BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ's Childhood Pal

Average Rating 4.5
( 812 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(599)

4 Star

(139)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Moore is my favorite author. I must be a sick puppy.

Having read "Fluke" and "Lust Lizard," I was already a big Chris Moore fan. But as a Christian, I fully expected to be offended by this book. Didn't happen. Sure, there's some strange stuff here -- wouldn't be Moore if it wasn't . But in the end, he pretty much gets it ...
Having read "Fluke" and "Lust Lizard," I was already a big Chris Moore fan. But as a Christian, I fully expected to be offended by this book. Didn't happen. Sure, there's some strange stuff here -- wouldn't be Moore if it wasn't . But in the end, he pretty much gets it right! I found myself at times wiping away the tears of laughter and thinking, "Ya know, it coulda happened just like that." Maybe. I teach Sunday School and Bible studies, and I believe every Christian with a sense of humor should read this book! Those of you who don't have a sense of humor should probably skip it.

posted by 5469352 on October 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

doesn't cut it

First, is this blasphemous? Yep, but what else did you expect? Second, and more importantly; is it funny? Nope. Is it touching? Nope. Lamb just plain fails as satire. Rent Life of Brian instead.

posted by Anonymous on May 23, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 816 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 41
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Moore is my favorite author. I must be a sick puppy.

    Having read "Fluke" and "Lust Lizard," I was already a big Chris Moore fan. But as a Christian, I fully expected to be offended by this book. Didn't happen. Sure, there's some strange stuff here -- wouldn't be Moore if it wasn't . But in the end, he pretty much gets it right! I found myself at times wiping away the tears of laughter and thinking, "Ya know, it coulda happened just like that." Maybe. I teach Sunday School and Bible studies, and I believe every Christian with a sense of humor should read this book! Those of you who don't have a sense of humor should probably skip it.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A hilarious look at the empty years of Jesus' life

    I thought this book was very funny. The hijinks that Biff and Josh get into is nothing short of fall on the floor laughing funny. The random humor interpieced with factual accounts of Jesus' travels makes the book completely worth the money. If you are looking for a book that will make you laugh, this is the one for you. Most people will appreciate the religous comedy if they have a sense of humor themselves. Not reccommended for the die-hard religous.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    A Must-have Read for Those with True Senses of Humor

    This is one of my absolute favorite books. It is hilariously funny, respectful, and somewhat philosophical. Religiously, if you are ultra-conservative about your beliefs, this will not be your cup of tea. If you can see the absurdity in certain aspects of life, and have an open mind, you will love this book without a doubt!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Laugh Out Loud!!!

    This is a very charming book that made me laugh out loud so many times. I fell in love with Biff with his humor and loyalty. I did shed a tear at the end but I believe most people would. This book is not to be taken seriously but it does make you wonder how Jesus life was as a child growing up. Did he really put lizards in his mouth :)!?...I miss the characters and wish the book didn't end. It's an easy read and I promise you won't forget to recommend it to someome.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Completely Wonderful

    I loved this book so much that I purchased several copies as Christmas gifts last December. I don't think I've ever read a more endearing account of the young Jesus. Not only is it laugh-out-loud hilarious; it's also a sweet and, in it's odd way, a quite believable account if only in spirit and not substance. Biff's fierce devotion to Joshua and his complete derision for the angel Raziel makes for a completely new approach to a story we're all familiar with. I've heard some suggest this book is sacreligious but I think it's one of the most sweetly written and "Christian" stories I've ever come across.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It surprised me!

    I'd read Christopher Moore's "The Stupidest Angel" and "Fluke" before I found this book. I'll admit, I was very skeptical when I started it. I think I expected something a bit more blasphemous, but I was surprised. Moore does a great job of poking fun at one of the most important events in Christian faith without contradicting and insulting it....much. It's definately not a book I'd recommend to anyone unwilling to give him some creative license, because there are some portions that might bother those too sensitive about their faith (such as when Jesus's little brother keeps bashing a lizard with a rock just to watch him bring it back to life again). However, if you can accept it for what it is, you might love it! <BR/><BR/>Christopher Moore's books tend to be completely absurd on the outside, but under that you can find deep, meaning-of-life stuff too. I recommend it for anyone who likes something quirky, strange, and seriously funny!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Hilarious!

    This is one of the best fictitious recountings of Jesus' early life. Lamb does an excellent job displaying the mystery of divinity and humanity. This is also one of the funniest novels I've ever read and re-read.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Fantastic

    The way Christopher Moore fills in the missing 30 years of Jesus's life is wonderful. He does it in such a way to shine light on Christ's humanity. He does this by showing that Christ isn't above hitting his friend for an off color comment, much like we would today. This book is a great read and I recommend it to everyone.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    LAUGHED MYSELF TO TEARS!!!!!

