Customer Reviews for

Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ's Childhood Pal

Average Rating 4.5
( 811 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(598)

4 Star

(139)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Moore is my favorite author. I must be a sick puppy.

Having read "Fluke" and "Lust Lizard," I was already a big Chris Moore fan. But as a Christian, I fully expected to be offended by this book. Didn't happen. Sure, there's some strange stuff here -- wouldn't be Moore if it wasn't . But in the end, he pretty much gets it ...
Having read "Fluke" and "Lust Lizard," I was already a big Chris Moore fan. But as a Christian, I fully expected to be offended by this book. Didn't happen. Sure, there's some strange stuff here -- wouldn't be Moore if it wasn't . But in the end, he pretty much gets it right! I found myself at times wiping away the tears of laughter and thinking, "Ya know, it coulda happened just like that." Maybe. I teach Sunday School and Bible studies, and I believe every Christian with a sense of humor should read this book! Those of you who don't have a sense of humor should probably skip it.

posted by 5469352 on October 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

While I was certainly entertained from the first page to the las

While I was certainly entertained from the first page to the last, and the story provided more than a few laughs, I wasn’t as entertained as I thought I would be. The tale proved every bit as imaginatively creative as the name implied, and Christopher Moore managed to t...
While I was certainly entertained from the first page to the last, and the story provided more than a few laughs, I wasn’t as entertained as I thought I would be. The tale proved every bit as imaginatively creative as the name implied, and Christopher Moore managed to take more than a few liberties along the way, which did serve to heighten my enjoyment of said story. But I never felt it achieved its promise of being a literary masterpiece, especially when early on Joshua had stuffed lizards in his mouth, after his brother had popped them on the head with a rock.

Biff was a character worthy of his name. By the end of LAMB: THE GOSPEL ACCORDING TO BIFF, CHRIST’S CHILDHOOD PAL, he managed to have more sex than a prostitute in a Las Vegas whorehouse, get in more trouble than the snake in the Garden of Eden, spout off more one-liners than an action hero, and provide more comedy than many comedic performances. Yet, his character still held a certain amount of emptiness by the end of this grandiose tale. And he never fully reached the promise of his tornado-like status.

But, on the other hand, this novel managed to take some darker moments in Joshua’s life and add a bit of lighthearted appeal, and in the end, that’s where much of the charm in this book lies. Only it fails a bit in reaching even its own lofty expectations. Still this proved to be an enjoyable read, as long as you don’t take Biff, or the story itself, too seriously.

Robert Downs
Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

posted by RobertDowns on April 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 815 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 41
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    The H stands for haha

    Clever and heartfelt, Moore does it again. Glad to make this my first Nook book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    While I was certainly entertained from the first page to the las

    While I was certainly entertained from the first page to the last, and the story provided more than a few laughs, I wasn’t as entertained as I thought I would be. The tale proved every bit as imaginatively creative as the name implied, and Christopher Moore managed to take more than a few liberties along the way, which did serve to heighten my enjoyment of said story. But I never felt it achieved its promise of being a literary masterpiece, especially when early on Joshua had stuffed lizards in his mouth, after his brother had popped them on the head with a rock.

    Biff was a character worthy of his name. By the end of LAMB: THE GOSPEL ACCORDING TO BIFF, CHRIST’S CHILDHOOD PAL, he managed to have more sex than a prostitute in a Las Vegas whorehouse, get in more trouble than the snake in the Garden of Eden, spout off more one-liners than an action hero, and provide more comedy than many comedic performances. Yet, his character still held a certain amount of emptiness by the end of this grandiose tale. And he never fully reached the promise of his tornado-like status.

    But, on the other hand, this novel managed to take some darker moments in Joshua’s life and add a bit of lighthearted appeal, and in the end, that’s where much of the charm in this book lies. Only it fails a bit in reaching even its own lofty expectations. Still this proved to be an enjoyable read, as long as you don’t take Biff, or the story itself, too seriously.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Unexpectedly touching and funny

    Loved this book. Each character was a delight. Moved quickly and was a beautiful look at a world long gone and so revered that we forget people have had a sense of humor for a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    Highly recommended

    The story is funny ALL the way through. He will have you rolling on the floor laughing!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Lamb is one Lamb isthe funniest book ever

    If more christians read lamb perhaps they would take their differences less seriously.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Consider Jesus YOUR Best Friend ... warts and all.

    Biff is us and we are him and Jesus loves us anyway and God does have a sense of humor. Don't expect spiritual transformation, this is pure entertainment, but Mr. Moore did his homework, kept true to Jesus, and "forgives us our trespasses" for being human.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    A must read

    Jesus with humor

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Like a potato chip

    Loved it! But it was like eating chips. My good angel was on one shoulder saying i really should stop eating and the less than perfect one on the other side enjoying the salty, fattening treat. Mouth full, saying "more, don't stop!".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Fantastic book! Couldn't put it down!

