Customer Reviews for

The Lamb's Supper: The Mass as Heaven on Earth

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 2, 2010

    Fantastic

    This book was both enlightening and educational. Scott Hahn has a way of reaching you and opening up scripture for everyone to understand.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2003

    THE MASS TRUELY BRINGS HEAVEN DOWN TO EARTH!!!

    I've gone to Mass since I was a baby but in 22 years I never truely knew what I had! Dr. Hahn has helped this devote Catholic open his eyes. I knew that the Mass was a gift and truely special but not in the way that I know now. Also how the Lord's Prayer and Revelation and the Mass are one in the same. I prayed the Our Father all my life and it never crossed my mind that in that prayer I was describing the Mass. Everyone needs to read this book!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2002

    A 'Must' Read!

    After reading this book, you'll be sure to have a greater appreciation and understanding of the Catholic Mass. Give copies to your friends and priest! We ALL need to read the 'Lamb's Supper'.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2000

    A must read for 'Left Behind' devoties.

    IF your caught up in the freenzy of the 'Left Behind' series of books I encourage you to read this very different and most wonderful interpertation of the book of Revelations!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    Heavy at times

    Mr. Hahn's references to Revelation was heavy reading at times. I wouldn't recommend this to a new convert. It was however very informative for people who are exploring their faith. His awe for the Mass is admirable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2009

    Awesome perspective and education

    Written by Scott Hahn, it is an awesome perspective and education on religious practice, for both Catholics and others as well. I would also recommend taking a look at the author's (Scott Hahn) bio. Very well written book by this contemporary theologian.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A must have book for every Christian!

    Scott Hahn's impeccable explanation of the Catholic Mass is a must read for every Catholic, and especially for every Christian. By combining his personal experience with both biblical and extra biblical proofs, Dr. Hahn has made the explanation of the Catholic understanding of the Mass both educational and enjoyable. This book should not offend non-Catholic Christians as it provides real insights into the Catholic faith in a very non-confrontational way. I know that everyone who reads the bible and this book will come away with a profound "Revelation."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2005

    Perfect

    This book touched me, and caught me into the loving faith of Catholicism. Scott Hahn really explains everything plain out terms with a very vital back round. He Breaks down every part of the mass into theology that even a thirteen year old could understand. This is the best book to start off of if you wanna read about the faith.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2005

    Revelation - Hahn Style

    In this book, Scott Hahn offers a refreshing view of Revelation that is consistant with Scripture, Catholic Tradition, and the early beliefs of the Church. If -like me- you're sick of all this end-times frenzy, this book is a breath of fresh air. Like all of Mr. Hahn's books, none of his material is original, but it is presented in a way that is understandable to a modern reader. The early Church believed that Revelation was not so much a prophacy of the end of the world, but a model for the Mass. Hahn, however, does not discredit other interpretations of Revelation, but asserts that the primary focus of the book is on the heavenly liturgy of the Mass. The only problem I have with Hahn is that -even though he converted to Catholicism- he still writes like a Protestant minister. By that I mean his books mainly consist of personal anecdotes, numerous pop-culture allusions and analogies, a super abundence of quotes (secular and religious)and scripture citations, a tendency to gloss over or oversimplify an issue and to embelish romanticize his own view. His books are written for the masses and not for the serious conisseur of theology. He also recycles a lot of material from his other books. His section on Mary is almost verbatim from 'Hail, Holy Queen' and the chapter 'Parish the Thought' is the Reader's Digest's version of 'Swear to God'. Overall it is a good introduction to the Catholic Church's interpretation of Revelation, but if you want meat, instead of water-down milk, read the Church Fathers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2000

    Removes the Mystery from the Book of Revelation

    No longer am I intimidated by the Book of Revelation. Dr. Hahn simplifies the images of Revelation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2000

    Grace Revealed...

    This book is an answer to prayer for any person who has asked God to grant him/her a deeper understanding and appreciation of the mystery of the Catholic Mass. Any cradle Catholic who has fallen away from the Church because 'I'm not being fed at my local parish,' read this book and open your eyes to the utter glory of the privilege that you have abdicated--to receive the actual body and blood of our Lord Jesus Christ in the Eucharist, our Marriage Supper with the Lamb. Dr. Hahn's passion, intelligence, and faithfulness shine through in his delineation of the relevance of the Apostle John's vision in the Book of Revelation to the Mass. It's not new information, but his style and approach are perhaps a bit more compelling to the lay person than the style of the Catholic Catechism.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2000

    Every believing Catholic should read this book!

    This book was truly an 'experience' in reading. While many well-intentioned Christians have misconstrued the events of the book of Revalation, Dr. Hahn has returned to the Church's earliest sources and brought into light what has always been taught by the Magisterium about the subject. Every Christian NEEDS to read this book to fully awaken their life in Jesus Christ.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    Read this book!

    I am a cradle Catholic. This book gave me a new view of the events of the mass, as seen through Scott Hahn's interpretation of the book of Revelation.

    I have a deeper understanding of some parts of the mass, and that has helped me deepen my faith. This was a great book that I am sure I will reread!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Mz

    u

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2003

    Its a good read

    Lamb's Supper is a good apologist book detailing that the book of Revelations has already mostly happened.Its only major fault I found is that Hahn states babylon in Revelations is a symbol of old Jerusalem. Babylon is a symbol of old Jerusalem and pagan Rome/Greece/Turkey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3