Customer Reviews for

Lamentation (Psalms of Isaak Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 24, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    The first Psalms of Isaak is an excellent epic fantasy

    Way into the distrant future in the Named Lands, the city of Windwir is recognized by most as the center of world. Much of that proclamation comes from the city being home to the Androfrancines, who are the keepers of the Old World knowledge in their Great Library; a place where science and magic mingle. This is a normal day until a metal bird flies above the city. Soon afterward darkness engulfs Windwir. When the dust settles and the sun shines through, the city is gone; left behind is a scorched plain.<BR/><BR/>Nothing will be the same inside the Named Lands from that moment when the Old World metallic weapon quoting Xhum Y'zir's Seven Cacophonic Deaths destroyed the city. Stunned warrior Lord Rudolfo of the Ninefold Forest Houses saw from a distance the smoke that is all that is left of Windwir. He heads there immediately and finds a shocked survivor apprentice Isaak sitting where the city was moments earlier sputtering references from the Seven Cacophonic Deaths; he had been just outside when the devastation occurred. The kingdoms blame each other and maneuver to take advantage of the dramatic change in relationships. Increasingly evidence points to the Entrolusian City States Overseer Sethbert as the culprit. He apparently has brought back the ancient weapons of mass destruction as war threatens to send the Named Lands back to the Stone Age.<BR/><BR/>The first Psalms of Isaak is an excellent epic fantasy that in many ways is a post apocalyptic science fiction thriller. The story line is fast-paced from the incredibly opening sequence and filled with intriguing twists that never quite allows the reader to gently peruse the plot. The world seems plausible and solid enough while the key players Isaak and Rodolfo are well developed so readers get to know them.. Fans will relish Ken Sholes¿ strong opening act as war engulfs the Named Lands while mindful of nineteenth century novelist Alphonse Karr¿s commentary ¿The more things change, the more they are the same¿.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    A refreshing and revitalizing read!

    Initially, I picked up the author's second book first in a dollar store book rack. That was Canticle. After reading just couple of pages, I knew Id found a readers Holy Grail book, the one that stands above the books that pale in comparison and are used as filler until a great book comes along, hail Lamentation! I am a prolific reader and newbie to the electronic readers like Nook, etc. Even though I was gifted one I had not purchased any reading material UNTIL I read those few pages of Lamentation and knew I wanted to get the first book and start properly. I did, and was rewarded with an excellent novel that introduced everything I loved; swords and magic and characters with depth. Combined with superior writing ability by the author Ken Scholes, an object made of paper and ink, was transformed into a portal to the Named Lands and all within.

    I got hooked on Fantasy with the Thomas Convenant/Illearth book, and Canticle is its equal. Kudos Ken!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    !!!

    !

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Couldn't put it down

    So many new twists, can't wait to read the next

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A brilliant voice in the genre

    Windmir is gone, the once Golden City the center of culture, education and religion is nothing but smoke, ash and bones. What or who caused this terrible desolation, and most important why. The devastation will bring out the best and the worst in people, some will rise to and above their potential and some will slither away, some will shine and some will show their true tarnish, some will live and some will die, but all will never forget. There are schemes at work here and it's up to a chosen few to not only protect what is left but to prepare for the future, a future with more questions than answers, more doubt than hope, more fear than resolve. But these are the peoples of The Named Lands and they're made of strong stuff and they'll need to be to make it from their Lamentation to a Canticle.
    Ken Scholes is a luminous voice in a genre of plenty, a relatively new voice and yet one so versed in his own new world that it seems they've been around for ever. This is not my first reading of Lamentation, I was lucky enough to get at ARC of the third in the series Antiphon and to give it what it deserves I read the first two first. I was literally blown away by the creation of this semi-familiar and yet very foreign world and it's people. It was familiar in the language and objects and so I didn't have to learn a whole other vernacular, but the landscape was total make believe and he instilled the views in my mind with his narrative. Then there were his characters, most human with one very special metal man, the man of the hour Isaak who's humanistic compassion set him far above his compatriots and other humans in the tale. His human characters are as diverse as the world they live in but they are all eloquently detailed and we readers will get all the in-depth information on them we need to make the read more enjoyable.
    Lamentation is a love story, it's a mystery, it's a thriller and it's filled with vivid imagery that highlights the author's creative genius. If you're a fan of Science Fiction you will love this, but that's not a pre-requisite to enjoy this novel and the novels that follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    An original literary fantasy novel

