Customer Reviews for

A Lancaster County Christmas

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    A Christmas to Remember!

    Sol and Mattie Riehl are hoping to hear the good news of a new arrival to the family, while Jaime and C.J. Fitzpatrick were leaving town to meet her long-absent father for a Christmas cruise, and who had a surprise for Jaime.

    Jaime and Mattie, with her precocious six-and-a-half-year-old son, Danny, became acquainted at the doctor's office. As Jaime is leaving the doctor's office, the doctor asks if she could return Danny's whistle before Christmas. Before leaving to her father's for a Christmas cruise, Jaime, C.J., and Tucker, their dog, make the trip out to the Amish farm.

    Shortly after their arrival at the Amish farm, Suzanne Woods Fisher, in her book, A Lancaster County Christmas, takes us on a humorous, dangerous, life-changing, and heart-warming trip. Not one, but two back-to-back major winter blizzards hustle the Fitzpatricks into the Riehl's home on Christmas eve for an unknown time frame. For those who haven't lived through a blizzard, Suzanne is very accurate in her appraisal of the weather!

    Suzanne, in her typical, heart-warming writing style, spins a story that will resonate in your own life, as each of the characters must come to terms with their own personal disappointments and failures that will change the lives of all involved at the Riehl's home. The camaraderie between Danny and Jaime brings out a side of Jaime that even she didn't know she had.

    I truly enjoyed the story on many levels-the humorous, dangerous, life-changing, and heartwarming-which you will experience as you read the story. I do believe it's a Christmas story that could change your life, also! Definitely a Divine encounter.

    This book was provided by Amy Lathrop of Litfuse publicity Group in exchange for my review and presentation of the giveaway. No monetary compensation was exchanged.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    A great holiday reading and it leaves you with a warm feeling.

    Since I love to give holiday books to family members, I chose this book as I loved the book covering and I knew that the story would also bring a special feeling of love to my gift recipients. This book was totally enjoyed by everyone who read this book, including myself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    cute story...worth a Christmas read

    cute little story...short though...only 135 pages but a good Christmas story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Emmanuel Is With Us~Truth About Christmas And Always

    Are you as curious about the Amish as I am? It seems I've had a sense of awe about them and what seems their secretive ways. A couple of my children went to small, private colleges near Lancaster County (Dickinson and Gettysburg), affording me an opportunity to visit the Amish villages, and see their farms once in a while. Since I stopped to shop in their small town, I was a heartbeat away from these gentle people whose nearly downcast eyes and shy smiles felt like gifts to me as they passed by. My spirit was lifted just be being around them. Although, I'll never forget nearly crashing into a buggy with my too- fast-moving sports car one afternoon...an English lady not paying attention to what I was doing!

    The Quilt Museum in Lancaster County is a display of the most astonishing quilts I've ever seen. With simple, unpatterned cotton in every hue, Amish women have created quilts that flash and vibrate. It's truly other-worldly. I've never experienced anything like it. The juxtaposition of colors makes your eyes "play tricks" on you so that the quilts actually sparkle! Such is the plain life of these people~they quietly sparkle in their simplicity. And lest one think their clothing is too plain, it's amazing how inventive women can be with plain, beautifully colored cotton and cotton blends...no zippers or buttons included.


    In "A Lancaster County Christmas" Susanne Woods Fisher brings us a story of such an outwardly simple, plain Amish couple with one cherished son, who meets and takes in a young "Englisher" couple in trouble. The couple is in trouble both physically, as their car is disabled in a raging snowstorm, and in that their marriage is on the brink of divorce. Through this story during the weekend of Christmas, we learn about loss and love, the meaning of friendship and faith, family and following the light we've been given. We also learn that whether Amish or not, people are the same in their life-struggles and in their feelings of insecurity and pain.

