Customer Reviews for

Lance: The Making of the World's Greatest Champion

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    An Unforgettable Portrait of a True Champion

    This is an outstanding book! Author John Wilcockson has written an absolutely fascinating, wonderfully informative, and totally engaging biography of one of the premier sports figures of our (or any) time, Lance Armstrong. The story of Armstrong's humble childhood (he was the product of a broken family) through his initial successes as a triathlete and eventually, a bicycle racer, is especially engrossing-as is the story of his absolutely incredible comeback after having one of the most severe cases of cancer his doctors had ever seen. One really gets a sense of the incredible grit and tenacity that would lead Armstrong to an unprecedented seven (and at this time, a possible-or probable-eight) victories in the Tour de France. Wilcockson fills out the biography with extensive quotes derived from interviews with all of the major protagonists in Armstrong's life: his family, friends, coaches, romantic interests, professional colleagues-this gives a wonderfully rich texture to the book and lets us really know the man rather than just the sports icon. In addition, Wilcockson doesn't shy away from addressing Armstrong's personal "foibles" (e.g., a certain recklessness and hauteur) and especially, the "doping" controversies that have surrounded Armstrong and many other successful athletes in the sport-he gives a fair and balanced picture of this thorny issue and convinces the reader that a combination of careful and relentless training, unyielding support from family, friends, and teammates, and the almost fanatical will to overcome obstacles has alone propelled Armstrong to the pinnacle of his success. In the final analysis, this book is a real inspiration (whether the reader happens to be athlete or not) and is very highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Great book

    Amazing story regardlesd of the other aspects

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    What a book. Amazing story.

    Let me start off by saying that I'm not much of a reader. It's not that I can't read, I just generally would rather not. This book, on the other hand, is one I literally could not put down.For the past 6 or 7 years, Lance has been an inspiration to me, and a true hero. This book shows the incredible feats he has acomplished, as well as some of the intense things he has overcome.A must read for any Lance Armstrong follower.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    Great story with a touch of hope and despair

    "Its Not About the Bike" by Lance Armstrong is a autobiography about Lance and his fight through cancer.The book commences through Lance's childhood when he lived in a small town out of Austin Texas. Then the book skips a decade and a half to his doctors visit that changed his life forever. After learning he had cancer Lance went through years of recovery. The hardships included weeks of constant vomiting or odds of survival less that 25%. The book finishes by describing Lance's first and second amazing victory of the Tour de France. The book tells people that no matter what the situation people must continue through the hardships. Lance wants every one to keep going and most importantly not to give up. Through this book I also think Lance is tying to push people to believe in others and support those people to reach their goals. Just as Lance after his treatment immediately started to help people with cancer through the Live-strong Foundation. Finally I believe the most important lesson is to keep a upbeat attitude towards life. Lance was able to do this through his cancer and then he had a survival rate less than fifty percent. He would say "I'm going to beat this thing." This is what Lance is teaching in his book and what we should all aspire to do. Lance was very good at explaining his struggle through not only his cancer but also his troubles with sponsors or the other bikers. The book was extremely well written. I loved the endless stories about his biking carrier and cancer survival. I also enjoyed learning more about the world of cycling. However the book had a very choppy flow. It would start talking about Lance's bike carrier and then skip to a story of him and his nurses during his recovery. This book was a solid 5 I loved the intimidating sorties of the Tour de France or the explanation of the "poisons" Lances body had to withstand during chemo therapy. The book contains a perfect mix of hope, sorrow, and a little victory hidden in the print. If you love the science behind cycling or a remarkable recovery then this book is for you. I recommend this book to anyone who loves Lance, his awe-inspiring Tour de France victories or his extraordinary fight back to health. I would also recommend other books about Lance such as "Every second counts" a book about cycling or "Lance: The Making of the World's Greatest Champion" his book about the live-strong foundation. Over all this is a great book that covers a wide spectrum of topics. Such as surviving, love and just a touch of despair. I recommend it to every one but especially to people who love a five star book in correlation with a great man named Lance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2009

    Lance: A Tour De Force

    Lance Armstrong - The Making of THE Champion

    Author, writer and bike rider John Wilcockson delivers a story that weaves his intimate knowledge of a sport with authority and mastery, delving beneath the surface to deliver the punch of what really makes a champion. I found the writing style and contents to be engaging and insightful -not an easy achievement given the plethora of other writing on this man who has captured the imagination of almost anyone who has watched or read about the incomparable sport of cycling.