    It is very well written, in a world unlike any fantasy novel I've read before. Very highly recommended for anyone that likes their fantasy with some meat on it's bones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    Couldn't put it down

    Similar to Song of Fire and Ice, this epic, multi-character story takes place in a unique and fully realized world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2010

    Excellent political fantasy

    This novel isn't your typical swords and sorcery fantasy. While it has magic and such, it also includes a "scientific" bent that I would classify as influenced by some steampunk. Qualifying that statement I don't want to leave an impression its not magical fantasy because it definitely is.

    The plot of the novel is presented through the eyes and actions of 7-10 characters. It is very character driven. One thing I really enjoyed is you get the impression from each of the characters that they are all doing the "right" thing. The novel has some violence of course but the fighting is a minor part of the story, and only shown where necessary for the story.

    I really enjoyed this story. One of the first truly political fantasies I've liked.

    Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An amazing maze of mystery.

    This story to me is like the Whymer Mazes used as a meditation device by the Androfrancines. The maze circle that seems to never end and always turns back on to itself. I loved this story, there's always a mystery to figure out. Who and why did they destroy the city of Windwir, the home to the Androfrancines who protected the rest of the people in the world from the technology and dark pieces that could be used to destroy the world and only trickling out the small pieces of information they felt the people of the world can handle.

    There is talk of an ancient Wizard whom created the Seven Cacophonic Deaths, which no one is to know what the words are inorder to protect everyone and anyone from causing distruction.

    However, the book starts right off with the distruction of Windwir and only one metal man from the city, being fully functional, seems to have somewhere in his memory some idea yet no idea as to what happened on that tragic day. Isaak is the name given to this metal man.

    There are many creative secrets in this book, such as the letters with secret messages intertwined within, the tapping out of messages while talking to another person on their skin, and the wonderous magic of running so fast and not being seen either running or standing still. Then you have Isaak the metal man, who is powered by a constant steam source.

    I loved the writing style of a view from each characters point of view. When I first say this was the writing style I was nervous that information would be lost in the translation. After I read through this book so far, I did start taking notes so I didn't forget all the wonderous details to help with the mystery, but found that I really liked the way the author wrote this with the point of views. I actually got more details from seeing and knowing what each character did.

    Did the right man pay the price for the distruction of the city? Could he have weaved the web that you see in this book? The further you go in the book the more intricate the web becomes. The more I thought on the book after reading and trying to piece together information from through out the whole book I have a very my idea of what is going on. I am curious to read what really happens. I had a wonderful time piecing the pieces together and making the story go the way I think it may.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wow...what a great read...

    I finished Lamentation a few months ago and honestly, I am sad I finished it. I admit, I couldn't put it down. I was drawn in from the beginning and was kept enthralled by the movement and escapism that Scholes provides with his unique Sci Fi/Fantasy world.

    Ken has created a world with so much potential for future stories, not only from Lamentation's time setting, but probably even more from the world's past history. Many great stories deal with choosing between making the sacrifice for the greater good, and Scholes' I believe really made his character's live up to this.

    I am very excited and am impatiently waiting for the next in the series, "Canticle".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Efficient in the best way

    Scholes' fast-paced style manages to keep the plot clipping along while somehow (and this is the amazing part) managing to introduce a deep world that begs to be discovered. I highly recommend this book and plead with the author to stay the course. I am ready for the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it

    Fast paced from start to finish. Great characters and plot line that grab you and won't let you go. Best fantasy of the year so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    Awesome

    I like books that start off running and don't stop, This book has interesting twists, good characters and leaves you wanting MORE!!! can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3