    The theme of the book, "Emmanuel (God) with us" reminds us of the true meaning of Christmas. That He came down to be with us. It's the reminder that we would not always find life to be perfect and without struggles, but that we would have the promise that He would always be by our sides~with us~and He would never fail us through it all. It's a story that's simple and, yet, so complex to grasp.

    "A Lancaster County Christmas" is a book that leads us along the path to understanding the importance of real communication. I loved the story of the two couples, of how they saw the similarities in the troubles they had to deal with, how they gave each other hope and strength.

    It's a book that's gentle to read, and a book that leaves you stronger for the reading. It's a book that leaves us understanding that we aren't so different from the Amish, after all.

    A sit down between cookie baking novel with lasting wisdom...

    May you know that Emmanuel is with you this Christmas.

    Recommended for now through January--and beyond.

    4 winter stars

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    Cute and refreshing

    I loved this book. I had read the rest of the books of the series, and this is a cute addition to it. Suzanne Woods Fisher writes in a refreshing manner. Her stories reflect the promises of the Bible as her characters deal with realistic conflicts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Sweet

    A sweet Christmas story, well written. Familiar characters from Suzanne's stories reappear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Good read

    Nice short story. Enjoyed it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    Booo

    What is with you pll? 21 reviews ans every single one a freaking plot spoiler!!!!! Yiu have told every single detail of the story, everything. What reason now is there for anyone to buy the book??? Why do you do that? Why do you think you have to ruin a book for other readers? Just because you get the book for free doesnt mean we do. We have to buy ours, but thanks to your rude, inconsiderate hatefulness, here is another book ruined that we cannot buy, because you plot spoilers have ruined it for us. Learn how to write a blamed review, not a blog or book report!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This story of the Amish couple will melt your heart, I could read this over and over, so romantic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Very good.

    I liked the part where Mattie served the chow-chow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Anonymous

    Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Great Christmas Read!!!

    I enjoyed this book tremedously. Suzanne Fisher deals with real life issues, nit just fluff and stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Highly Recommend - great read

    A nice heartwarming story. Helps you appreciate the simple things of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not Just another Christmas Story! A Magical Faith-Growing Anytime Reminder!

    Mattie and Sol have settled in to family life with their son Danny but have not reconciled themselves to having only the one biological child. They have taken in Mattie's teenage cousin Zach when his father is ready to give up but they both are very overprotective of Danny in their own way wanting to hang on to the only family they may ever be given the chance to raise. By hanging on too tightly though might they find that they will lose him through their own grasping and his own growing desire for independence. When an Englisch couple finds their way to Mattie and Sol's farm just before Christmas on an errand to return a toy that Danny left behind in town and is stranded by the storms that blow through, they all learn more about the character of God and about themselves as they come face to face with their true selves and with the God they have denied because He wouldn't give them what they thought they wanted at the time (like a whiny child). Can we all slow down enough to see past the wants of our own whiny inner child to the true us and recognize the things God is trying to reveal to us that we have been missing in our rush for that dangling carrot we will never reach anyways? By the way we don't have to wait for Christmas to do it either. Thanks to Revell for a review copy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Amish Christmas Story!!

    "A Lancaster County Christmas" is a tenderly moving story in the renewal of faith and love.

    This story centers on two women coming together from two totally different worlds, but gaining from each other the wisdom to put their faith in the Lord to help them through their personal struggles. Mattie, A Plain Amish wife and mother, dreams of having a large family with her loving husband Sol, but after miscarrying their second child fears that will never be.
    Jaime, a photographer and young wife, after losing her mother in a senseless accident, is trying to live up to her father's high aspirations even though it is damaging her marriage in the process. A fateful weekend snowstorm, over the Christmas holiday, brings these two families together and makes them realize what really is important and how they should continue on in their daily lives.

    This is a thoroughly enjoyable and touching story that Ms. Fisher has shared with us. The story is so simple but powerful in message because we really should just have faith and let the Lord's love take care of all our struggles and she puts that on paper so well.
    I enjoyed getting to know these couples and especially the character, Danny. Ms. Fisher nailed his 6-year old character full of inquisitiveness right on the head. Also, when a story can bring a small tear to my eyes, you know it involves something special and tender and this book definitely has that touch to it.

