Customer Reviews for

Lament: The Faerie Queen's Deception

Average Rating 4
( 213 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by LadyJay for TeensReadToo.com

Deirdre Monaghan is an excellent harpist. At least she thought so until she met the devastatingly handsome Luke Dillon.

Luke's amazing musical skill unlocks something deep within Deirdre. Her talent at the harp becomes unmeasurable; however, other things begin...
Deirdre Monaghan is an excellent harpist. At least she thought so until she met the devastatingly handsome Luke Dillon.

Luke's amazing musical skill unlocks something deep within Deirdre. Her talent at the harp becomes unmeasurable; however, other things begin to happen as well - strange things. Dee discovers that she possesses the power of telekinesis. She also learns to read the thoughts of those around her. Dee knows that Luke is somehow a part of all the craziness that is taking place, but he is unable to reveal his secrets.

Those secrets have the potential of killing both Luke and Dee. Dee must unravel the mystery surrounding Luke before it's too late - for both of them.

Stiefvater has created a novel that is reminiscent of Melissa Marr's WICKED LOVELY. The story centers on a girl who captures the attention of Faerie creatures. Of course, it is the responsibility of the human girl to set the wrong things right once again.

The author's formula veers from the norm by incorporating music into the plot. Dee plays the harp; Luke is a flautist; James, Dee's best friend, plays the bag pipes; all the while snippets of old Irish songs adorn the pages before each section of the novel.

The world of Faerie is becoming more prominent in young adult fiction, and this will be a welcome addition. Look for its sequel, aptly named BALLAD, due out next year.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Why. . .?

I wish I didn't even pick this book up. I thought it was incredibly unoriginal. Some of the lines seemed like they were straight out of Twilight. The relationship between Deidre and Luke wasn't even close to being believable. "Oh my goodness. I've known you for three...
I wish I didn't even pick this book up. I thought it was incredibly unoriginal. Some of the lines seemed like they were straight out of Twilight. The relationship between Deidre and Luke wasn't even close to being believable. "Oh my goodness. I've known you for three hours--DON'T LEAVE ME." Seriously? She knows NOTHING about this guy but she automatically trusts him? Stupid, stupid, stupid. I could barely get myself to finish it. Its just a fairy version of Twilight. Not an orginal plot at all.

posted by 1766584 on August 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by LadyJay for TeensReadToo.com

    Deirdre Monaghan is an excellent harpist. At least she thought so until she met the devastatingly handsome Luke Dillon. <BR/><BR/>Luke's amazing musical skill unlocks something deep within Deirdre. Her talent at the harp becomes unmeasurable; however, other things begin to happen as well - strange things. Dee discovers that she possesses the power of telekinesis. She also learns to read the thoughts of those around her. Dee knows that Luke is somehow a part of all the craziness that is taking place, but he is unable to reveal his secrets. <BR/><BR/>Those secrets have the potential of killing both Luke and Dee. Dee must unravel the mystery surrounding Luke before it's too late - for both of them. <BR/><BR/>Stiefvater has created a novel that is reminiscent of Melissa Marr's WICKED LOVELY. The story centers on a girl who captures the attention of Faerie creatures. Of course, it is the responsibility of the human girl to set the wrong things right once again. <BR/><BR/>The author's formula veers from the norm by incorporating music into the plot. Dee plays the harp; Luke is a flautist; James, Dee's best friend, plays the bag pipes; all the while snippets of old Irish songs adorn the pages before each section of the novel. <BR/><BR/>The world of Faerie is becoming more prominent in young adult fiction, and this will be a welcome addition. Look for its sequel, aptly named BALLAD, due out next year.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Angieville: LAMENT: THE FAERIE QUEEN'S DECEPTION

    So I needed something sweet and scary, with a little humor and some faeries. I didn't really know much about LAMENT, so it was kind of surprising how much I was looking forward to it. But I was just getting this vibe. Like good things would be inside. And these good things seemed to carry with them a hint of Melissa Marr goodness mixed with some Holly Black awesome. I got what I was looking for and more. <BR/><BR/>Deirdre plays the harp. Her best friend James is a piper. And hilarious with it. The two of them together are exceptionally cool John Green-esque geeks. Besides James, Deirdre's got an overbearing mother, an aunt from hell, and a very weak stomach. The story opens at one of her competitions. She is lurking about the girl's bathroom about to lose her lunch, as she always does before a performance, when the mysterious Luke Dillon (who Deirdre's never met before but seems to know somehow) wanders in and proceeds to hold her hair back for her. Clearly the mysterious Luke must stick around. And stick around he does. For reasons which remain a little murky and a lot enticing, and which Deirdre is determined to find out. <BR/><BR/>Sexy as sexy. That's Luke. Plus, he's got a deep dark secret he can't reveal. Literally can't. Very bad things happen to Luke when he tries to talk about where he came from, what brought him to Deirdre, and who's pulling his strings. So it's up to Deirdre to figure out who Luke is, why he seems to have brought a host of creatures out of myth and legend in his wake, and what her own role is to be in it all. As I used to live in Virginia, I thoroughly enjoyed the setting, particularly the descriptions of the weather and humidity. In LAMENT Maggie Stiefvater artfully weaves together a heady mix of music, humor, exhiliration, and desperate longing. I enjoyed this book so much it is physically painful to me that the sequel, BALLAD, isn't due out till next Fall.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It's no Wicked Lovely, but it was CUTE!!!!

