Customer Reviews for

Lament: The Faerie Queen's Deception

Average Rating 4
( 213 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(76)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by LadyJay for TeensReadToo.com

Deirdre Monaghan is an excellent harpist. At least she thought so until she met the devastatingly handsome Luke Dillon.

Luke's amazing musical skill unlocks something deep within Deirdre. Her talent at the harp becomes unmeasurable; however, other things begin...
Deirdre Monaghan is an excellent harpist. At least she thought so until she met the devastatingly handsome Luke Dillon.

Luke's amazing musical skill unlocks something deep within Deirdre. Her talent at the harp becomes unmeasurable; however, other things begin to happen as well - strange things. Dee discovers that she possesses the power of telekinesis. She also learns to read the thoughts of those around her. Dee knows that Luke is somehow a part of all the craziness that is taking place, but he is unable to reveal his secrets.

Those secrets have the potential of killing both Luke and Dee. Dee must unravel the mystery surrounding Luke before it's too late - for both of them.

Stiefvater has created a novel that is reminiscent of Melissa Marr's WICKED LOVELY. The story centers on a girl who captures the attention of Faerie creatures. Of course, it is the responsibility of the human girl to set the wrong things right once again.

The author's formula veers from the norm by incorporating music into the plot. Dee plays the harp; Luke is a flautist; James, Dee's best friend, plays the bag pipes; all the while snippets of old Irish songs adorn the pages before each section of the novel.

The world of Faerie is becoming more prominent in young adult fiction, and this will be a welcome addition. Look for its sequel, aptly named BALLAD, due out next year.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Why. . .?

I wish I didn't even pick this book up. I thought it was incredibly unoriginal. Some of the lines seemed like they were straight out of Twilight. The relationship between Deidre and Luke wasn't even close to being believable. "Oh my goodness. I've known you for three...
I wish I didn't even pick this book up. I thought it was incredibly unoriginal. Some of the lines seemed like they were straight out of Twilight. The relationship between Deidre and Luke wasn't even close to being believable. "Oh my goodness. I've known you for three hours--DON'T LEAVE ME." Seriously? She knows NOTHING about this guy but she automatically trusts him? Stupid, stupid, stupid. I could barely get myself to finish it. Its just a fairy version of Twilight. Not an orginal plot at all.

posted by 1766584 on August 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Great :D

    Loved this books and i love all her books. Screw edward i wnt luke :) he is such a charmer!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Great Read!

    This is one of Maggie's best books. You will love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Awesomeness!!! :)

    I absolutely LOVED this book! I love fantasy romance and this book is amazing. 5 stars!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This was a good book. I think.

    So I don't really remember the exact details of this book since I read it a long time ago. I couldn't even tell you the protagonist's name at this point. All i do know is this is one of those books that grows on you after you read it because I remember liking it a lot after I finished it and now I really want to read it again. It was very romantic, was about faeries which, let's face it, are better than vampires because they hot AND mischievous. Also, I'm not 10 so I know what I'm talking about (no offense to any 10-year-olds out there). I also read Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater and didn't like it at all, so if you felt the same way don't be afraid to read this book because it's completely different. I would definitely recommend it, I just can't give you any specific reasons why sorry.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lament

    Lament was one of those books I couldn't put down!! I devoured it in one sitting and can't wait to get my hands on the second installment, Ballad!!! I didn't really think I'd like this book from first sight, but I loved IT!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautifully written modern faerie tale

    Deidre Monaghan is a talented harpist in high school; her stage mother controls every aspect of her life, including what she wears to concerts and gigs. The normally invisible Deidre gets horrendous stage fright and throws up before every performance. Her only solace is her friend James, a kilt-wearing rebel bagpiper who never fails to make Dee laugh.

    Her dull life receives a rude awakening with the handsome Luke Dillon, a boy that she first saw in a dream. A rather inauspicious meeting follows when Luke appears during a crippling bout of stage fright, holding back her hair as she throws up, and Dee feels like she knows him from somewhere else. But there's something mysterious about Luke; four-leaf clovers keep showing up, she swears she sees people out of the corner of her eye, and Luke seems to be protecting Dee from an invisible menace. Deidre discovers a dark family secret; she's a "cloverhand," or a human who can see faeries. She also possesses telekinetic powers, making her a threat to the current faerie queen, who sends her assassins to eliminate her (in a curious parallel to Radiant Shadows: Wicked Lovely). Deidre and her family and friends are all at risk.