    This was a great story. It was humerous, it was emotional, it was amazing. The whole retelling of the story according to Biff gives an interesting way to look at the story of Jesus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Entertaining

    I had many laughs from this book, wish it didn't have so much profanity

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    A Human, Hilarious ¿ But Still Holy -- Son of God So here¿s

    A Human, Hilarious – But Still Holy -- Son of God




    So here’s the thing: you have got to have a sense of humor in order to like this book. If you’re one of those people who get offended at the mere suggestion that Jesus might have cracked a joke or had bodily functions just like the rest of us, then this book is not for you.




    But if you can suspend disbelief for a while (which is what reading fiction is all about, after all) to imagine that Jesus was a normal human being who spoke in modern American idiom, cussed a bit, and was curious about sex (although never indulging in it himself) but who also happened to be the Son of God, then you’ll find a lot of laughs and even a bit of genuine holiness in this book.




    This story of the Messiah is told from the perspective of Jesus’ childhood friend, Levi (also known as Biff), who has been resurrected into modern American society in order to write a new Gospel. Biff recalls his life with Jesus in a series of flash-backs, interspersed with hilarious present-day interactions with the rather dim-witted angel who is his chaperon. Biff relates how he and Jesus go off together to study with the three magi who followed the star to Bethlehem to witness Jesus’ birth (which also conveniently fills in the 20-year gap where there is no mention of Jesus in the Bible from the age of 12 to 30). Along the way, they pick up knowledge of yoga, kung fu, and explosives, and happen to invent modern-day cultural concepts such as sarcasm, latté, and the tradition of Jews going out for Chinese food on Christmas Day. It would make a great comedy movie, except it would probably be considered too “controversial” for any modern-day producer to attempt.




    Even in the midst of all this craziness, the author has obviously done a lot of research to genuinely depict life as it probably was in first-century Jewish society. For example, Jesus is referred to throughout the whole story as Joshua (Josh for short, of course), because that is what he would have been called in Hebrew. The author also stays true to Jesus’ ministry as it is depicted in the Gospels, and portrays him as a pure, sweet soul who is determined to fulfill his holy mission, although he is a little bewildered about how he is supposed to carry it out. 




    None of the hilarity in this book is enough to prevent Joshua from meeting his ultimate fate, of course, but it does help to give a poignant humanity to the whole Passion story.
     
    If you can depart from the traditional views of Jesus, you’ll love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Jesus 100% Human!

    Divinity personified by his brother from another mother. It's certainly my favorite Gospel!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Snicker Jewish wiseguy

    A good satire with a jewish wiseguy as Jesus' friend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Fantastic book, but not for the easily offended

    Colorful, absurd, and witty, this compares favorably with Monty Python's Life of Brian. It presents an account of what might have happened--but almost certainly didn't-- during the "missing years" of Jesus' life. Many devout Christians will be offended (and should therefore skip this book), but so might Jews, Buddhists, Hindus and anyone who takes seriously meditation, martial arts, yeti, angels and a list of other topics the author takes potshots at. But I thought it was a hoot!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Lamb - The Funniest Book Ever Written

    I had a hard time putting this book down, and I snapped at anyone who interrupted my reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Wonderful read

    This is my favorite of all his books and I has read them all. One of the few books I can reread over and over.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    A friend gave me this book to read, and it sat on my bookshelf f

    A friend gave me this book to read, and it sat on my bookshelf for three years. I needed something to read on the train, and so I began reading this both hilarious and touching book about friendship. It was fun to read what Christ's life may have been like his first thirty years. Many of us know the story of Jesus and how it ends, however, to hear the ending through his best friends eyes was heartbreaking. It somehow made the story of the Crucifixion seem more personal, when told how it affected his best friend. Loved this book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Excellent

    Made me cackle like a rabid hyena. Christians will either hate this book or love the crap out of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2012

    Very well done. I didn't want it to end.

    But when you're telling the story of Jesus there is a natural stopping point. Though I'm sure many consider it just a pause. This was my first book I've read by Christopher Moore and I'm sure I'll continue with others he's written. I realize that some may not enjoy his approach to such a sacred subject but I found it a very natural and refreshing one. I think those who believe that much of the power in the story of Jesus comes from the fact that he lived a life as a flesh and blood person may be best able to appreciate the all-too-human experiences from which Jesus learns and by which he is tempted. There were lots of laugh out load moments in this book for me. And that laughter means that I connected with the characters. Pretty impressive when their lives took place two thousand years ago.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    I laughed and I had tears in my eyes.

    It isn't a historical or religious text. It is fiction but it does pose some interesting questions about the humanity of Christ. I was surprised at how well Mr. Moore treads the line between sacrilege, satire and thoughtful musings. Well done!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 815 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 41