    Lament was a cute Faerie story. Deirdre and Luke was a cute couple and I found myself wanting them to be together, but at the same time I could she her with James. I did find Deirdre to be a little naive, but maybe that was the point. I think she could have used her gifts alot more and I really want to know more about her mother and aunt and their back story. Maybe a prequel would be written. Overall a cute story. Im gonna read Ballad and see exactly where this story is going.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Shiver was AMAZING! Lament was good...

    Overall the book was good. I was a little disappointed with the ending though. Don't get me wrong the ending wasn't bad it was just abrupt. I also have heard that Luke is not in Ballad which makes Lament's ending seem even more abrupt then I originally thought. Oh well, I really liked the musical aspect of this book (even though I am musically challenged myself). I really think that it added to the story line plus it fits with the Faerie lore aspect. The romance was good but I wasn't always so convinced that James wouldn't have been a good choice for Dee but maybe that is what Ballad is for, to the tell James's story. I guess I will have to read it soon to find out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    Amazing

    It was great but the ending made me want to cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm under the impression that you can't go wrong with homicidal

    I'm under the impression that you can't go wrong with homicidal fairies.

    Stiefvater's Lament doesn't have the same lyrical prose that her later novels do; however, the world is just as original and brilliantly created as all of her others. She once again manages to capture the essence of a mythology and twist it just a bit to make it new again.

    I loved the way the fey were presented in this novel. Some are deadly and some are evil and some really aren't evil and some don't know any better but none of them are the innocent frolicking folk that you find in some other retellings. Una and Brendan were absolutely fantastic to read about. They're definitley my favorite characters from the entire story.

    Though I normally dislike love triangles, the one in Lament is set up in such a way that it was unavoidable. (The parallels between Diedre and another character seem to twist and bind the fate of Diedre, so in the end, she really couldn't escape falling for Luke.) I can only hope that James get a chance in Ballad, the sequel.

    At the beginning of the book, I kept getting distracted by parallels of this and The Iron King - Puck and James are awfully similar, as are Ash and James. Luckily, it veered off in another direction very quickly a few chapters in, so I didn't have to worry about that for too long. But fans of The Iron King should definitley pick this up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Good

    I love this author. Shiver is a much better series but this is good too

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Excellent book

    I really enjoyed this book, if you read this you will want to get Ballad as well, it is book 2 to this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Lament...

    Lament... I just read it and I thought it was pretty good. Lots of people said they didn't like it or was too similiar to some other book, but I liked it, for the most part:) Like some other people, it took me a while to get into the book, but that happens sometimes... :/ At first I was very skeptical from all the reviews I read, but slowly got over that. At first I was curious, then mystified, then was sure that it would be the type of book that ended leaving you clueless. But, lo and behold! In the end most of my questions were answered, but I have to admit sometimes I was a bit lost by the "jumping around". It also kind of ended abruptly for me, but plenty of books do that. I guess I'll look into seeing if my library has the sequel... but all in all, it wasn't a bad book. I liked it:) I'll recommend it!:D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Recommend

    I read the short story in Kiss Me Deadly: 13 Tales of Paranormal Love & it was interesting...a sad fae story, so I decided to read Maggie Stiefvaters's fae series. I must say, it was a good quick read for me; it kept me captivated. The main character Deirdre makes the same blind faith moves with the "cute-stranger" (Luke) that is typical in such books but in this book it was refreshing that she acknowledges the oddness of it herself (yeah!).
    Deirdre's struggle with the changes of being a cloverhand was entertaining. I wonder what James is. I really "felt" for Luke's struggles, his trying to be a good person. His fear of what Deirdre will think of him when the truth comes out.
    I am looking forward to book #2. I don't believe it'll answers any questions I have about Deirdre's family but I will enjoy James's story.the ending of this book wasn't quiet what I was expecting/hoping but it wasn't' too sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Great vacation read! - quick and enthralling

    Lament is a wonderful whirlwind of great and captivating storytelling! Maggie Stiefvater consistently presents the reader with gems of metaphor and description. The beginning can be considered Twilight-esque, but don't let that turn you off - this one really is worth reading, and what a quick read it was, for about 200 pages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lament Review

    This is another great story by Maggie. This time the story is a bit darker then in Linger. We meet Deirdre and how she meets this handsome Luke at her recital out of thin air. Its just takes off for them both from that point on. She doesn't find it strange she never seen this boy before at her school. They play together in the recital. Now after meeting Luke other things start to happen or at least become more noticeable to Deirdre. You also meet her best friend James who is helplessly in love with her of course. Eventually Deidre learns that she is a Cloverhand and Luke is a Gallowglass. Her life becomes complicated and she will have to choose between her best friend or Luke the boy of her dreams, while fighting with the Faerie Queen.