    I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a sweet Christmas Amish fiction story.

    This book was kindly provided to me by the Baker Publishing Group for my involvement with Lit Fuse Book Tours and my honest review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    God's Divine Weekend

    Jamie Fitzpatrick struggles with the death of her mother 6 months prior as the Christmas holiday approaches. Unable to pull out of her slump she has been relying on sleeping pills to help her rest more easily at night. She is refilling her prescription unknown to her husband CJ and meets a young Amish family at the Dr. Office. Danny the couple's 6 year old son is blowing on a hand carved bird whistle and begins a conversation with Jamie. Later he leaves the whistle behind and the Dr. asks Jamie to return it to him at his home. CJ and Jamie are supposed to be leaving on a cruise with her estranged father and really needs to be moving on toward their destination but feels she should return the whistle to the Amish farmhouse.
    Danny's parents Sol and Mattie are struggling themselves with several miscarriages since Danny's birth 6 years ago. Mattie so desires more children and feels in some way she is less because she has only had one.
    While returning the whistle to Danny, Jamie and CJ encounter a problem with their car when it rolls backward into a pond. The blizzard conditions are going to prevent help from coming to get the car out and getting them back on the road. They must find refuge with the Amish family as God has a weekend in store for all of them.
    A story of friendship based on the love of Christ. The couples have the weekend to get to know one another, share their stories and grow. A time of healing inside of themselves while the storm outside rages.
    A weekend of renewal, with twists and turns to keep your finger turning the pages!. I just loved the character development and honesty of each of the characters. By the end of the book the reader really has a sense of who the characters are and where God is leading them.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Christmas Opportunities

    "God's perfect love is all around us, Jaime. But if you shut your eyes to all the light he has given to you, you can't see the evidence of his love." Matte, pg. 155

    God uses many things to get our attention, and in "A Lancaster County Christmas," He uses a snowstorm. Jaime and C.J. are having problems, but Jaime is hoping a trip with her father will help. Little does she know that in returning a whistle she will come face to face with her real thoughts and fears. Mattie, Sol, and Danny are an Amish family, happy for the most part. But, Mattie has a longing that she can't let go of. It's power seems to obscure a full relationship with God. Zach is a young man trying to figure out where he fits in the world. These six people will find some misery and heartache, some miracles and happiness, when they come together in the snow. Will C.J. and Jaime work things out? Will they make the ship? Will Mattie find what she is looking for? When Danny goes missing, what happens to Zach? So much is answered within the pages of this book.

    This book was a real page turner for me. The stories were similar, yet so very different. Heartache come in so many forms, yet makes us all vulnerable to walking away from God. As the story unfolded, I found myself drawn to each of the characters for different reasons and would love to read more about them! This story will encourage you to let go and let God. It is a perfect gift for the Christmas season, and book clubs will love the discussion questions at the end. I received my free copy from Litfuse Publishing, and thank them for the opportunity to be on the blog tour.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Lancaster County Christmas