    It has been many years that I have picked up a book and literally read it cover to cover over (more than 400 pages!) in just a few days-the subject matter was compelling as was the writer's seemingly never ending source of reference materials from a spectrum of individuals who whether as family members or close friends, to direct competitors displayed unreserved respect for L.A.'s tenacity in pursuing his goal to prevail no matter what the obstacles that presented themselves. I found Wilcockson's interviews with L.A.s relatives particularly interesting in revealing the underlying reasons for unreserved drive and determination to excel. Whilst it might have been more "entertaining" to read about familial issues that were not directly addressed in greater detail in this book, I think that the writer stayed true to his intent to provide an informative narrative of what made Armstrong the champion that he is.

    In a world of increasing competition to uncover, dissect and disseminate "the dirt" on icons such as L.A., I found this book a refreshing analysis of what made/makes a champion. The Press today seems to be more consumed in becoming part of the story than reporting it-nothing is truer than what has become almost an obsession of some in the media in Europe trying to tear down this man and his accomplishments with unsubstantiated allegations. An epiphany for me in reading this book was the author's revelation that what drove Armstrong to greater accomplishments was his direct reaction to disproving the invectives and accusations that were leveled at him by subsequent crushing successes!

    That alone made the book.

    Beyond such considerations, what really gives me a new (and greater) appreciation for the remarkable accomplishments of what I readily agree is the world's greatest athlete, are the compelling illustrations of the man's dedication and hard work to become and remain the best. The book shows years of sacrifice and preparation as the underpinnings of later, smarter, gruelling training rides in miserable conditions with a team of coaches and managers who understood what drove a champion and his metamorphosis to becoming THE champion.
    Non est ad astra mollis e terris via : there is no easy way from the earth to the stars. This is what Wilcockson drills down to in his book. A compelling and thoroughly captivating read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A true hero!

    This book is well balanced, talks about subjects that I am sure Lance and his mom are not comfortable with, but it is done well, and unbiased. Great information about Lance's life and an honest look at his relationships both in and out of cycling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    Riviting

    Terrific book. The definitive book on Lance Armstrong. An amazing story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    a strictly inside job

    For anyone interested in the world of competitive cycling, this book is a must. Told with a cinematic touch, it brought to mind more than once Bob Redford's "Downhill Racer". And like what that work did for competitive skiing, Wilcockson's "Lance" does for cycling, as it sublty informs this world with a human angle. Letting us in on just who this champion Armstrong is, and the effect life has had on him. I would strongly recommend this book to anyone who breaks a sweat at the mention of the Alpe d'Huez, but also to any parent gifted with a child whose dream it is to excel, so that they better understand what it takes to fulfill that dream. And to anyone facing a challenge, of whatever kind, Armstrong is an inspiration. And with the Tour just around the bend, and Armstrong's decision to go for it one last time, to anyone who will find himself rooting for this extraordinary survivor and champion. What a great way to make that experience even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2009

    John Wilcockson has another success

    I loved 23 Days in July but this is even better! This is such an inspirational story told in the words of many people who influenced and were influenced by Lance Armstrong. This is a really amazing guy and the way John tells the story makes him come alive as not just a cycling and athletic icon but as a full rounded person. If you've ever wondered what it takes to be a champion this is a road map fully explored with all the false starts, wrong turns and detours detailed - including the incredible journey through almost fatal cancer. I'll be pulling for Lance in the 2009 Tour de France but win or lose I now know him as a great champion. Thanks John for another great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    Delivers on Its Promise

    What I like most about this book is how with focus, simplicity, and clarity it does exactly what it promises to do: show everything that made Lance into the world's greatest champion. Wilcockson highlights the events, the people, the quirks of fate, Armstrong's physical and emotional makeup, his intense training and preparation, and even his tragedies and losses, since they, too, helped him reach the ultimate of his sport. The book begins even before Armstrong does - with vignettes revealing Linda, his teenage pregnant mom, who is woven throughout the book as a leading motivator and manager of Lance; and with a unique look at Lance's biological and adoptive dads -neither of whom he has contact with now. As the story continues, we hear the voices of a myriad of friends, rivals, teammates, coaches and lovers, and their stories are often filled with pathos, humor, insight, or surprise. What amazes me is how Armstrong's life IS a story, a story still unfolding; and the author not only captures Lance's spirit, but also gives destiny its due.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1