    Along the way, Deidre finds herself falling for the flawed Luke. Using her new powers, she attempts to read his mind, with unexpected consequences for both of them. The handsome, lethal Luke is "dazzling" (yes, the verb "dazzle" is used quite a bit, similar to another popular teen supernatural romance), but he's an ancient, tortured soul full of dark secrets. Despite her survival instincts and her family's disapproval, she starts going out with Luke. The two must face down the Faerie Queen and her henchmen.

    The novel's rather brutal climax is a breathtaking end to Deidre and Luke's adventures among the faeries. If you're a sensitive reader, be warned that there's quite a bit of violence and gore. I fell in love with the fiery Deidre and the captivating Luke, and the writing was snappy and smart. Fans of the Wicked Lovely series and Holly Black will enjoy this well-crafted tale of Faerie, full of references to Irish ballads, Celtic mythology, and stirring Irish music.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    Stiefvater Never Disappoints!

    Allow me to preface this by saying that I've worked at a bookstore since high school and am extremely picky about what I choose to read. I was looking for something new the other day and this caught my eye. Though the cover art is lacking--the story is SO much better than the lame sword on the cover--if you've read any of Stiefvater's other books you will not be disappointed.

    It's a new story--riveting and complex--unlike everything else you've probably read before. What I love so much about this book is that it kept me guessing. Usually, I figure out books within the first third--not the case here. The twists and turns will have you wrinkling your brow and turning page after page. As if the remarkable faerie plot wasn't enough, there is a beautifully written love story in the pages of Lament as well; intricately woven, remarkably real and utterly poetic.

    Definitely belongs in my top ten of all time, along with another of Stiefvater's novels, Shiver.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Love this book!

    I just happened to pick this up at a local B&N and am so glad that i did. I brought it home and couldnt put it down, read it in 2 sittings. I just love the way she makes the characters come alive. You can feel through the pages everything that happens to them. She is such a great writter. I ran out the next day and got Ballad which will not let you down iether! I cany wait for more in this series, I hope she brings back Luke for Dee!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Does anyone know?

    Maggie Stiefvater has said that there might be more books in this 'series' and i was wondering if anyone knew anything about that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Bookreader

    I loved Lament. It was an exciting story. I loved the suspense that camewith it andthe romance. I found the main character, Dee, to be very strong, brave, and almost fragile when it comes to a certain someone. I HIGHLY recommend this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    Great Story

    Loved every minute of this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You can't put it down for a second!!

    This tale has you curious and enticed with every turn of the page. Whether you are wondering about the mysterious Luke Dillon or the realm of the faerie you always have something on your mind... ...and you might never look at clover (or rabbits) the same way again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Good Fairy Book

    Stiefvater's Lament, based on Celtic lore, features ruthless fairy royalty, a talented mortal, and a love story. Beautiful writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    I loved it!!!!!!!!

    i fell absolutely in love with this book! it has it all to romance to action to gorgeous fairy guys!! i saw this book at Barnes and nobles and just decided to read it i didn't end up reading it for awhile but when i did it was one of my favorites trust me you wont be wasting your time!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    Great!

    this book was awesome!! i just loved it the writing the characters the plot all pulls u in very quick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A good read.

    This is the first book I have read about faeries. I really enjoyed reading it. The story of Dee and Luke was good. It held my attention and kept me interested the entire time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    An enchanting faerie tale

    My thoughts...I have been drawn in, twisted around, and wrapped up in the magic of Maggie Stiefvater's writing. I do not have much experience with books of the Fae, but this one could be described as wonderful. The plot of the story held a typical situation: girl crushes on the wrong guy. The magic here is in the writing. It is eloquent, romantic, poetic, and holds a magic that captured me. One thing I noticed were the use of all of the senses. The story took me through a range of emotions that I was not expecting. Parts of the story were scary and made me glance around my room into the dark corners. The book was much more than a typical tale about faeries.