    This book bring you Celtic folklore and music that are incorporated throughout the whole story. Maggie brings so much details you feel like you are dancing along to the music with the faeries. Its beautiful written from beginning to end. I would truly recommend this to any age to read. I cant wait to start reading Ballad.

    Link to review on my blog: http://www.onceuponatwilight.com/2010/08/lament-book-review.html

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    Lament Review

    After reading halfway through 'Ballad' (the second book in the series) I was totally confused. I was thinking how well established the characters were and then I actually did research and figured out that 'Lament' was the first book. So I put aside 'Ballad, and really started at the beginning!

    After knowing a little about the relationship between James and Deirdre everything clicked into place while reading 'Lament'. If the relationship was not utterly sweet between these two, in came the desirable Luke with his bad boy charm and rugged good looks. These qualities instantly attracted Deirdre and her life was never the same. I appreciate the care Steifvater took with the momentous turning point in all these characters lives. She really explored the depths of first love and doing anything to keep it.

    Also, the character progressions within this triangle were momentous. The lives that these three thought they were leading took a total one-eighty when the dangerous life of the Fey entered the picture. Steifvater did not hold back at all when creating obstacles for these characters to overcome which molded them into well-rounded and strong characters that held their own in the epic battle to come.

    Up to this point I had yet to read one of the infamous Maggie Steifvater books, but since I did, I cannot wait to read the rest. I absolutely love her characters and the situations that they confront. She has created such real and visual characters that I am blown-away with her creativity and honesty in her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    lament was a great book, and i finished it early in the morning after i got it

    it was great, had a surprising ending, great romance, great writing, definetly a ***+ critique

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    overall, pretty good.

    this was a pretty good book, it was better than i thought it would be. ballad, the sequel, isn't as good though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hard to put down...

    This is an easy read that was hard to put down. Between this book and Ballad my DVR is getting backed up! Worth your time and money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    almost as good as Shiver

    I really liked this book though I wasn't as moved as I was with Shiver. Parts were a little more fun and I look forward to Ballad, the sequel. Dee's grandma gives Dee the secrets to protecting herself from the faeries; iron. I liked her grandma and wished she had a bigger part in the book. I also liked James, her best friend; he was very funny and he has gifts of his own. Another reason I look forward to Ballad.
    I liked the use of music in this book and it made me want to get a CD of Irish ballads.
    I thought Dee made a good heroine in this book. There have been a lot of complaints around the book-blogosphere about heroines that are too like Twilight's Bella. But though Dee falls for Luke, a faerie assassin, he never tries to hurt her, only protect her.

    This was my first faery book, but it won't be my last. It was quite enjoyable.

    my rating 4/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Captivating

    I found Lament to be fascinating. It was hard to put down. The mystery of Luke was so frustrating (in a good way)! Is he good? Is he evil? It kept me reading and trying to figure out what his story was. There were a lot of surprises, things so unpredictable. I enjoy reading a book that leaves you guessing right up to the end and Lament does just that! Maggie Stiefvater is an amazing writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't wait for the next one

    Slow at first, but about a third of the way in it picks up fast. This book left me wanting to read the next book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I finished it in a breathless rush

    I wasn't sure how I felt about Lament at first; I wasn't connecting with the characters right away, and I was letting very minor details bother me.

    Once I got settled in, however, the plot kept me turning the pages-- probably more than I should have. This is one of those books that will keep people away from important things like sleep, errands, and chores. Possibly food, too.

    I'm afraid to say too much about this book, because I don't want to spoil it for anyone that might read it. But I can say that the plot is beautifully put together; it just gets better as the pages keep turning. The musical elements and the visual design of the book are enchanting. The last approximately 150 pages of the book had my eyes glued to the pages, and I finished it all in one breathless rush. And was promptly very sad and annoyed when I turned a page to discover that the book was over. The ending was very abrupt, and I checked a few times to make sure that there weren't any pages sticking together. When I say that it was abrupt, I mean that in the good way, as in it was a great place to end the book, and I am now veryvery excited for the sequel, Ballad, which is due in Fall 2009.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4