but finally the story picked up and wove a good tale around some unexpected turns that kept my attention throughout. Overall, a good story with a sometimes NOT predictable end. Wasn't quite sure where it would really go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10