    This is the perfect holiday book for the frantic Christmas season. It's short, but very thought provoking. A Lancaster County Christmas by Suzanne Woods Fisher continues the authors quest to make the Amish lifestyle both more accessible and easier to glean wisdom from. What do you do when God's plans don't match up with your expectations? Mattie and Sol Riehl want nothing more this Christmas than another child. Mattie is losing hope after several miscarriages and she longs to fill her family table with children. Their son Danny is a joy to them and everyone he meets, but surely there will be more... Married couple Jamie and C.J. are not faring much better. Their chaotic pace of life is leaving them close to divorce and unable to see the love they once had for each other. Jamie longs for the love and guidance she needs from a father, that just may not be able to give it. A snow storm is the catalyst that both families need to seek God and his ultimate plan for their lives. Even when it isn't what they expected. Suzanne Woods Fisher once again gives readers a heartwarming story set in Amish country. Using characters from her very popular novel, The Choice, the author is able to create a sense of the familiar with readers. These are characters most of them already know and will love to hear more about. She also introduces the English couple, C.J. and Jamie, who need to slow down a little bit and smell the roses. Their fast pace of life is killing their relationship, but C.J. has faith that they still have a chance and their Christmas experience with the Riehl's will make an indelible mark on both families. I loved the interaction between the Amish family and the English family. It did not come across as contrived, but very natural and plausible. A snowstorm is definitely a way that two families who may not have met any other way could possibly come together. Woods Fisher has a knack for showing the Amish and their beliefs in a very understanding way and I think that's one of the things that makes her writing so appealing. The way she is able to show that you don't have to be Amish to learn from their faith and beliefs. I like the simpler pace of life she describes and wish I could have more of that in my own life and I think most readers will feel that way at some point when reading her work. In A Lancaster County Christmas this idea is explored, as well as, understanding that what we want may not always be what God wants and accepting that is key to a good relationship with Him. I thought the author explored these ideas well in the time she had with this book and I think it is just perfect for the fast paced Christmas season. A great holiday book for the coming season. It may be just starting into fall, but winter is right around the corner. This is book would be great for cuddling up in front of the fire or listening to the rain drum on the roof. A very relaxing and pleasant read, full of wisdom and understanding.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    TAKE TIME TO SLOW DOWN AND ENJOY THE SIMPLE THINGS IN LIFE

    Suzanne Woods Fisher is one of my favorite Amish novel authors-I've read so many of her books and I'm always impressed with her writing and story-telling. Each book has a deeper meaning without being "preachy". Lancaster County Christmas is no exception.


    Almost all of us can relate to the "wordly", fast paced life of the "Englisch" like Jaime and C.J. It seems like there's never enough time for everything and we rush from place to place while thinking about a dozen things at a time. Do we ever take time to slow down and enjoy the simple things in life? Do we take the time to talk to God and really listen to him?


    The idea of the Amish lifestyle (sans the woodstove & washing clothes by hand!) has always intrigued me. What would it be like not to have the daily rush, all our electronic interruptions, and not to "keep up with the Jones'? And the conviction the Amish have is the essence of faith. Or as they say, "Emmanuel, God is with us." Their belief in forgiveness and ultimate love is envious.


    Lancaster County Christmas would make a great read for the book club set. It comes with study questions and they will definitely make you think. Overall, the book is a nice feel-good read and you get a sense of calm and peace while reading it. I felt a sense of connection with the characters and was cheering for them at the end.


    Overall I give Lancaster County Christmas 5 stars. If you are looking for an easy, holiday book, this is the one.


    Available June 2011 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.


    I received this book free from Revell as part of their book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved It!

    This sweet story starts in a Doctors office with a chance meeting between an Amish family, Mattie, Sol, and Six year old Danny, and an Englisher Jamie Fitzpatrick. Little Danny begins conversing with Jamie while his Mom visits the Dr, she has recently suffered another miscarriage. Jamie is intrigued with Danny, he has shown her the Owl whistle that his Dad had carved for his birthday. After the Rheil's have left Jamie goes into the Dr's room in hopes of getting some more sleeping pills.
    On her way out of the Office the Dr asks her to do them a, life changing, favor. Danny had left his whistle and they want her to drop it off. She takes it and goes to get her husband CJ and his service dog Tucker. They are on their way to her father's place and scheduled to leave on a cruise with him.
    In the end they end up with a loving adventure at the Rheil's, where both the Amish and English learn to trust what God wants for their lives.
    I really enjoyed this very quick read, and helps you remember to count your blessings!

    I was provided with a copy of this book by the Publisher Revell, and was not required to give a positive review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2