Customer Reviews for

Lamplighter (Monster Blood Tattoo Series #2)

Average Rating 5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A well-executed continuation

    The Monster Blood Tattoo series' second novel, Lamplighter is a superb continuation of the trilogy. If you read Foundling (which you should if you plan on reading this second book), the tone and mood of the novel remains the same. You will constantly find yourself reading this book well into the wee hours of the night. Cornish's fantastical world will draw you into the history and language of the characters.

    Again, for a young adult novel, this is an extraordinary text. The illustrations have the same quality as the previous book and the familiar supplemental material returns. If you enjoy fantasy books with several addictive twists, I recommend that you invest time into Lamplighter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    D.M. Cornish is BRILLIANT!

    WOW! this is a fantastic read for all ages (my son and I read "The Foundling" and "Lamplighter" together; he is 15 and I am 35; I honestly think I liked it more than he). It's one of the most original novels I've EVER read. Bottomline: FUN FOR ALL AGES

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    Fantastic Adventure!!!!!

    Left me craving Book #3!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    Best book I Have Ever Read!!!

    I came across the first book 'Foundling' without any knowledge of it. Little did i know that it would turn out to be the start of one of the best series i have ever read. 'LampLighter' is one of those books you can't keep your hands off of it is a book of many conflicts and always has you wondering what will be on the next page. This book is full of many twists and will keep you on the edge of your seat whenever reading. D.M. Cornish is a brilliant author and has out done himself with this new series. I can't wait until the third book of this series comes out i am very much anticipating its arrival =]].

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2008

    One of the best books I have ever read!

    The Monster Blood Tattoo series is a masterpiece! I came across the first book, Foundling without any realization of how fond I would become of this series. The second book is even better than the first because of it's unpredictability and unique story. These books are unlike any other books I have read before and I am so pleased to have read them. I can not say how much I am looking forward to reading the third book. Any reader who loves fantasy books must add this to their collection!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fascinating strong entry in a wonderfully refreshing series

    In Winstermill, Lamplighter trainees are learning on the job their prime duties of lighting and dousing when Master Rossamund's group comes across bogles attacking a carriage of females. They ally with the women to defeat the bogles, but Rossamund who observed the battle as he held the lamp-lighting alchemy accessories also noticed that one of the coach occupants could not control her talent that one Threnody tells him she wants to become a lamplighter and she joins his troupe of rookies. --- Rossamund is kind to the acrimonious temperamental Threnody, and his patience with her crankiness slowly turns Threnody around. A monster attacks people just outside Wintersmill Rossamund and Threnody team up to battle the dark one enabling those still there to flee. He recognizes the odor of the 'dark trades' behind this assault and other subsequent vicious attacks. The Lamplighter Marshal is accused of failing at his duty and shockingly removed from office, which angers his subordinates who trust him as they have seen him fight monsters worse the incompetent pretentious but never get dirty Master of Clerks Podious and his sycophant surgeon Swill take over the Lamplighter legion. They demote Rossamund to novice and exile him to a dangerous isolated outpost having accused him of lying about a fight against a monster Threnody accompanies him. Bogles attack their new outpost with the duo as the only survivors which subject them to an official inquiry. --- The second Monster Blood Tattoo epic fantasy (see FOUNDLING) is a superb complex thriller starring a strong case starting with Rossamund and Threnody. The story line is fast-paced and the etchings throughout enhance the saga. Also adding depth is the glossary that packs additional information about the world of Cornish set aside some time as this addition to the first novel is worth reading. The support cast is solid, but the tale belongs to the heroic Rossamund and his friend-student Threnody, as they are at the epicenter battling against the increase dark trade monster activity. This is a fascinating strong entry in a wonderfully refreshing series. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1