    Maybe I should have been offended, but I was too busy laughing to think about it much. Christopher Moore is genious at taking this approach with Jesus' missing years. He still was the good guy in the end. By making Biff be the mischevious friend, Jesus gets let off the hook for experiencing these things with Biff. Placing Jesus in the middle of these kinds of situations and still having him come out being the man he was in the end was (an could probably only be) pulled off by Mr. Moore. I completely get it!

    I am completely sure that there will be many offended by this book. Please people, READ REVIEWS. I read through many for this book, and almost all said that if you are devout anything or easily offended by anything poking a little fun, this is not for you. Please heed this warning and if this is you, do not waste your time or money as you will be disappointed. This also has many situations that are completely inappropriate for the young.

    I loved this look at Jesus (and of course Biff). Please remember that this is a not so serious look at a very serious story, and remember that God did give us humor. Also remember that in the end, Mr. Moore got it right and maybe, just maybe gave us a different look at what made jesus the man he was.

    Thank you Christopher Moore for your wonderful imagination!!

    SPeeD

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    Awesome

    This is one of the best books Ive read in a long time. Kept me laughing out loud!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So now we know...

    I always wondered what Jesus was doing before he started his ministry. Now, thanks to his boyhood friend Biff, we finally know... <BR/>Christopher Moore is an extremely talented, slightly disturbed, very funny genius and I worship at his alter of bizarre.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Classic Christopher Moore, funny and thought provoking at the same time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The title alone sets you up for a good time!

    Sure the topic and handling may bring some criticism from the religiously serious, but screw them if they can't take a joke! Honestly Moore handles the subject matter and story very well; no preaching, no balking and while maybe not "PC", with considerable care and LOADS of humor. Biff, at the bequest of a terribly stupid angel, recounts his adventures with Josh (aka Jesus) through the tumultuous years the bible left out; Jesus the teenager! Biff is along for the ride and to keep Josh out of too much trouble as he tries to find his place and purpose as the son of God, a quest that takes him across continents and through many enlightening and hilarious encounters (my personal favorite is the one where they crash a devotional ritual to Kali in order to save the sacrificee's life). A hilarious and even thought-provoking must read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    Biff is one of the greatest characters ever written...

    This was one of the best-and funniest books I've ever read. I'm not a religious person by any means, but I do like to read the history on the subject. This was a great opportunity to see just what could've happened to Josh for the majority of his life. Moore gives him human characteristics, as opposed to just the devine. His best friend Biff is really hysterical-the kind of person we all need for a friend. I laughed so hard throughout the story. Just wonderfully hilarious!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2006

    Not What I Thought it Would Be...

    When I first saw this book I thought 'Interesting, the childhood of Jesus. Something no other author has really touched on. Great idea'. And so I read it. Not only did this book turn out to be absolutely hilarious, but it had a good point. Some people think this is probably blasphemous and whatnot, but what I got out of this book is that Jesus was just like all of us. Christopher Moore makes Jesus human in this book, really human, He's not portrayed as that divine perfection crap that they always tell us in school. This is a book that makes you think, and any book that can do that alone is amazing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2013

    This was truly one of the funnier books to ever cross my eyes. B

    This was truly one of the funnier books to ever cross my eyes. Biff and Josh make for a hilarious team traveling across Asia learning kung fu and yoga. I did not find it at all irreverent. It teaches the importance of being a good person while making the reader laugh.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    I hurt myself laughing while Biff and Josh wrote The Sermon on t

    I hurt myself laughing while Biff and Josh wrote The Sermon on the Mount. They decided to leave a few people out, like the w@nkers and the dumbf*cks. That is just a touch of the funny found in this book. 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Yeahhhh

    Probably going to hell for laughing while reading it, but to tell you the truth, it might be worth it. Moore is psychotic... I love him!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    This book had some REALLY funny parts (like, laugh out loud no m

    This book had some REALLY funny parts (like, laugh out loud no matter where you are) but also some slower parts too.

    The idea that Jesus had a goofy best friend during childhood is fun and so as long as you remember that this is fiction I think everyone could enjoy it (Christian or not).

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    VERY ENJOYABLE READ

    i REALLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK. THE HUMOR WAS GREAT AND A LOT OF THE CONTENT WAS REALLY UNEXPECTED. I ALSO FOUND THAT IT MADE SOME OF THE BIBLE STORIES MORE BELIEVABLE BUT AT THE SAME TIME REALLY MADE ME THINK AND UNDERSTAND MORE THAN BEFORE. IF YOU ARE A VERY RELIGIOUS PERSON OR AN AVID BIBLE SCHOLAR, THEN YOU WILL PROBABLY NOT GET PAST THE FIRST CHAPTER, WHICH WOULD BE A SHAME. YOU REALLY DO HAVE TO HAVE A SENSE OF HUMOR THOUGH AND NOT TAKE IT TO SERIOUSLY. IF YOU ENJOYED RICHARD BACH'S "iLLUSIONS" YOU WILL PROBABLY ENJOY THIS BOOK AS WELL

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 816 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 41