    I enjoyed the characters in Lament. I found the heroine Deirdre very likable and easy to relate to. She made some reckless decisions, which I think would be typical of someone in her situation. And of course, she fell for the bad boy, don't we all have a soft spot for that type of character. Speaking of which, Luke was full of mystery and secrets. I had a hard time trusting him and constantly wondered about his ulterier motives. My favorite characters were the faeries. While they were described as beautiful, graceful, and mesmerizing, their evil lurked just beyond the surface. For me, Faeries are the creepiest type of paranormal creatures. The ones in this story were no exception.

    Overall, I really enjoyed this book. It would be a great read for YA fans of all ages. I am jumping right into Ballad, the second book in the Books of Faerie series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome start to a new series, plus a not boring female lead!

    Lament veers from what looks like it might be the current formula for YA paranormal romance:

    girl, painfully ordinary, meets boy, spectacularly wonderful, and finds out she's not so normal after all, in addition to landing a hottie.

    Dee does not start out boring or blank or ordinary. She is a harp prodigy, not unexpected in a family of musical virtuosos, which makes her stand our from her peers even if it doesn't make her popular. She spends her weekends playing fancy dinner parties and weddings, her summers at music competitions -- competitions in which she places well. She has interests! and a personality! and talent coming out the whazzoo! She's so much better than Bella! Sorry, that last one slipped out. And I'm not even a Twilight-hater.

    But on to the rest of the book.

    Stiefvater manages to weave a lot of faerie-lore throughout this story, without it turning into a Lisa Frank extravaganza or seeming any less current or more princess-y. These are not nice faeries. While Dee is taken aback by a lot of what happens (being attacked by a monster-sized, panther-type creature while at a wedding reception without anyone else noticing could throw anyone off. also, not nice), she gets the hang of everything real quick. She clearly has some background knowledge of faeries and what they're capable of. It is this knowledge, let me rephrase: her own damn smarts, that save her more often than not, although Luke does manage to get a few dramatic rescues in as well.

    Everything I know about faeries I learned from Lady Cottington or Marion Zimmer Bradley, so I did not know many of the little tips that Dee has picked up from a lifetime of playing/singing Irish folk songs on her harp. And yet, I never felt out of the loop. Stiefvater does a great job of immersing the reader in Dee's and the Faeries' world without getting too didactic or explanatory. And then she throws all of what I thought she was telling me on its head so that Dee and Luke can fall in lurv.

    In short, give this to Twilight fans and Twilight haters. This is paranormal romance without the clueless, helpless love interest.

    Also: She didn't make it into my review (Luke barely made it into my review, I was so happy about a stronger female lead), but I thank and applaud Stiefvater for making the hot, ditsy side character important and solid by the end. James (Dee's best friend, who also didn't make it into my review) is great, but I'm glad Dee got to have a girl-friend to gush about Luke with. And to help her save all the boys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Lament by Maggie Stiefvater

    I picked this book up multiple times in bookstores and ended up putting it back. After hearing so many great things about it, I decided to just give it a try. I have no idea why I didn't read this sooner!! Lament was phenomenal. I'm a big fan of fairies, so I'm kind of surprised that I didn't automatically read this. Maybe it was because of the cover (I know, that's totally wrong) but I'm not too fond of it.



    Maggie Stiefvater did a wonderful job in creating a unique fairy tale. I loved how music was thrown into the mix also - very refreshing and definitely fun to read. Her writing style was brilliant - it gripped me from the beginning and held my attention until the end.



    This was a great read and I do recommend others read it. Maggie Stiefvater has just became one of my favorite authors and I can't wait to read more of her work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great introduction to Faeries!

    I loved Maggie's novel, Shiver and read it several times. I read great reviews about her Faerie's series and I must agree. It's actually a faster and more pronounced read that Shiver and it shares so much about our ability to be strong minded and strong willed.

    The main characters are a 16-year old Deirdra "Dee" and the human/Faerie Lucas and Dee's best friend Jack, a human. An assassin, Lucas, falls for Dee and because of this he betrays the Queen of the Faeries and puts his life in danger. All the while, Dee is growing into her own talents and realizes that her longtime wish of being more than ordinary has come true, although, at the moment, she's not quite sure she wants it to be.

    At the end, she must choose to either save Lucas who she has fallen in love with or save her best friend Jack, who she realizes has been in love with her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5